Quantstart.Com ebook review (Page 2) - Vendors and Product Reviews | futures.io
futures.io futures trading

Go Back   futures.io

> Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Traders Hideout > Vendors and Product Reviews

Quantstart.Com ebook review
Started:December 3rd, 2014 (01:57 AM) by treydog999 Views / Replies:7,016 / 10
Last Reply:June 28th, 2015 (09:42 PM) Attachments:0

Welcome to futures.io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Thread Tools Search this Thread

Quantstart.Com ebook review

Old June 28th, 2015, 09:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Elite Member
Cary, NC
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: MultiCharts, NinjaTrader, MetaTrader, R
Broker/Data: Interactive Brokers, IQFeed, Oanda
Favorite Futures: 6E, CL, EUR/USD
Fu510n's Avatar
Posts: 83 since Oct 2009
Thanks: 709 given, 70 received

Worth it to me...

I purchased both the 200-page book and source code and feel it was worth every penny but like most things trading-related, I also had no expectation that I'd be receiving a holy grail for $79 either. I basically set up a dedicated VirtualBox VM running CentOS 6.6, installed Python 2.7.10 and whatever packages needed for the code and have been toying around with it with the goal of using it to attempt to build my own automated platform (using R/Rcpp) as I've also bumped up against NT and MC limitations. The code works pretty much out of the box (after configuration) though I had to run a TCP proxy (tcpTrace) on Windows to get access to IQFeed data (which runs on localhost/ in Windows); long-term that will have to replaced with something "better" .

Anyway - was a worthwhile purchase IMHO. Time will tell how much it helps me in developing my own platform.


Reply With Quote


futures.io > Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Traders Hideout > Vendors and Product Reviews > Quantstart.Com ebook review

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

An Afternoon with FIO trader bobwest

Elite only

NinjaTrader 8: Programming Profitable Trading Edges w/Scott Hodson

Elite only

Anthony Drager: Executing on Intermarket Correlations & Order Flow, Part 2

Elite only

Adam Grimes: Five critically important keys to professional trading

Elite only

Machine Learning Concepts w/FIO member NJAMC

Elite only

MarketDelta Cloud Platform: Announcing new mobile features

Dec 1

NinjaTrader 8: Features and Enhancements

Dec 6

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speedytradingservers.com review Happyface Vendors and Product Reviews 133 September 15th, 2016 02:06 PM
StormIndicators Review mohi4u Vendors and Product Reviews 1 December 5th, 2012 11:41 PM
Math eBook Resource (Free) NJAMC Matlab, R project and Python 3 September 22nd, 2012 08:41 AM
forex4noobs ebook wh Traders Hideout 5 January 5th, 2010 09:33 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 AM.

Copyright © 2016 by futures.io. All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts

Page generated 2016-10-25 in 0.05 seconds with 19 queries on phoenix via your IP