RandBots - Mario Randholm (President & CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - futures io
futures io futures trading



RandBots - Mario Randholm (President & CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Big Mike with 13 posts (9 thanks)
    2. looks_two RandBots with 6 posts (7 thanks)
    3. looks_3 SMCJB with 3 posts (4 thanks)
    4. looks_4 mattz with 1 posts (2 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one mattz with 2 thanks per post
    2. looks_two SMCJB with 1.3 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 RandBots with 1.2 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 Big Mike with 0.7 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 7,550 views
    2. thumb_up 23 thanks given
    3. group 6 followers
    1. forum 24 posts
    2. attach_file 3 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 125,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

RandBots - Mario Randholm (President & CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #1 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

Hi guys,

Mario Randholm, CEO of RandBots, will be monitoring this thread for any questions related to the RandBots products and services.

Please keep in mind that some customer service/technical support issues are best handled through proper channels.

RandBots is a system "diversifier" platform; trading a variety of listed products such as stocks, indexes, metals, currencies and their derivatives under multiple investment strategies. They have a unique slogan "AutoTrading, Verified".

Mario's background includes Randholm & Co in Lima, where he is the Managing Partner, main trader, and a strategy developer; investing in Stocks, Futures, FX, Commodities and Derivatives. Prior to this, Mario was part of a family office in Madrid, focusing on Wealth Management and development of an investment model, focused on consistency and liquidity.

Mario's experience also includes working with BBVA in Madrid at the Proprietary Trading Desk, managing his own portfolio as well as investing in proprietary and third party Hedge Funds. Mario also has various experiences with New York firms in Manhattan, including Merrill Lynch, as an Analyst and Trader.

Mario has an MBA from IE Business School in Madrid, and a BBA in Management and Finance from Adelphi University, New York.

Below I am embedding a short YouTube video clip that quickly introduces you to RandBots:



In addition to this thread, I will also be asking Mario to stop by on occasion for a casual webinar session so members can ask their questions and receive live feedback. The date/time of those sessions will be announced here in this thread.

You can find more on RandBots website:
https://randbots.com/

Feel free to ask any questions below and we'll do our best to get them answered.

The futures io "AMA" (Ask Me Anything) series is by invitation only. The purpose of the thread is to provide easy access for forum members to engage with the service providers in the industry. RandBots is also a futures io site sponsor.

Mario Randholm's futures io username is @RandBots if you want to mention him or send him a private message.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 3 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Journal Challenge February 2021 results (so far):
Competing for $1500 in prizes from Topstep
looks_oneSBtrader82 's Trading Journalby SBtrader82
(139 thanks from 28 posts)
looks_twoJust BEING a Trader: Letting Go!!by iqgod
(106 thanks from 27 posts)
looks_3Wisdom is Emptinessby Mtype
(66 thanks from 24 posts)
looks_4Deetee’s DAX Trading Journal (time based)by Deetee
(30 thanks from 14 posts)
looks_5Journal for peanuts1956by peanuts1956
(23 thanks from 13 posts)
 
 
(login for full post details)
  #3 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received


Hi guys,

It is my pleasure to welcome Mario from RandBots for a webinar on Tuesday, October 24th @ 4:30PM Eastern US.

The topic is "RandBots AutoTrading: Bots to diversify your trading", and bullet points include:

- Only learn from the best
- The only way to learn is to do it yourself
- Main issues that RandBots solved
- My goal is to make money for you
- Trading products and strategies
- Manual Trading vs. AutoTrading
- This is a marathon until your last trade

Register for the event:
https://on.futures.io/l3jty

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #4 (permalink)
Legendary Market Wizard
Houston, TX
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Trading Technologies
Broker: Primary Advantage Futures. Also ED&F and Tradestation
Trading: Primarily Energy but also a little GE, GC, SI & Bitcoin
 
Posts: 3,959 since Dec 2013
Thanks: 3,253 given, 7,754 received

I am unable to attend the webinar but look forward to watching the recording.

I do have a couple of questions for Mario though.
1) When I look at the performance report of their systems it clearly states under the "About the results you see on this Web site" section that "These results are based on simulated or hypothetical performance results" and that "these results do not represent actual trading". Does this mean the results displayed are purely backtests? If not is there a way to know how much of the results are live vs theoretical?
2) Strategy "B Futures" shows nothing in its Monthly Performance Results for Feb'17 but the Hypothetical Performance Chart shows that there was activity. Please clarify. (I only looked at this Strategy may be similar issues with others).


The following 2 users say Thank You to SMCJB for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #5 (permalink)
Lima, Peru
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Propietary
Broker: IQ
Trading: Options
 
RandBots's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Jul 2017
Thanks: 35 given, 9 received

Hello SMCJB,

Thanks for the important questions, here you have more info.

The disclaimer is clear. Hypothetical data is shown, those records are not audited and there are plenty of issues what the disclaimer solves with that message. There are multiple implications to publicly display performance around the world.

You need to understand the limitations and regulation of the financial industry and because we trade many markets around the world and some of those have different regulation. It is better to be in the same page.
Also its important that even if, and when, a strategy is trading live capital and has live subscribers also AutoTrading, there are no two different accounts that will ever have exactly the same performance.

Here you can review some factors that can make the performance of two subscribers different from each other.

A) Leverage: Subscribers can use different leverage to trade the same strategy; this will create two different track records.

B) Fills: Subscribers trading the same system can be filled at different prices. The system can sweep the bid and if there are not enough contracts for all subscribers (liquidity) the rest of pending orders will get filled at market price. This will create two different track records. By definition, they cannot be the same because there are in two different accounts.

I do not have an issue to show my personal records if we build a meaningful relationship.

Furthermore, I encourage you visit any strategy and to click on “Show AutoTrade data”, on the right side under the performance chart. Click on the icon just before the trade time. There you can view the clearing broker and fill price of the clients that are AutoTrading.

Regarding your second question,


Currently the site shows a dash ¨ - ¨ when the performance is flat for the month.

Best,
Mario






SMCJB View Post
I am unable to attend the webinar but look forward to watching the recording.

I do have a couple of questions for Mario though.
1) When I look at the performance report of their systems it clearly states under the "About the results you see on this Web site" section that "These results are based on simulated or hypothetical performance results" and that "these results do not represent actual trading". Does this mean the results displayed are purely backtests? If not is there a way to know how much of the results are live vs theoretical?
2) Strategy "B Futures" shows nothing in its Monthly Performance Results for Feb'17 but the Hypothetical Performance Chart shows that there was activity. Please clarify. (I only looked at this Strategy may be similar issues with others).



Follow me on Twitter
The following 4 users say Thank You to RandBots for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #6 (permalink)
Legendary Market Wizard
Houston, TX
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Trading Technologies
Broker: Primary Advantage Futures. Also ED&F and Tradestation
Trading: Primarily Energy but also a little GE, GC, SI & Bitcoin
 
Posts: 3,959 since Dec 2013
Thanks: 3,253 given, 7,754 received

Thank you @RandBots for the prompt reply.

I had not seen the Show AutoTrade Data. That answers a lot of my questions, and I will now take a look at that data.

Good luck with the webinar.

The following user says Thank You to SMCJB for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #7 (permalink)
Lima, Peru
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Propietary
Broker: IQ
Trading: Options
 
RandBots's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Jul 2017
Thanks: 35 given, 9 received

Thanks @SMCJB,

A picture say more than 1000 words:

Here you have R Option Last Trade Detail


Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to RandBots for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #8 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

Webinar recording:



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 3 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #9 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

What did everyone think of the webinar?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #10 (permalink)
Legendary Market Wizard
Houston, TX
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Trading Technologies
Broker: Primary Advantage Futures. Also ED&F and Tradestation
Trading: Primarily Energy but also a little GE, GC, SI & Bitcoin
 
Posts: 3,959 since Dec 2013
Thanks: 3,253 given, 7,754 received



Big Mike View Post
What did everyone think of the webinar?

Very much liked it. It seems that autotrading and autotrading sites are definitely gaining in popularity. While RandBots doesn't have the longest track record out there, it is longer than most, and the auditable CSV/trade files give you a lot more confidence than some of the competitors. I liked the fact that @RandBots wasn't afraid to highlight some of the risks, problems, and myths, answering many questions honestly, and sometimes in ways that the asker probably didn't expect, and didn't just paint the picture that Everything is Awsome.

As an aside I found it interesting that when I started watching the recording, less than 12 hours after @Big Mike posted it, that exactly 100 people had already watched (or started watching) it.

The following user says Thank You to SMCJB for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #11 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

For those of you that watched the first webinar, please give feedback on what you would like to see covered in an upcoming webinar with regards to algorithmic trading / portfolio management & diversification, or etc -- something in Mario's wheelhouse -- so he can begin to look at new content for another presentation.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #12 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

In addition, for the Elite Members -- what (realistic) Elite Partner special discount or incentive would you find helpful for RandBots to offer you?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #13 (permalink)
Lima, Peru
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Propietary
Broker: IQ
Trading: Options
 
RandBots's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Jul 2017
Thanks: 35 given, 9 received


Big Mike View Post
What did everyone think of the webinar?

Mike

Hi Mike, the feedback I got privately was quite positive. Below are some details:

First, a few viewers want to know more about the data that R Option Model analyzes to take trading decisions as well as the psychology supporting the risk management side. I believe that the next webinar could be about the behavioral finance behind R Option and R Option Mini and some key data that I review to trade that Model. One of the issues, is that that data is not cheap nor real-time.

Second, other users contacted me for the Bloomberg link on Medallion from Renaissance Technologies which is very easy to find with Google.

Here is the link


Third, one Spanish speaker contacted me to do the webinar is Spanish. Is that possible? How would that add value to your current Elite Members? I guess the best way to find out is, to just do it.

Fourth, just like @SMCJB mentioned, I try my best to show details with radical transparency. Learn that from Ray Dalio. You can learn more on his company:best ideas win at this link.

Meritocracy is one of the most important factors when taking trading decisions.

And last,
Fifth, other viewers did not enjoy the commercial part of the PPT - sorry for that, I know by now that I am not such a good marketer

Once again, thank you, specifically to those that are already supporting RandBots.

Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to RandBots for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #14 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

Hi Mario,

I am not sure about a Spanish webinar to be honest, I think a lot of the members do of course speak Spanish, but majority of them probably also speak English. The percentage of Spanish speaking only members is likely quite low.

That said, those members are free to speak up here in the thread and based on response we can schedule an additional Spanish-only webinar in the future.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #15 (permalink)
Lima, Peru
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Propietary
Broker: IQ
Trading: Options
 
RandBots's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Jul 2017
Thanks: 35 given, 9 received


Big Mike View Post
Hi Mario,

I am not sure about a Spanish webinar to be honest, I think a lot of the members do of course speak Spanish, but majority of them probably also speak English. The percentage of Spanish speaking only members is likely quite low.

That said, those members are free to speak up here in the thread and based on response we can schedule an additional Spanish-only webinar in the future.

Mike

I share your point of view.

Follow me on Twitter
 
(login for full post details)
  #16 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

Hi guys,

It is my pleasure to welcome Mario Randholm (President of RandBots) for a webinar on Tuesday, January 23rd @ 4:30PM Eastern US.

The title for the event is "How-to Trade Computer Generated Information", and bullet points include:

- Define a trading style based on your personality
- Select a system that matches a trading style that you want to explore
- Find tools that complement the system and trading style
- Study the reasoning behind the trades
- Adapt the system to your market view
- Analyze to improve the systems and you
- Conclusion

Register for the event here:
https://on.futures.io/tzn0n

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #17 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

Webinar recording:



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #18 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

What did everyone think of the webinar?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #19 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

Hi guys,

It is my pleasure to welcome back Mario Randholm from RandBots for a webinar on Thursday, September 27th @ 4:30 PM Eastern US.

The title for this event is "Breaking Down An Equity Trading System - Explained Step by Step", and bullet points include:

- We’ll show you a detailed step-by-step breakdown and explanation of an Equity Trading System
- Learn a set of rules and conditions, including:
- Rules for Bulls and Bears
- G for Expected Growth
- Volume vs Price Delta
- Following the Trend & Power of Averages
- Q&A session at the end during live event

Register for the event:
https://on.futures.io/n40p7



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #20 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

Webinar recording:



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #21 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,733 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,283 given, 97,464 received

What did everyone think of the webinar?

Sorry for the delay in posting the recording -- internet has been non-functional on this trip the last few days. I return home in 10 days and will catch-up on everything then.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #22 (permalink)
 
 
mattz's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,487 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 2,425 given, 3,751 received

Thank you for the webinar. It is exceptionally well done, and present good ideas applying pure data to trading.

Just a few comments: The beginning of the webinar showed a performance chart of an institutional company as an example of automation performance. Well, besides automation there is also a human decision mechanism at times built of quant teams who may swap one model for another depending on the criteria for market conditions.
You can replicate one to one the due diligence process of automation in institutions is built of teams, and often these teams have skills that are highly academic. This is not to say that a single trader can not create successful models, instead its an entirely different process.

There is also a mention of something along the lines of "when we receive a signal of a 3rd party"....does that mean that you built portfolios made of other vendors? Not sure.

Excellent Excel presentation! We have seen more demand from traders to integrate that with platforms.

Thank you to Mike, Terry, and Mario for putting this together.

Matt Z
Optimus Futures

There is a substantial risk of loss in futures trading. Past performance is not indicative of future results.

Trading futures and options involves substantial risk of loss and is not suitable for all investors. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. You may lose more than your initial investment. All posts are opinions and do not claim to be facts. Please conduct your own due diligence. Use only Risk capital when trading Futures.
1 800 771 6748 local 561 367 8686 email support@OptimusFutures.com
The following 2 users say Thank You to mattz for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #23 (permalink)
PERU/CALLAO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Various
Broker: Various - (MC, CQG, IQFeed, IB)
Trading: US Futures and Equities, US Options, ETFs, Commodities, EUR/USD
 
Minds's Avatar
 
Posts: 82 since May 2013
Thanks: 56 given, 34 received

At randbots you can find mario's as well as third party strategies


mattz View Post
Thank you for the webinar. It is exceptionally well done, and present good ideas applying pure data to trading.

Just a few comments: The beginning of the webinar showed a performance chart of an institutional company as an example of automation performance. Well, besides automation there is also a human decision mechanism at times built of quant teams who may swap one model for another depending on the criteria for market conditions.
You can replicate one to one the due diligence process of automation in institutions is built of teams, and often these teams have skills that are highly academic. This is not to say that a single trader can not create successful models, instead its an entirely different process.

There is also a mention of something along the lines of "when we receive a signal of a 3rd party"....does that mean that you built portfolios made of other vendors? Not sure.

Excellent Excel presentation! We have seen more demand from traders to integrate that with platforms.

Thank you to Mike, Terry, and Mario for putting this together.

Matt Z
Optimus Futures

There is a substantial risk of loss in futures trading. Past performance is not indicative of future results.


The following user says Thank You to Minds for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #24 (permalink)
Lima, Peru
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Propietary
Broker: IQ
Trading: Options
 
RandBots's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Jul 2017
Thanks: 35 given, 9 received

Thank Matt,

Yes, of course. I believe that the Markets represent the human expectations more than anything else. On the other hand, systematic trading have a built-in function that is crucial to be successful in the business.

SOLID RISK MANAGEMENT and IF CONDITIONING - if A then do B and if C then do A+B...

The human decision criteria will be most likely always present in the markets as the capital will ultimately remain under the control of individuals.




mattz View Post
Thank you for the webinar. It is exceptionally well done, and present good ideas applying pure data to trading.

Just a few comments: The beginning of the webinar showed a performance chart of an institutional company as an example of automation performance. Well, besides automation there is also a human decision mechanism at times built of quant teams who may swap one model for another depending on the criteria for market conditions.
You can replicate one to one the due diligence process of automation in institutions is built of teams, and often these teams have skills that are highly academic. This is not to say that a single trader can not create successful models, instead its an entirely different process.

There is also a mention of something along the lines of "when we receive a signal of a 3rd party"....does that mean that you built portfolios made of other vendors? Not sure.

Excellent Excel presentation! We have seen more demand from traders to integrate that with platforms.

Thank you to Mike, Terry, and Mario for putting this together.

Matt Z
Optimus Futures

There is a substantial risk of loss in futures trading. Past performance is not indicative of future results.


Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to RandBots for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #25 (permalink)
Lima, Peru
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Propietary
Broker: IQ
Trading: Options
 
RandBots's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Jul 2017
Thanks: 35 given, 9 received

Regarding your comments below:

"The beginning of the webinar showed a performance chart of an institutional company as an example of automation performance. Well, besides automation there is also a human decision mechanism at times built of quant teams who may swap one model for another depending on the criteria for market conditions."

I agree to your comments above.


"You can replicate one to one the due diligence process of automation in institutions is built of teams, and often these teams have skills that are highly academic."

I do not think that can be replicated - I can be done worse of better, On the other hand the results will be correlated to the amount of invested resources.


"This is not to say that a single trader can not create successful models, instead its an entirely different process."

I agree to your comment above


"There is also a mention of something along the lines of "when we receive a signal of a 3rd party"....does that mean that you built portfolios made of other vendors? Not sure."

The short answer is YES.
1. There are open third party systems that I trust which I modify to match my goals.
2. There are third party systems that I trust that I do not modify because the risk rewards match mine.
3. There are my own systems that were built based on my risk reward


"Excellent Excel presentation! We have seen more demand from traders to integrate that with platforms."

Great systems are always welcome in any portfolio, the main issue is that the track-record is history. As you wrote, past performance might not be indicative of future results.

"Thank you to Mike, Terry, and Mario for putting this together."

Your welcome

Matt Z
Optimus Futures

There is a substantial risk of loss in futures trading. Past performance is not indicative of future results.


mattz View Post
Thank you for the webinar. It is exceptionally well done, and present good ideas applying pure data to trading.

Just a few comments: The beginning of the webinar showed a performance chart of an institutional company as an example of automation performance. Well, besides automation there is also a human decision mechanism at times built of quant teams who may swap one model for another depending on the criteria for market conditions.
You can replicate one to one the due diligence process of automation in institutions is built of teams, and often these teams have skills that are highly academic. This is not to say that a single trader can not create successful models, instead its an entirely different process.

There is also a mention of something along the lines of "when we receive a signal of a 3rd party"....does that mean that you built portfolios made of other vendors? Not sure.

Excellent Excel presentation! We have seen more demand from traders to integrate that with platforms.

Thank you to Mike, Terry, and Mario for putting this together.

Matt Z
Optimus Futures

There is a substantial risk of loss in futures trading. Past performance is not indicative of future results.


Follow me on Twitter

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > RandBots - Mario Randholm (President & CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Last Updated on April 6, 2020


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

NinjaTrader Indicator Challenge!

Ongoing
 

Journal Challenge w/$1500 prizes from Topstep!

February
 

Identifying Setups & Targets Using Profile Charts w/Trevor & Tradovate

Feb 25
 

Battlestations! Show us your trading desk - $1,500 in prizes!

March
     



Copyright © 2021 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts