My review of Price Action Lab after two years of use - Vendors and Product Reviews | futures trading

Go Back

> Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Traders Hideout > Vendors and Product Reviews

My review of Price Action Lab after two years of use
Started:August 23rd, 2015 (06:27 AM) by solotrader Views / Replies:1,551 / 3
Last Reply:July 31st, 2016 (11:36 PM) Attachments:0

Welcome to

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread

My review of Price Action Lab after two years of use

Old August 23rd, 2015, 06:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Vendor self-promotion
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Multicharts
Favorite Futures: ES
Posts: 68 since Jul 2013
Thanks: 15 given, 16 received

My review of Price Action Lab after two years of use

In the beginning we hesitated to purchase this software because we have tried some alternatives and we had no luck. Since we purchased it we have upgraded to all new versions.

  • Easy to use
  • Generated code is clean
  • Can easily test systems on different markets
  • It has a scanner for daily data
  • Systems tend to be robust if properly selected
  • Some nice features like a position size calculator, a random analysis tool and price series stats.

  • No multithreading
  • Must break data in in-sample and oos before search
  • Generated code is only for backtesting
  • No indicators - only price patterns (may be an advantage)
  • Only fixed dollar or percent stops
  • No free code for trials

The software works as expected and it does generate systems but future performance depends on selection process. We like it but you should do you own homework. We hope that this positive overall review will help the company to upgrade the software and provide more features.


Old August 23rd, 2015, 06:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Quick Summary
Quick Summary Post

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.


Old July 31st, 2016, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Elite Member
Houston, Texas USA
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, MultiCharts, TradeStation, NeuroShell, AmiBroker
Broker/Data: Interactive Brokers, TradeStation, DTN/IQ
Favorite Futures: TF, EMD, NQ, CL
harvester's Avatar
Posts: 29 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 12 given, 78 received

My Experience with Price Action Lab

I wanted to share some feedback regarding Price Action Lab, outlining my experiences as a potential customer. It all ended up with me not getting the PAL system, and I thought it might be of interest to know why. I should mention that I'm one of the people out there who can really appreciate a great system building tool like PAL (or at least what's touted).

Let's start from the beginning. Last November, I read a thread here in one of the forums and am intrigued with what someone wrote naming PAL as a preferred solution. I should also note that I have a tool called Adaptrade (which should have its own thread), which creates thousands of possible systems in the blink of an eye. The very nice thing about Adaptrade, is that the resultant code (EasyLanguage, PowerLanguage, NinjaScript, etc.) are complete and ready to be compiled with no modifications. It's a non-programmers dream come true, but alas uses genetic optimization - which is the opposite of PAL that focuses on pattern recognition.

In any case, I quickly found the PAL website, and read about a demo. So two things that bothered me quite a bit in the beginning was that I had to prove my US citizenship by sending one of my utility bills, and that payment of the system (when it came time for that) was only via wire transfer. Not only was it a wire transfer, but each offer I subsequently received was to act within the next 48 hours. Wire transfers are a painful process and take time to initiate. I realize that payments are now including PayPal??, which is definitely a step in the right direction. I still don't understand the need of proving citizenship to prevent this getting into the hands of suspicious people living in "banned" countries. Seems just a bit paranoid, or is it just a marketing ploy??

I got approved for the demo, and quickly downloaded the software. The first thing I realized is that this is a somewhat non-intuitive software interface and there are quite a few things to understand before jumping into system creation. That's fair, as most of these systems are similar - even Adaptrade is a challenge to learn all the nuances. In fact, the first thing I read in the demo approval email is to make sure I read the user manual before using the system. After my "first blush" encounter with PAL, I could see why that's important. So I proceed to start reading the manual, which is after all, a 170 page document, filled with lots of information, some of which needs to be considered carefully. After about two weeks of reading (as I'm quite a busy person and could not read it cover-to-cover in one sitting), I had enough information to possibly begin using PAL. I then come to find out that my demo had expired. Bummer.

I wasn't really motivated to request an extension of the demo, as there was something I read in the User Manual that I got stuck on. The fact that PAL will not generate complete, ready-to-go code (like the Adaptrade system does). Even though I know my way around the various trading programming languages, I'm not really a programmer. There are a lot of things to consider when plugging in a core piece of code generated from PAL - like money management, risk tolerance, trade frequency, etc. Also, I like the concept of trading CME, COMEX, and NYMEX futures on day trading margins, which is counter to the idea of swing trading (i.e. using daily bars). My feeling after reading through the PAL manual, that day trading systems possibly may not work as well as swing/position systems, although it does mention how to use intraday data. To truly pull out patterns, you probably need lots of data, more than what's mentioned in the manual. At least that's my opinion, of which I'm willing to accept being wrong on this point. The fact is, this is a non-optimized "solution" based on patterns. I would always wonder if the patterns truly had an edge. Could I really create a great day trading system trading the NQ, CL, or YM???

The final point I've pondered is whether it's good to focus on one market and look for patterns within that market. If the patterns are really unique, they may not happen very often - thus not have many trade opportunities. This may not bode well for a day trading system in one of the few futures markets I like to trade. It would seem like PAL would shine in scanning through many markets (e.g. stocks), looking for those unique patterns. It's almost like PAL would be better if somehow it was hooked up to a scanner for browsing through the whole equities/ETF markets. This is what a company called Trade Ideas did, albeit quite a different approach to PAL, but interestingly TI is not really based on technical analysis which is one of the key points of whoever is behind PAL. BTW, Trade Ideas is actually a very interesting concept (once again another thread is needed).

In summary, I was disappointed about the whole free demo experience. I should have probably been told to read the manual first before getting the two week demo. I know that they've updated the payment method, but that was a distinct negative in the first place. However, the big issue, is not having plug and play ready code. If I'm in the market to buy a code generating system, it probably means I'm not a tier-one programmer. The overall process appears to be quite cumbersome from the first time you sit in front of PAL to the time you're actually trading. After all the ultimate goal is to be profitable, and "time is money".

The final observation I have with PAL is that they seem to be spamming me with "act now in the next 48 hours, to get this special deal" type of emails. If it was that special, then why send these every week or two? Also I keep thinking about their "NSA-like" approval process to ensure you're not from a banned country. If it's that secretive, then why all the spamming? Inquiring minds would like to know...


Last edited by harvester; July 31st, 2016 at 08:17 PM.
The following user says Thank You to harvester for this post:

Old July 31st, 2016, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
Big Mike's Avatar
Posts: 45,447 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 28,848 given, 79,605 received

Please repost in the existing primary thread for this vendor

Sent from my phone

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.


Closed Thread > Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Traders Hideout > Vendors and Product Reviews > My review of Price Action Lab after two years of use

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

NinjaTrader 8: Programming Profitable Trading Edges w/Scott Hodson

Elite only

Anthony Drager: Executing on Intermarket Correlations & Order Flow, Part 2

Elite only

Adam Grimes: Five critically important keys to professional trading

Elite only

Machine Learning Concepts w/FIO member NJAMC

Elite only

MarketDelta Cloud Platform: Announcing new mobile features

Dec 1

NinjaTrader 8: Features and Enhancements

Dec 6

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Strategy Lab ( review babypowder Vendors and Product Reviews 22 July 26th, 2016 12:39 AM
Price Action Adamus Traders and Trading Methods 6 February 20th, 2013 07:56 AM
Price Action - HELP! ollivermilton Beginners and Introductions 3 March 8th, 2012 06:48 PM
Europe Factories Price Growth Fastest in 3 Years Quick Summary News and Current Events 0 April 19th, 2011 05:40 AM
Price Action Setups Zoethecus Index Futures Trading 5 February 10th, 2010 10:51 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 PM.

Copyright © 2016 by All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts

Page generated 2016-10-28 in 0.10 seconds with 19 queries on phoenix via your IP