Does Macks PAT system work anymore? - futures io
futures io futures trading



Does Macks PAT system work anymore?


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated by Big Mike
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Arseno with 2 posts (0 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    3. looks_3 ApolloEleven with 1 posts (2 thanks)
    4. looks_4 mercrastius with 1 posts (4 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one mercrastius with 4.0 thanks per post
    2. looks_two ApolloEleven with 2.0 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 djporter91 with 2.0 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 Trailer Guy with 1.0 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 767 views
    2. thumb_up 9 thanks given
    3. group 10 followers
    1. forum 6 replies
    2. attach_file 0 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 100,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

Does Macks PAT system work anymore?

(login for full post details)
  #1 (permalink)
Dallas
 
 
Posts: 6 since Apr 2020
Thanks: 3 given, 3 received

man, anyone else trading macks way and just getting chopped to pieces lately? so many 1 tick fakeouts, which is where he says to keep your stops. Fortunately i'm just demo testing, but it really seems like its way less profitable than he makes it out to be.

i also don't like that he always makes money in hindsight, but never trades live. i don't think hes a scam or anything, i just don't think his setups are as profitable as he makes them out to be.

The following 2 users say Thank You to djporter91 for this post:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Time & Sales Filter Size ES/NQ
The Elite Circle
GBP/ARS Pair
Traders Hideout
is there an easy way to obtain by code the price variation percentual
MultiCharts
Horizontal Line Indicator
Platforms and Indicators
Times and Sales more data to be displayed
TradeStation
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
Legal question and need desperate help
73 thanks
Building a high-performance data system
14 thanks
TopstepTrader's Michael Patak (Founder) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)
11 thanks
New Computer Build
11 thanks
VWAP for stock index futures trading?
11 thanks
 
(login for full post details)
  #2 (permalink)
Mainz, Germany
 
 
Posts: 12 since Jan 2019
Thanks: 20 given, 15 received

Regarding the performance of his followers he shows in his videos from time to time... yes.
Maybe you have to adjust that system a little to make it fit to you, to make it your own system. Volatile Markets? Give your stop maybe some more room. Try out little adjustments and then test it. I'm sure you can make money trading his system without copying it 100%.
I recently testet his system on a 1597(!!) Tick Chart. Even here I had a lot of winners and was profitable.

The following 2 users say Thank You to ApolloEleven for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #3 (permalink)
Ramstein, Germany
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: TOS
Trading: ES
 
Arseno's Avatar
 
Posts: 10 since Apr 2019
Thanks: 2 given, 1 received


Hi, I have also been recently experimenting with PATS and know what you're talking about. Sometimes it works really well, but there are other times where it grabs you and then heads in the opposite direction.
I'm going to be spending a lot of time getting more into the details and see how I can avoid that situation.

 
(login for full post details)
  #4 (permalink)
Ramstein, Germany
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: TOS
Trading: ES
 
Arseno's Avatar
 
Posts: 10 since Apr 2019
Thanks: 2 given, 1 received


ApolloEleven View Post
Regarding the performance of his followers he shows in his videos from time to time... yes.
Maybe you have to adjust that system a little to make it fit to you, to make it your own system. Volatile Markets? Give your stop maybe some more room. Try out little adjustments and then test it. I'm sure you can make money trading his system without copying it 100%.
I recently testet his system on a 1597(!!) Tick Chart. Even here I had a lot of winners and was profitable.

Hey, I don't live too far from Mainz, do you mostly trade PATS, or know of a group who trades online? PM me if you want, would be good to connect with local traders sometime,

Chris

 
(login for full post details)
  #5 (permalink)
Bridgewater, NJ
 
 
Posts: 3 since Jan 2020
Thanks: 1 given, 7 received


djporter91 View Post
man, anyone else trading macks way and just getting chopped to pieces lately? so many 1 tick fakeouts, which is where he says to keep your stops. Fortunately i'm just demo testing, but it really seems like its way less profitable than he makes it out to be.

i also don't like that he always makes money in hindsight, but never trades live. i don't think hes a scam or anything, i just don't think his setups are as profitable as he makes them out to be.


I felt exactly this way early on, so I completely understand where the OP is coming from. But I feel differently now that I've been closely following Mack's videos and daily charts for the last 6 months or so.

Everyone's different, but it's taken this long for everything Mack talks about to come together for me: Signal bars, setups & stop locations, and context. Context being the most important - I found that blindly taking second-entries without regards to context often led to the 1-tick fakeout thing. It's also taken this long for me to draw decent trendlines & channels. Early on mine were all over the place (or non-existent), and often were the reason I considered trades in poor locations.

Somewhere along the way the concepts Mack talks about have sunk in. I now have a better understanding of how to avoid being the one getting trapped, and how to instead take advantage of trapped traders - it's all context. I've found it's really more about where NOT to place trades, and I'm rarely on the wrong side anymore.

Basically I'm saying I felt the same way, but I stuck with it and now have a different perspective.


I also believe it's impossible to perfectly mirror Mack's (or any other) method anyway, you just have to absorb the information & develop your own ability to interpret what the market is telling you. Even if you tried, often tick charts don't match from person to person. No two PEOPLE are identical either. The value is in learning how to read the chart for yourself & developing a methodology that's compatible with your own personality/beliefs/expectations/etc. Trying to exactly copy someone else is pointless and probably doomed to fail.

And regarding Mack not trading "live", I don't consider this a negative. Not picking on the OP at all, as this seems to be a pretty common complaint. It just always strikes me as an odd thing to focus on, since IMO no two discretionary traders will trade exactly the same anyway. You could have two people sitting right next to each other trading the exact same strategy and they'll interpret things differently. In fact, I'd bet that Mack (or any other successful trader) could live screen-share their trading session and nobody watching would trade exactly like they do.

So I don't consider what Mack teaches, or price action in general, a "system" to be precisely followed. I consider it a method of market analysis that suits me, and believe it works - no "proof" required. Intuitively, trading against trapped traders just makes sense to me. It's simply up to me to continue to improve my skills.

Just my $0.02.

The following 4 users say Thank You to mercrastius for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #6 (permalink)
Boise, Idaho/USA
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Ninja Trader 8
Broker: IB, NinjaTrader Brokerage, Schwab
Trading: ES
 
Posts: 164 since Sep 2014
Thanks: 53 given, 296 received

As @mercrastius said Price Action is a school or theory of trading and PATS is a practitioner with their own way of doing it. Mack says on his site that he is teaching a simplified version and references Al Brooks for those that want to take a deep dive.

A point you may have missed as he doesn't make it that often is that he recommends changing your stops in high volatility markets acknowledging what you have observed. Stop loss and profit stops.

The following user says Thank You to Trailer Guy for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #7 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,015 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,644 given, 94,836 received

Please keep discussions related to this vendor in their vendor review thread:



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > Does Macks PAT system work anymore?


July 22, 2020


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

Getting Comfortable with Price Action Patterns w/Earn2Trade

Aug 4
 

Live Video Panel: Ask Me Anything w/Ironbeam Brokerage

Aug 6
     



Copyright © 2020 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts