What Training courses you have please give me your review - Trading Reviews and Vendors | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


What Training courses you have please give me your review
Updated: Views / Replies:24,879 / 79
Created: by aqt1981 Attachments:1

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 90,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors Ė all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you donít need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

Closed Thread
 1  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

What Training courses you have please give me your review

  #1 (permalink)
Just starting out...
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Futures Experience: None
Platform: I am new have no clue
 
Posts: 6 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 3 given, 0 received

What Training courses you have please give me your review

Can you please tell me about what training courses you have done online. If they were any good?

 
  #2 (permalink)
Quick Summary
Quick Summary Post

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.

 
  #3 (permalink)
Elite Member
Fort McMurray, AB, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8 EOD,
Broker/Data: QT
Favorite Futures: currencies, indexes, CL
 
Posts: 18 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 12 given, 8 received

how do I say this


excellent idea to get some feedback early on. I have some opinions along this line, but I won't give any negative response in this site with names attached.

Suffer to say, that the $2500 and up courses are not necessary to begin with in your study and maybe never will be. Stay away from brick and mortor schools that have built in overhead, as much can be obtained with live webinars or two day hotel seminars that will be more the real market price.

Money back within a period is good, to me it speaks of a persons confidence that he/she will impart something in the allotted time and release you if you just can't fit to them.
This may not be available from bigger places with many sales staff to feed.

Some people will bad mouth a place maybe because it does not fit with their mindset, there are many takes on this business. (scalp vs swing, risk size, which market etc)
Try to do demo's first and don't get in a big hurry to sign up on a deal, they will come around again with offer reductions. Scale in with a small package first, make sure it is credited to a scaled-up offer.

Someone who stresses account management / money management and helps with an understanding of psychological barriers / traps is almost necessary as this is the reality you will face without them.
good luck
schnee

The following user says Thank You to Ron Schnee for this post:
 
  #4 (permalink)
Elite Member
Earth+Somewhere
 
Futures Experience: Master
Platform: SuckMyDICK
Favorite Futures: Crap
 
Posts: 65 since Oct 2009
Thanks: 128 given, 110 received

Advanced Trading Workshop Review

Answer
This post has been selected as an answer to the original posters question Answer

About a year ago I bought the 101A course from the Advanced Trading Workshop. I paid quite a bit for it, but since it has doubled in price.

First off, I do not recommend this to anyone, unless you want to waste your money. Though to be fair I'll give both the positives and negatives of what I saw.

If you sign up for the free trial, you will be consistently harassed by Brian, who is the salesperson of the room or ATW Help. He will keep trying to invite you into a private session and give you a sales pitch "we want to get to know you better". Also, every morning both Andy and Brian try to make a sales pitch to everyone on the free trial and those who have already bought the course because everyone is stuck in the same room. I feel sorry for those who bought the course because to hear the same thing every day is very frustrating.

When you buy the 101A course you get three months of the same room that you were in on the trial, but you still see the same thing. You also get access to the 101A course only room, but I can tell you nothing much ever happens in there and what you see in the free trial room you also see in the 101A course owners only room.

With the purchase of the course you also get access to the video archive, which has quite a few videos, I think around 150, it goes back about 2 1/2 years. Most of the videos are a repeat of the same thing. If you see it one time you will not learn anymore than that, the stuff is very easy to understand, I don't understand why they need 20 videos on each subject. The videos that you can watch on the free trial is pretty much what you will see when you buy the course, so don't be fooled when they say they have so much more training on this "subject" when you buy the course, because that is just not true. If you understand it and can explain it to a total stranger, then watching the video a couple more times will not help. I say this because Andy says everybody should watch the videos several times each, but is will not help you become a better trader, people wish it were that easy. Also, you lose access to the videos after the 3 months is up, which in my opinion is kind of a scam, because you bought the course and they don't let you have access to the vidoes anymore after you paid for them.

Now to the systems. With the course you get several systems, including the AC300, AC400, ACRX, ACChannel, and several more, but those are the main ones. I can tell you don't buy the course because of the systems, you will be very disappointed. All the systems are is just a moving average, Bollinger bands, channels, and the MACD. You can look at their charts and replicate the results if you wanted to. The colors are nothing special either, it's just based off of the MACD. They also make such a big deal about divergence trading. If you trade a pivot divergence, meaning two pivots it's about a 50% win rate, so pretty random, maybe a triple pivot divergence is about 60%. It's a joke when Andy goes on webinars to make a sales pitch and goes through a day showing how effective that technique is, but after the fact and real time are completely different. Of course after the day is done if you see a divergence trade it is always a winner, because the divergence disappears if it was a losing trade, you'll know what I mean if you watch the markets real time.

They also put an emphasis on VSA or volume spread analysis. The problem is they look at 1 minute charts. In really volatile and fast moving markets a 1 minute might make sense, but most of the time is does not. If you focus on a 1 minute chart you will get destroyed. You will see a lot of reversals and most will fail, and the ones that don't you still won't make much. If you look at enough bars of course you will see some buying or selling, so if one bar out of twenty bars shows some selling your going to sell, I can tell you that's a bad idea.

On the positive side some people really like the ATW. They will stand up and tell you how much value there is in the ATW and the course is way underpriced. BTW, the 101A course lists for $4,995. It's funny how those same people still need to subscribe to the trading room after years, which costs $200/month.

My final thought and advice is to not to waste your time or money on the ATW. I wish I had read a review like this then I could have avoided that pitfall also. If you really want, sign up for the 30 day free trial, nobodies stopping you everyone has a free choice of what he or she does.

After looking at the ATW and many other sites I can honestly tell you what is offered at this site Big Mike's Trading forum is worth so much more than all the Advanced Trading Workshop courses and products combined.


Here's more reviews on the ATW: http://traderopinions.com/indicators/advanced-trading-workshop-aka/


Last edited by cbratton; March 16th, 2010 at 02:57 PM.
The following 6 users say Thank You to cbratton for this post:
 
  #5 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
Brentwood, Tennessee
 
Futures Experience: Master
Platform: MetaTrader
Favorite Futures: forex
 
Posts: 39 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 172 given, 25 received

When I took the leap into the forex, I took a course by Peter Bain and I highly recommend the course if you're interested in learning.

 
  #6 (permalink)
Elite Member
london
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: ninja
Favorite Futures: fgbl
 
Posts: 152 since Nov 2009
Thanks: 64 given, 44 received

hi,
having attended live courses and bought online courses ranging from $400 to $4000 i can honestly tell you that none were worth the money. tradestalker do a good ebook and tom williams book, james daltons mind over markets(tough though). think very very very carefully before you hand over your hard earned cash - the courses i have been on leave more questions unanswered than anything else providing you with picture perfect examples that only work once in a while - and they don't tell you when these methods are unlikely to work.. Read trading articles on investopedia and join forums - i think its a matter of immersing yourself in the industry/concepts until you really get it which is how its just beginning to work for me.

The following user says Thank You to anniebee321 for this post:
 
  #7 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.quanttradingcapital.com.au 
Melbourne
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: IB, ThinkOrSwim, Kinetic
Favorite Futures: Options, Forex
 
dimkdimk's Avatar
 
Posts: 38 since Dec 2009
Thanks: 0 given, 6 received

I can recommend courses from Dr. Burry Burns. It is at www.topdogtrading.com

Very great courses and easy trading approach. Basically, after a few monthes of practicing it made me not a losing trader. That is in fact big progress already on its own ;-) comparing to what I was :-)

 
  #8 (permalink)
Elite Member
Fort McMurray, AB, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8 EOD,
Broker/Data: QT
Favorite Futures: currencies, indexes, CL
 
Posts: 18 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 12 given, 8 received

education reviews URL

Weighted towards forex but still applicable to the question asked.
I have not been anywhere else on this site. RS

Learn Forex With Top Forex Trading Education Sites

 
  #9 (permalink)
Elite Member
Fort McMurray, AB, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8 EOD,
Broker/Data: QT
Favorite Futures: currencies, indexes, CL
 
Posts: 18 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 12 given, 8 received

forgot to mention

Hit enter too soon; I forgot to mention that the course reco'd by Dimkdimk above (TopDog) is one found in the webpage URL I pasted above.

TopDog gets overall positive comments and is priced low (cheap).
I have watched his five video free sampler, worth the time definitely. Just sign up and get the connections with emails.

For a new person, they can get a good grounding and won't be out a lot and have regrets if you change your mind about trading later on. At least about the education cost part. The course that costs a small account is NOT where to start.
RS

 
  #10 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.quanttradingcapital.com.au 
Melbourne
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: IB, ThinkOrSwim, Kinetic
Favorite Futures: Options, Forex
 
dimkdimk's Avatar
 
Posts: 38 since Dec 2009
Thanks: 0 given, 6 received



Ron Schnee View Post
Hit enter too soon; I forgot to mention that the course reco'd by Dimkdimk above (TopDog) is one found in the webpage URL I pasted above.

TopDog gets overall positive comments and is priced low (cheap).
I have watched his five video free sampler, worth the time definitely. Just sign up and get the connections with emails.

For a new person, they can get a good grounding and won't be out a lot and have regrets if you change your mind about trading later on. At least about the education cost part. The course that costs a small account is NOT where to start.
RS

I just want to add that please don't make your opinion about the course based on those 5 videos. Course itself is much deeper and much better. Those five videos are just to understand if you like a manner of a teacher and his style of education.

In the course you will get mostly videos and pdfs as a short summary. Most of the things are explained in real trading environment and gives you additional feeling of dynamics.

Plus, you can get your money back anytime. I don't know anybody who did that though among my peers.

Good extra to that course is you can subscibe to a 3-times per week newsletter. A lot of useful information there as well.

Burry have developed indicators described in his course : that is really piece of work ! I just love those.

P.S. Search in the internet or youtube there are a few free videos from Burry. You can get some info for free ;-) Just search in youtube : topdogtrading

P.P.S Burry does many web-conferences, we may approach him and he may host one of futures.io (formerly BMT) webconferences. I have no idea if he wants this though.


Closed Thread



futures io > > > What Training courses you have please give me your review

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

Jigsaw Trading: TBA

Elite only

FuturesTrader71: TBA

Elite only

NinjaTrader: TBA

Jan 18

RandBots: TBA

Jan 23

GFF Brokers & CME Group: Futures & Bitcoin

Elite only

Adam Grimes: TBA

Elite only

Ran Aroussi: TBA

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upcoming Webinars and Training/Education Big Mike The Elite Circle 751 December 13th, 2017 12:46 PM
Free Trading Training Bilderberger Trading Reviews and Vendors 6 July 16th, 2013 06:28 PM
Free CS/Engineering courses at M.I.T. shodson Platforms and Indicators 2 June 9th, 2010 02:30 AM
Learning + Training by Mental Imagery max-td Psychology and Money Management 2 December 8th, 2009 05:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-12-15 in 0.19 seconds with 38 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.91.171.137