My Experience - Vendors and Product Reviews | futures trading

Go Back

> Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Traders Hideout > Vendors and Product Reviews

My Experience
Started:January 10th, 2014 (12:51 AM) by tolico Views / Replies:918 / 4
Last Reply:January 10th, 2014 (01:09 PM) Attachments:0

Welcome to

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread

My Experience

Old January 10th, 2014, 12:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Elite Member
Medford Oregon/United States
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: Ninja Trader
Favorite Futures: CL
Posts: 4 since Dec 2013
Thanks: 0 given, 1 received

My Experience

I just thought I should share my personal experience with

Back around October 2013 I got some info on a course called Time Trader by John Ondercin. I watched the sales pitches and it seemed like a good course for a fairly new trader like myself.

Well it had a price of $2400 but it had a 4 month payment option too so I jumped in and started the course with the first payment.

I also joined his 20-tick trading room to learn as well. First I have to say the 20-tick trading room is a joke. I have been in several trading rooms and the moderators were always there for at least 3 hrs showing multiple trades. In this room John Ondercin pops in at about 5:50am pacific time, does the 9am eastern oil trade and then maybe one more trade and then he is gone. That means he is there for maybe 30 at the very most. Pretty much a useless trading room for sure!

Now about the course. The main time trade that he shows and also does in his trading room is the 9am oil trade. I tested about 100 trades using the market replay option in Ninja Trader and did fairly good. So I opened a live account and started some real trading. Needless to say this was a bad idea.

He teaches multiple time trades throughout the morning so I tried several of them as well. The only trade that shows any real promise (or that produced any real profits for me) is the 9am eastern oil trade. After about 2 weeks of trying several time trades I had lost about $1000 and decided it was enough.

The sales page for time trader says 100% satisfaction guaranteed! That is a joke too. I asked for a refund after making the second payment on the course but they denied my request.

I had been through the entire course and found that it is not nearly the training I had hoped it would be. It is simply a "Shot in the Dark" trading system. There is no real reason for entering and exiting your trades with this course. If you are the type of person who likes to drop $100 at the roulette table and let it ride then maybe this course is for you, but that is not me.

The only real value I got for my investment was some good Ninja Trader training that I could have gotten for free on Youtube.

So to make a long story longer I would NOT RECOMMEND this course to anyone.

As many traders have learned psychology is very important and this course is the most stressful attempt at trading I have ever seen. Once you have entered the trades you simply never have a real clue of what direction the market is going to go. You just have to enter and hope for the best.

I also was annoyed that I started getting emails from them trying to sell me on many other info products related to options and other trading things. It really seems to me that these guys simply make their money from info sales and not real trading profits.

Do yourself a favor and learn a real trading methodology from a proven trainer. Avoid this course!

The following 4 users say Thank You to tolico for this post:

Old January 10th, 2014, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Quick Summary
Quick Summary Post

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.


Old January 10th, 2014, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elite Member
Cedar Rapids, iowa
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader
Broker/Data: Ninjatrader - Continuum
Favorite Futures: 6E, TF, 6J
Tasker_182's Avatar
Posts: 626 since Aug 2009
Thanks: 424 given, 1,118 received

Thanks for your well written evaluation. It is good to read a review that is written without the normal emotional drivel that distorts the viewpoint. Sorry that you had to have the experience and cost and appreciate your warning to others.

Note: I think this thread should be put under Vendors reviews.

"Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons." - Woody Allen

Old January 10th, 2014, 08:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Elite Member
Medford Oregon/United States
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: Ninja Trader
Favorite Futures: CL
Posts: 4 since Dec 2013
Thanks: 0 given, 1 received


Thank you for your response to my post.
I agree that it should be in the vendor review area but the system would not let me post there since I am a new member of this forum.
Maybe in the future this will get moved there, we'll see.


Old January 10th, 2014, 01:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
Big Mike's Avatar
Posts: 45,432 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 28,836 given, 79,560 received

Futures Edge on FIO

What happens to the S&P 500 when a new President takes office?

This thread is a duplicate.

Use search before posting:


Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.


Closed Thread > Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Traders Hideout > Vendors and Product Reviews > My Experience

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

An Afternoon with FIO trader bobwest

Elite only

NinjaTrader 8: Programming Profitable Trading Edges w/Scott Hodson

Elite only

Anthony Drager: Executing on Intermarket Correlations & Order Flow, Part 2

Elite only

Adam Grimes: Five critically important keys to professional trading

Elite only

Machine Learning Concepts w/FIO member NJAMC

Elite only

MarketDelta Cloud Platform: Announcing new mobile features

Dec 1

NinjaTrader 8: Features and Enhancements

Dec 6

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Invest to Success, John Ondercin ( BarOne Vendors and Product Reviews 5 January 25th, 2016 05:09 PM
experience vs clueless whoddaddy Commodities Futures Trading 3 October 28th, 2013 05:04 AM
Anyone have experience with AXITrader ? sienna Brokers and Data Feeds 1 August 24th, 2012 06:21 PM
Any one have experience with EZProTrading? JohnPS Platforms and Indicators 3 April 23rd, 2012 11:48 PM
Experience points Big Mike Feedback and Announcements 0 October 17th, 2009 07:58 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 PM.

Copyright © 2016 by All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts

Page generated 2016-10-23 in 0.10 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP