Market Profile Trading Academy / MissTrade's Matt Davio - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - futures io
futures io futures trading



Market Profile Trading Academy / MissTrade's Matt Davio - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated by Big Mike
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one MissTrade with 63 posts (64 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 10 posts (5 thanks)
    3. looks_3 josh with 4 posts (2 thanks)
    4. looks_4 lrfsdad with 2 posts (2 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one DropD with 6.0 thanks per post
    2. looks_two MissTrade with 1.0 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 0.5 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 josh with 0.5 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 31,839 views
    2. thumb_up 79 thanks given
    3. group 13 followers
    1. forum 81 replies
    2. attach_file 6 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 100,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

Market Profile Trading Academy / MissTrade's Matt Davio - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #1 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,709 given, 95,339 received

Matt Davio, aka MissTrade, is the Founder and CEO of Anti Fragile Trading and Market Profile Trading Academy, and will be monitoring this thread so that he may answer any questions that you post here relating to his products or services, Market Profile and Auction Theory, or just trading in general.

Please keep in mind that some customer service/technical support issues are best handled through proper channels at Anti Fragile Trading/Market Profile Trading Academy.

Matt Davio has been a full-time professional trader since 1991. He primarily uses Market Profile as his basis for framing the market, and he trades a wide variety of products. Matt has worked with Peak6 Trading and Parallax, and has also run a private hedge fund.

Matt has also presented a couple of webinars on futures.io (formerly BMT). Check the webinars section for more information.

In addition to this thread, I will also be asking Matt Davio to stop by on occasion for a casual webinar where he can answer questions via audio while also sharing his screen to visually demonstrate any points as needed. The date/time of those sessions will be announced here in this thread. These sessions will be limited to questions only, there is no prepared presentation. After the session ends, the recording will be posted in this thread.

You can find more on their website:
Earn While You Learn | MissTrade Market Profile Trading Academy

Feel free to ask any questions below and we'll do our best to get them answered.

The futures.io (formerly BMT) "AMA" (Ask Me Anything) series is by invitation only. It is part of a new program we are launching shortly called "Certified Trustworthy", something that has been months in the making. I will provide all the details of this new program as soon as it is ready for launch.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Heat Map on Trendspider
Platforms and Indicators
ThinkScript help with SchaffTrendCycle
Traders Hideout
Sending an ACH from BoA to GFF Brokers
Brokers
Level 2 Analysis
Traders Hideout
Seeking an MT4 Indicator/EA that scans all Currency Pairs to identify setup
Platforms and Indicators
 
 
(login for full post details)
  #3 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,709 given, 95,339 received


Matt,

Let me kick off the questions with a few of my own.

a) Why market profile and not volume profile? Do you believe time is more important than volume, or the relationship between time & price to be more important than volume & price?

b) Would you classify yourself as a scalper, day trader or swing trader?

c) When you look at a market like the ES which has been in a strong bull market for the last several years, and has been in a very tight upward channel this calendar year, what are you looking for in terms of a "setup" to take a trade? Balance, imbalance, micro trend reversal, continuations? What kind of patterns do you look for to initiate a trade?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #4 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received

Mike,

Thanks for allowing this open feed and kicking of the start of questions.

I do utilize both Market (TPO) profile for my shorter term intraday charts along with going back about 3 weeks. I utilize these along with my longer term time frames charts which primarily focus on the Volume Profile. I find that the combination of both these tools helps me with the puzzle pieces that are this game of Markets. I do a top down look at the markets going back over 10 years to find long term trends and break it all the way down to the shortest time frames. Utlizing the Volume Profile here helps great find the areas of interest and control for me. The TPO is important in the intraday view more than the volume profile. I do consider Time more important that price, that is the more time at a price is more important than one tick at a single price for example.

I am definitely a daytrader if opportunities arise, however, I don't like to scalp, my goal for the day as a daytrader is to pull out 1/4 or 1/2 of the total range the day trades. So if the ES was 20 pts wide today, if I was successful I was able to take out 5-10 pts out of my daytrading efforts. I usually am able to do this if successful in 1-3 trades maximum. That being said, I have no problem swing trading positions, and those typically last 1 day to 4 weeks. I do utilize options in some of my longer timed trades along with futures.

Your 3rd question is not a simple answer. The ES has probably been my least favorite financial to trade over the 2013 campaign due to the severe dryness in total intraday ranges. I prefer the more wide NQ at this point as the ranges are so muted in the ES right now. I'm not much of a Pattern guy, i still prefer time over patterns and ultimately time over price. I know it sounds strange, to some, but when you view Time at price, I think it actually simplifies the decision making process.

There are times to fade the profile, go with the trend, and/or trade counter trend. It really depends upon where we have been and helping me to pick spots on where we may or may not go. I always write a daily narrative on the different futures vehicles I trade and have contingent narratives based on where I think the market could trade. That being said, the market doesn't always do what I want when I want, so you must be able to recognize when a plan goes bad, and have either and adjustment, or decide that the day has beat you and wait for better setups in the next trading days ahead. There will always be another day in free markets.

Looking forward to more questions from the Forum!

Thanks again Mike,


Matt

If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter
The following 4 users say Thank You to MissTrade for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #5 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,709 given, 95,339 received

Matt,

So far ES YTD has produced 14.29 points on average (RTH) or $714.50 per day per contract in volatility when you take 14.29 points x $50.00/point.

I posted some stats here:


I don't trade NQ, can you share similar figures so we can compare volatility?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #6 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,088 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,709 given, 95,339 received

Matt, do you trade the Euro?

Here are my Euro charts



So we have a multi-year downtrend followed by a smaller 9 month uptrend, and then within that we have a roughly 5 week micro downtrend.

I'm using a monthly TPO and a daily TPO here to find some areas of interest along side basic channels.

Perhaps you can share your view of the Euro for comparison? What platform do you trade with?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #7 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received

I sure miss 2008 and 09 ranges in the ES Mike!

NQ is a bit wider $20 per contract per full point is the nominal.

If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter
 
(login for full post details)
  #8 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received


Big Mike View Post
Matt,

So far ES YTD has produced 14.29 points on average (RTH) or $714.50 per day per contract in volatility when you take 14.29 points x $50.00/point.

I posted some stats here:


I don't trade NQ, can you share similar figures so we can compare volatility?

Mike

Mike I do trade the NQ mainly because it has traded wider than the ES for the past 6-9 months, and the wider moves offer me as an intraday trader more opportunities intraday than the ES right now. Alot of this has to do with AAPL and GOOG right now obviously.

We have been in week wide ranges of about 3% for the NQ over hte past 5 weeks or so . .. . NQ*0 | Detailed Commodity Futures Price Quote for E-Mini Nasdaq 100

This compares vs the ES which has been stuck 1.5-3% wide over the same period of trade. More consistently wide in NQ over ES. I'll stick there until this changes considerably. ES*0 | Detailed Commodity Futures Price Quote for E-Mini S&P 500

If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter
 
(login for full post details)
  #9 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received


Big Mike View Post
Matt, do you trade the Euro?

Here are my Euro charts



So we have a multi-year downtrend followed by a smaller 9 month uptrend, and then within that we have a roughly 5 week micro downtrend.

I'm using a monthly TPO and a daily TPO here to find some areas of interest along side basic channels.

Perhaps you can share your view of the Euro for comparison? What platform do you trade with?

Mike

I do trade the Euro and more importantly, as I've said vocally and loudly over the past 3=4 years, that the US dollar is the item that drives all currencies right now. All Central Banks are in the game to devalue their respective cuurrencies as fast as they can vs the others. Its an absolute chase to the bottom and the result we don't know, but I do know this has never been seen in the history of markets, where all countries are at once trying to devalue their currencies concurrently with all others. A true night mare, that the ending is unknown.

WOn't be pretty, and we won't know until how it begins until the first major currency fails.

Matt

If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to MissTrade for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #10 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received


Monthly Weekly Daily Euro




240 min 60 min 30 min Euro

15 min 5 min 1 min Euro Charts

If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > Market Profile Trading Academy / MissTrade's Matt Davio - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


November 27, 2013


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

Technical Analysis Workshop w/NinjaTrader

Oct 27
 

Bookmap

Oct TBD
 

SharkIndicators

Oct TBD
 

Carley Garner

Oct TBD
 

Ironbeam

Oct TBD
 

Zytrade

Oct TBD
 

GruttePier

Oct TBD
     



Copyright © 2020 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts