Collective2's Rod Casilli - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - futures io
futures io



Collective2's Rod Casilli - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Big Mike with 14 posts (18 thanks)
    2. looks_two Collective2 with 7 posts (16 thanks)
    3. looks_3 allsensi with 2 posts (0 thanks)
    4. looks_4 GFIs1 with 2 posts (5 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one GFIs1 with 2.5 thanks per post
    2. looks_two Collective2 with 2.3 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 ratfink with 1.5 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 Big Mike with 1.3 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 9,061 views
    2. thumb_up 49 thanks given
    3. group 16 followers
    1. forum 34 posts
    2. attach_file 0 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 125,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

Collective2's Rod Casilli - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #1 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Rod Casilli, the Head of Product at Collective2, will be monitoring this thread so that he may answer any questions that you post here relating to C2's products and services.

Please keep in mind that some customer service/technical support issues are best handled through proper channels at Collective2.

Each year, Collective2 pays out hundreds of thousands of dollars to its Trade Leaders, the signal providers that manage model portfolios on the platform. Peer-to-Peer, crowd-sourcing, and the 'sharing economy' has been proven by Uber, Airbnb, and dozens of other companies. Now the next industry ripe for disruption is investing and finance. Over $75M in investor capital is connected to the C2 platform and more is looking for a home every day.

Collective2 is a privately-held company based in Westchester County, about 30 miles outside New York City. It employs and collaborates with programmers, companies, and corporate partners in many countries around the world. Collective2 LLC is a member of the National Futures Association (NFA).

Rod is the COO and Head of Product at Collective2, and is an active derivatives trader and strategy designer. He started his career at Merrill Lynch as a Financial Advisor and has spent the last 20 years in a variety of sales and marketing roles within financial services, enterprise, and start-up software.

You can find more on their website:
https://collective2.com/

Feel free to ask any questions below and we'll do our best to get them answered.

The futures io "AMA" (Ask Me Anything) series is by invitation only.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Multichart NET set signal parameters different than the …
MultiCharts
EasyLanguage: fetch option price using Stock ticker
EasyLanguage Programming
Is there a way to rename an existing trade?
MultiCharts
Anybody uses Bookmap with Tradestation?
TradeStation
Needing harmonic patterns indicator
TradeStation
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
I finally blew up an account
51 thanks
FIO Journal Challenge - April 2021 w/Jigsaw Trading
38 thanks
The Crude Dude Oil Trading System
36 thanks
The tiyfTradePlanFactory indicator
20 thanks
Want your NinjaTrader indicator created, free?
15 thanks
 
(login for full post details)
  #3 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received


Hi Rod @Collective2,

I would like to start off with a few questions:

- How many strategies are "live" on Collective2 right now?
- Do traders need to use special software in order to trade a strategy on C2? Does their computer need to be on at all times?
- Which brokers do you support?

Thanks,
Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #4 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Hi guys,

It is my pleasure to welcome Rod Casilli from Collective2 for a webinar on Wednesday, July 19th @ 4:30PM Eastern US.

Collective2 is a new site sponsor and this first webinar will be a promotional look at all the products and services offered by Collective2, so that members of FIO can understand what is available and get their questions answered.

The text below are the event details as sent to me by Collective2, and these statements have not been evaluated or verified for their accuracy.

From Acorns to Oak Trees – A Real, Proven Path To Grow From a Retail Trader into a Professional Manager.

Each year, Collective2 pays out hundreds of thousands of dollars to its Trade Leaders, the signal providers that manage model portfolios on the platform. Peer-to-Peer, crowd-sourcing, and the ‘sharing economy’ has been proven by Uber, Airbnb, and dozens of other companies. Now the next industry ripe for disruption is investing and finance. Over $75M in investor capital is connected to the C2 platform and more is looking for a home every day.

In this webinar, we’ll discuss and look at traders earning significant pay-outs from the site. The conversation will not be about How-To trade, but rather How-Not-To trade to attract capital and expand your trading from a hobby to potentially a career.

Join Rod to learn:

- What trading styles, methods, and strategies actually attract and retain capital.
- How to turn your demo account into a live account.
- Is it possible to make it as a point-and-click discretionary trader.
- Why prop firms don’t work for most traders.
- How to really increase the size of a small account every month. Hint: it’s NOT by trading it.
- Why back testing is useless.
- Ways to automate your strategy for non-coders.
- The critical importance of building and maintaining a walk-forward, out of sample, public trading track record even if you have no desire to sell your signals.

Register for the event:
https://futures.io/webinars/

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #5 (permalink)
 Collective2 
San Francisco
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, IB TWS
Trading: ES, NQ, ZN
 
Collective2's Avatar
 
Posts: 8 since Oct 2016
Thanks: 0 given, 16 received


Big Mike View Post
Hi Rod @Collective2,

I would like to start off with a few questions:

- How many strategies are "live" on Collective2 right now?
- Do traders need to use special software in order to trade a strategy on C2? Does their computer need to be on at all times?
- Which brokers do you support?

Thanks,
Mike


Collective2 has over 500 active strategies on the platform currently.

Our users are segmented into Trade Leaders, the managers of trading strategies, and investors, the buyers of signals and alpha through a subscription service.

Trade Leaders can manage a model portfolio in numerous ways using the C2 quick trade web interface, platforms like NinjaTrader, or programmatically via our API. This link is a full list of all the methods.

For investors, there is no need to install or use any software on a local machine. Collective2 is a cloud based Software-as-a-Service. There is also no dependency between how a Trade Leader manages a strategy and the broker that an investor/subscriber uses to AutoTrade it.

For AutoTrading, this is our current list of supported brokers.

No information constitutes a recommendation by Collective2, its agents, affiliates, employees, or guest contributors, to buy, sell, or hold any security, financial product, or instrument mentioned or discussed herein or to engage in any specific trading or investment tactic or strategy. Online trading is risky. The risk of loss in online trading of futures, stocks, options, and foreign currency is substantial. All results on Collective2 are hypothetical data. Learn what this means
The following 4 users say Thank You to Collective2 for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #6 (permalink)
 allsensi 
Madrid Spain
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: NinjaTrader Continuum
Trading: ES CL
 
Posts: 26 since Apr 2016
Thanks: 7 given, 17 received

So what If I think I trade well and I have a proven system that others can benefit from? What does it mean to become a trade leader?Advantages?
Not that I am yet the guy LOL

 
(login for full post details)
  #7 (permalink)
 Collective2 
San Francisco
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, IB TWS
Trading: ES, NQ, ZN
 
Collective2's Avatar
 
Posts: 8 since Oct 2016
Thanks: 0 given, 16 received


allsensi View Post
So what If I think I trade well and I have a proven system that others can benefit from? What does it mean to become a trade leader?Advantages?
Not that I am yet the guy LOL

We have a webinar coming up on July 19 that will cover the Trade Leader opportunity in detail. You can register here

In the interim and in short, the benefit of publishing your trade signals to C2 is the ability to earn extra income from your trading in the form of subscriptions to your strategy.

Some additional information on why to share trades on C2 and how Leaders get compensated.

No information constitutes a recommendation by Collective2, its agents, affiliates, employees, or guest contributors, to buy, sell, or hold any security, financial product, or instrument mentioned or discussed herein or to engage in any specific trading or investment tactic or strategy. Online trading is risky. The risk of loss in online trading of futures, stocks, options, and foreign currency is substantial. All results on Collective2 are hypothetical data. Learn what this means
 
(login for full post details)
  #8 (permalink)
 allsensi 
Madrid Spain
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: NinjaTrader Continuum
Trading: ES CL
 
Posts: 26 since Apr 2016
Thanks: 7 given, 17 received


Collective2 View Post
We have a webinar coming up on July 19 that will cover the Trade Leader opportunity in detail. You can register here

In the interim and in short, the benefit of publishing your trade signals to C2 is the ability to earn extra income from your trading in the form of subscriptions to your strategy.

Some additional information on why to share trades on C2 and how Leaders get compensated.

Sounds great, thanks for the replay

 
(login for full post details)
  #9 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

@Collective2 Rod,

Can you please explain in more detail how to connect NinjaTrader and C2 together, so that strategies running in NinjaTrader can be sent to a Collective2 account?

Is it free to have this interface between NinjaTrader and Collective2?

Is it free to send signals from NT to C2, in a test mode, so that historical analysis can be done on the C2 side?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #10 (permalink)
 Collective2 
San Francisco
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, IB TWS
Trading: ES, NQ, ZN
 
Collective2's Avatar
 
Posts: 8 since Oct 2016
Thanks: 0 given, 16 received



Big Mike View Post
@Collective2 Rod,

Can you please explain in more detail how to connect NinjaTrader and C2 together, so that strategies running in NinjaTrader can be sent to a Collective2 account?

Is it free to have this interface between NinjaTrader and Collective2?

Is it free to send signals from NT to C2, in a test mode, so that historical analysis can be done on the C2 side?

Mike

Collective2 supports several methods for using NinjaTrader to submit signals to C2.

One method is called Platform Transmit (PT) for NT7 & NT8. PT runs as either an indicator or a strategy on NT. PT can use a NT Sim or live account. The second method is called Broker Transmit where any connection to any live broker using Rithmic, CQG, or API to Interactive Brokers can be configured to 'listen' to the feed and capture signals for publishing to C2.

You can find more information about Platform Transmit and Broker Transmit for NinjaTrader and other platform on our website.

Article on setting up Platform Transmit for NT8

Platform Transmit or BrokerTransmit are included in Basic, Premium, and Professional Trade Leader Plan. We offer 14-day trials for all plans. A plan is required to maintain a strategy on C2 whether it is public or not.

No information constitutes a recommendation by Collective2, its agents, affiliates, employees, or guest contributors, to buy, sell, or hold any security, financial product, or instrument mentioned or discussed herein or to engage in any specific trading or investment tactic or strategy. Online trading is risky. The risk of loss in online trading of futures, stocks, options, and foreign currency is substantial. All results on Collective2 are hypothetical data. Learn what this means
The following 6 users say Thank You to Collective2 for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #11 (permalink)
goodoboy
Houston
 
 
Posts: 208 since Dec 2016
Thanks: 122 given, 131 received

@Collective2 Rod,

Thanks for webinar,

From the investor interest:

1. How does the investor (someone who wants to invest capital into an automated trading system for ROI) verify or perform due diligence to prove that the automated trading systems being offered at C2 have actually made money in the past, and have a high odds of making money in the future? How do I trust the data on your website?

2. On C2 can I see other subscribers or investors broker statements as a due diligence? Or the developer broker statement?

Thank you kindly

The following user says Thank You to goodoboy for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #12 (permalink)
 Collective2 
San Francisco
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, IB TWS
Trading: ES, NQ, ZN
 
Collective2's Avatar
 
Posts: 8 since Oct 2016
Thanks: 0 given, 16 received


goodoboy View Post
@Collective2 Rod,

Thanks for webinar,

From the investor interest:

1. How does the investor (someone who wants to invest capital into an automated trading system for ROI) verify or perform due diligence to prove that the automated trading systems being offered at C2 have actually made money in the past, and have a high odds of making money in the future? How do I trust the data on your website?

2. On C2 can I see other subscribers or investors broker statements as a due diligence? Or the developer broker statement?

Thank you kindly

First off, it is very important to point out that all results on C2 are hypothetical data. Even if, and when, a strategy is trading live capital and has subscribers also trading signals live, there are no two accounts (track records) that will ever be exactly the same.

Click here for more information on hypothetical results
Click here to learn How We Calculate Results

After reviewing these explanations, you're welcome to Join C2 using a free account. All users are able to view live fills for any strategy that has live AutoTraders. We also have a designation called Trades Own Strategy (TOS) which are signals received from a direct broker connection.

To view live fills:
Log-in and select Find Strategy (soon to be Discover Strategies)
Choose any strategy from the Leaderboard
On the strategy page, scroll down to Trading Record >> Click on Show Trade AutoTrade data
Click on the screen icon to view the broker and fill price for every trade.

Best,

rrc/

No information constitutes a recommendation by Collective2, its agents, affiliates, employees, or guest contributors, to buy, sell, or hold any security, financial product, or instrument mentioned or discussed herein or to engage in any specific trading or investment tactic or strategy. Online trading is risky. The risk of loss in online trading of futures, stocks, options, and foreign currency is substantial. All results on Collective2 are hypothetical data. Learn what this means
The following user says Thank You to Collective2 for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #13 (permalink)
 GFIs1 
Legendary Market Wizard
Switzerland
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Investor/RT
Broker: IB / DTN
Trading: Futures
 
Posts: 5,450 since Feb 2012
Thanks: 5,329 given, 11,424 received

First - thanks Rod for joining the fio community and giving detailed insight on C2.
I am following C2 since very long time - especially for automated trading strategies.
There has been a big improvement on your website which is much more professional
right now. Only drawback is - that one has to register and login - to get to all the traded
strategies now. Seems that all providers take this path.

Watching now your tempting offers for a system provider (you name it TradeLeaders) I need to point out:
one has to register and pay a monthly fee (provider as well as client)
you need some data moving/dispersing which is now possible over much more channels than before
a TradeLeader can have own "monthly member fees" for a system from which you take out 30% (correct?)
That above fee may cover some costs - but is never a real cash-back - especially for futures. Explanation:
If a signal provider is giving good signals, trading one car, and a "client" is trading dozen's - then first the
market at entry and exit of a trade is no longer the same and second - the sum of the gain is not divided properly.

Finally a thought about fio <-> C2:
There is a difficulty for every user - which gets into a conflict using both platforms.
If I would move to C2 making business with paying clients - I would need to close my 5+ year journals here
on fio, gaving free signals in advance - and all the followers needed either to pay on C2 or searching for
another free signal provider...
Fio members are not allowed to "sell" their systems and promote them on the platform. So no journal is
allowed in parallel.

Big Dilemma
Even @Big Mike could profit from a special new section on fio for paid signals in the elite section...
GFIs1

Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following 3 users say Thank You to GFIs1 for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #14 (permalink)
 kishunmo 
Moscow Russia
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Amibroker
Trading: Ri
 
Posts: 1 since Nov 2014
Thanks: 3 given, 0 received

What % of trade leaders have more then zero subscribers?

 
(login for full post details)
  #15 (permalink)
 ProLeagueTrading 
Victoria British Columbia
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NT
Broker: IB
Trading: ES
 
ProLeagueTrading's Avatar
 
Posts: 20 since Feb 2013
Thanks: 176 given, 43 received

Hi Rod,

Thanks for your webinar today, I found it very interesting. I had submitted several questions but only manged to get a response to one of them. Hoping you can look into them and respond. Thanks!

Q: Are you making the # of subscribers each trader leader has per month available? and if not why not?



Q: how many subscribers does this trade leader "simplicity trading" have right now?



Q: if you're a trade leader presenting to an investment club, in an attempt to attract subscribers, what stops them from only having one member pay for your signals, and then share them with the rest in the group? If an investor pays a flat fee and they can trade as many contracts as they want, it seems kind of unfair to the one who is actually generating the alpha. Am I missing something?



Q: Is there a way where I could only charge a fee to investors if I have a profitable month, and decline a fee if I have a negative month?

Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to ProLeagueTrading for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #16 (permalink)
 Collective2 
San Francisco
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, IB TWS
Trading: ES, NQ, ZN
 
Collective2's Avatar
 
Posts: 8 since Oct 2016
Thanks: 0 given, 16 received


kishunmo View Post
What % of trade leaders have more then zero subscribers?

We don't publish a % of strategies with paid subscribers stat. Most strategies with at least 6 months of track record and positive results attract attention.

No information constitutes a recommendation by Collective2, its agents, affiliates, employees, or guest contributors, to buy, sell, or hold any security, financial product, or instrument mentioned or discussed herein or to engage in any specific trading or investment tactic or strategy. Online trading is risky. The risk of loss in online trading of futures, stocks, options, and foreign currency is substantial. All results on Collective2 are hypothetical data. Learn what this means
The following 2 users say Thank You to Collective2 for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #17 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Webinar recording:



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 4 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #18 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

What did everyone think of the webinar?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #19 (permalink)
 t0030tr 
Detroit, Michigan, USA
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8 w/TTP
Broker: IB/Kinetick/CQG
Trading: NQ
 
t0030tr's Avatar
 
Posts: 68 since Jun 2013
Thanks: 27 given, 68 received

So just moving thru the webinar late Rod, pretty interesting concept here btw. Very cool. My questions here are:

If a trader already has a track record with AMP or IB, etc. How would they provide or publish that track record out of the box at C2?

Also, I guess I am wondering why you would want traders to publish details about there strategies since this is a results based business? Why would an investor care what the strategy is or perhaps I misunderstood.

TIA

The following user says Thank You to t0030tr for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #20 (permalink)
 ratfink 
Birmingham UK
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: TST/Rithmic
Trading: YM/Gold
 
ratfink's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,651 since Dec 2012
Thanks: 17,422 given, 8,403 received


Big Mike View Post
What did everyone think of the webinar?

Mike

Well presented show, very interesting platform, will probably do the free trial at least.

What will be the FIO journal policy for anybody going beyond the free trial, will they be classed as vendors?

Or just treated more like those who do Topstep/other combines and/or become funded traders?

Cheers

Travel Well
Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following 2 users say Thank You to ratfink for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #21 (permalink)
 GFIs1 
Legendary Market Wizard
Switzerland
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Investor/RT
Broker: IB / DTN
Trading: Futures
 
Posts: 5,450 since Feb 2012
Thanks: 5,329 given, 11,424 received


ratfink View Post
What will be the FIO journal policy for anybody going beyond the free trial, will they be classed as vendors?
Or just treated more like those who do Topstep/other combines and/or become funded traders?

Cheers

Hi rat

The things are quite clear: Topstep/other are a system that allows to earn money for oneself (if ever).
SELLING signals on C2/other is inviting known/unknown investors - means familiy/friends PLUS 3rd party
to join while accepting a monthly fee upfront.
This is the reason why on fio every member doing so will be classified as a vendor: forget about journals.
I think that it is implicated as neither Mike nor Rod answered my question in my previous post here.

As I mentioned: It is a DILEMMA. Discussions may boil from now

GFIs1

Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following 2 users say Thank You to GFIs1 for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #22 (permalink)
 ratfink 
Birmingham UK
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: TST/Rithmic
Trading: YM/Gold
 
ratfink's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,651 since Dec 2012
Thanks: 17,422 given, 8,403 received


GFIs1 View Post

The things are quite clear: Topstep/other are a system that allows to earn money for oneself (if ever).
SELLING signals on C2/other is inviting known/unknown investors - means familiy/friends PLUS 3rd party
to join while accepting a monthly fee upfront.
This is the reason why on fio every member doing so will be classified as a vendor: forget about journals.

GFIs1

That would be a shame, but I can understand the dilemma and have no problem with whatever the final decision is.

To me the C2 route looks useful as a potential behaviour modifier, towards a better style of trading that might help to prevent short termism, jumpiness and order fiddling. The C2 platform will clearly not produce a marketable return from any approach or strategy that still does that, so for me that was a big plus in seriously considering it as a personal cricket bat. Maybe that's just naivety on my part.

Of course, on a different note it would still be a long road to getting funding coming in rather than going out..., so to be immediately classed as a vendor might be a little rose-tinted anyway.

Maybe a viable route can be found, and hopefully Mike continues to make good progress on the health front so we can get a yay or a nay.

Cheers

Travel Well
Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following user says Thank You to ratfink for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #23 (permalink)
 Collective2 
San Francisco
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, IB TWS
Trading: ES, NQ, ZN
 
Collective2's Avatar
 
Posts: 8 since Oct 2016
Thanks: 0 given, 16 received


kishunmo View Post
What % of trade leaders have more then zero subscribers?

We don't publish subscriber stats. Most profitable strategies with a track record greater than 6 months attract subscribers.

No information constitutes a recommendation by Collective2, its agents, affiliates, employees, or guest contributors, to buy, sell, or hold any security, financial product, or instrument mentioned or discussed herein or to engage in any specific trading or investment tactic or strategy. Online trading is risky. The risk of loss in online trading of futures, stocks, options, and foreign currency is substantial. All results on Collective2 are hypothetical data. Learn what this means
The following user says Thank You to Collective2 for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #24 (permalink)
 Collective2 
San Francisco
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, IB TWS
Trading: ES, NQ, ZN
 
Collective2's Avatar
 
Posts: 8 since Oct 2016
Thanks: 0 given, 16 received


ProLeagueTrading View Post
Hi Rod,

Thanks for your webinar today, I found it very interesting. I had submitted several questions but only manged to get a response to one of them. Hoping you can look into them and respond. Thanks!

Q: Are you making the # of subscribers each trader leader has per month available? and if not why not?



Q: how many subscribers does this trade leader "simplicity trading" have right now?



Q: if you're a trade leader presenting to an investment club, in an attempt to attract subscribers, what stops them from only having one member pay for your signals, and then share them with the rest in the group? If an investor pays a flat fee and they can trade as many contracts as they want, it seems kind of unfair to the one who is actually generating the alpha. Am I missing something?



Q: Is there a way where I could only charge a fee to investors if I have a profitable month, and decline a fee if I have a negative month?

Thanks for attending or watching the webinar.

We are not currently listing the number of subscribers to each strategy. We do show if a strategy has live subscribers through several icons that indicate so and we also show new subscribers temporarily on the strategy page under the Summary Statistics. If a strategy has subscribers that are AutoTrading, you can view the Trade History and see an approximate # of subscribers through the live fills.

Re: a subscriber sharing trades with others - This is simply not an issue. Is it possible sure. But we don't see it in practice. Investors in the C2 marketplace are interested in AutoTrading and automation, not watching for an email or trade they have to place on their own. And I wouldn't want to be part of any investment club that is knowing gaming a system, especially one impacting fellow traders/investors.

C2 subscriptions are purposely NOT based on the number of contracts traded. There are other "futures systems" vendors with this model and it attracts much smaller average account sizes for a variety of reasons. C2 investors have self-directed accounts where the scaling is limited based on AT Plan levels. Remember, as a Trade Leaders you are free to set your own price. Keep in mind, we want to be a marketplace where a leader ccan trade 1 contract or 25 and investors with all sizes of accounts can choose to subscribe if the price is right.

Yes, we are working on a pay if profitable feature.

No information constitutes a recommendation by Collective2, its agents, affiliates, employees, or guest contributors, to buy, sell, or hold any security, financial product, or instrument mentioned or discussed herein or to engage in any specific trading or investment tactic or strategy. Online trading is risky. The risk of loss in online trading of futures, stocks, options, and foreign currency is substantial. All results on Collective2 are hypothetical data. Learn what this means
The following 2 users say Thank You to Collective2 for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #25 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Hi guys,

It is my pleasure to welcome Rod Casilli from Collective2 for an Ask Me Anything (AMA) session on Wednesday, August 23rd @ 4:30PM Eastern US.



Register for the event:
https://futures.io/webinars/

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #26 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Anyone that experienced an invalid SSL certificate error in the last 12 hours while trying to register for the webinar, can now try again -- the problem has been corrected. Sorry for the trouble.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #27 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Webinar recording:



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #28 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

What did everyone think of the webinar?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #29 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Hi guys,

It is my pleasure to welcome back Rod Casilli @ Collective2 for a webinar on Thursday, February 8th @ 4:30PM Eastern US.

The title of this event is "Automation and Strategy Development For Non-Programmers", and bullet points include:

- Learn how to get out of the discretionary, point and click grind and turn your trading ideas into a fully automated trading strategy
- How to generate trading ideas appropriate for automation
- What strategy tools and platforms work best for beginners
- Common mistakes when creating strategies and traps to avoid
- When you might need to hire a programmer
- How we design, test, build, and deploy strategies at Collective2

Register for the event:
https://on.futures.io/3i0lr

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #30 (permalink)
 tracy 
Pass Christian, MS
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninjatrader
Trading: Emini Scalper
 
tracy's Avatar
 
Posts: 44 since Nov 2012
Thanks: 13 given, 34 received

Where can I see this webinar again as an elite member?

 
(login for full post details)
  #31 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Webinar recording:



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #32 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

What did everyone think of the webinar?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #33 (permalink)
 dannyinhouston 
Houston Texas
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: CL, YM, NQ, ES
 
dannyinhouston's Avatar
 
Posts: 312 since Mar 2016
Thanks: 281 given, 982 received

I watched the webinar, and I'm thinking about creating a daily swing trade strategy I've been working on. It's just one trade each day per instrument, and it's not any secret sauce. My edge to this trade is my picking of an entry and eventual trend direction.

I've been wanting to "back test" this strategy but doing it real time live will be a better test. Its' worth $40/month for me to give t a try, if for nothing else than a strategy tester, with potential benefits.

I am a bit put off by all the "theoretical results" language, seems like a lot of work to get at the facts.

The following 2 users say Thank You to dannyinhouston for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #34 (permalink)
 Blash 
Legendary Market Chamois
Chicago, IL
 
Experience: None
Platform: NT8,NT7,TWS
Broker: InteractiveBrokers, S5T, IQFeed
Trading: The one I'm creating in the present....Index Futures mini/micro, ZF
 
Blash's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,287 since Nov 2011
Thanks: 7,259 given, 4,443 received


dannyinhouston View Post
I watched the webinar, and I'm thinking about creating a daily swing trade strategy I've been working on. It's just one trade each day per instrument, and it's not any secret sauce. My edge to this trade is my picking of an entry and eventual trend direction.



I've been wanting to "back test" this strategy but doing it real time live will be a better test. Its' worth $40/month for me to give t a try, if for nothing else than a strategy tester, with potential benefits.



I am a bit put off by all the "theoretical results" language, seems like a lot of work to get at the facts.



I have auto traded a system on C2 in one of my accounts for 8 months and I can tell you the results in the trade history are approximately 95% accurate or more. My statement has only varied slightly a few times and it was no big deal. One time there was some bad slippage.

Ron


Sent from my iPhone using futures.io

...My calamity is My providence, outwardly it is fire and vengeance, but inwardly it is light and mercy...
The steed of this Valley is pain; and if there be no pain this journey will never end.
Buy Low And Sell High (read left to right or right to left....lol)
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following 2 users say Thank You to Blash for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #35 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,548 given, 98,546 received

Hi guys,

This thread is now closed. These days, we reserve AMA threads only for site sponsors.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > Collective2's Rod Casilli - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Last Updated on July 6, 2018


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

NinjaTrader Indicator Challenge!

Ongoing

HIRO Indicator by Spotgamma in Bookmap w/Brent Kochuba @ SpotGamma

Elite only

NEW BlackBird Features + FOREX Support w/Jeremy Tang @ SharkIndicators

Elite only
 

Our 12-year anniversary w/ $$,$$$ prizes (check soon)

June
     



Copyright © 2021 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada), info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts