Market Profile Trading Academy / MissTrade's Matt Davio - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - futures io
futures io futures trading



Market Profile Trading Academy / MissTrade's Matt Davio - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated by Big Mike
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one MissTrade with 63 posts (64 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 10 posts (5 thanks)
    3. looks_3 josh with 4 posts (2 thanks)
    4. looks_4 lrfsdad with 2 posts (2 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one DropD with 6.0 thanks per post
    2. looks_two MissTrade with 1.0 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 0.5 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 josh with 0.5 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 30,907 views
    2. thumb_up 79 thanks given
    3. group 13 followers
    1. forum 81 replies
    2. attach_file 6 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 100,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

Market Profile Trading Academy / MissTrade's Matt Davio - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #11 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,916 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,562 received

Please wrap screencast URL's in the screencast bbcode

[screencast]http://screencast.com/t/Kn9TmRuJ3Tau[/screencast]

Becomes:



Otherwise all you get are links, and very few people will click on a link to load an image.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Cumulative Bid/Ask Chart resets after 2Billion
MultiCharts
Buying at the bid, and/or selling at the ask, chasing market
NinjaTrader
Scan by comparing SMAs within 5 mins
ThinkOrSwim
Do you trade on Sundays?
Emini and Emicro Index
Corn Sep-Dec20
Commodities
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
Is anyone actually making money?
184 thanks
Micro account vs Funded account (combine)
52 thanks
Are sharks watching on the other side?
32 thanks
Market profile entries/exits
25 thanks
Spoo-nalysis ES e-mini futures S&P 500
21 thanks
 
(login for full post details)
  #12 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received


If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to MissTrade for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #13 (permalink)
Legendary Market Wizard
Georgia, US
 
Experience: None
Platform: SC
Broker: AMP+CQG
Trading: ES, HSI, Nikkei
 
josh's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,451 since Jan 2011
Thanks: 6,025 given, 14,323 received



MissTrade View Post
Mike I do trade the NQ mainly because it has traded wider than the ES for the past 6-9 months, and the wider moves offer me as an intraday trader more opportunities intraday than the ES right now.

Matt,

Maybe the range as a function of the index price is greater for the nasdaq, but it looks like so far in 2013 the NDX range is averaging about 25 points a day, and at $5 per NQ tick, this yields a per contract high to low average of about 25*$20 = $500 per day. (I used NDX range which should be almost identical to NQ as I don't have an NQ chart up)

ES is averaging about 11.25 per day, and thus has a contract dollar range of 11.25*$50 = $562 per day.

Taking into account the spread being a bit over twice as high for ES, they come out about even in terms of high to low dollar opportunity per day, given an average number of trades.

So I suppose if one's strategy somehow depends on the movement of the index as a percentage of the index value, then NQ may be more advantageous, but in terms of sheer dollar opportunity per contract per day based on the range, ES comes out the winner, if only slightly.

The following user says Thank You to josh for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #14 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received

Or you can trade 2 contracts per NQ and double your exposure for same nominal move . . .

Whatever works for you.

Trade, Define Risk, Move!

If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter
 
(login for full post details)
  #15 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,916 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,562 received

Matt will be presenting a webinar on futures.io (formerly BMT) on Monday, April 8th @ 4:30 PM ET, the topic is Advanced Market and Volume Profile:


Hope to see you there

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #16 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,916 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,562 received

@MissTrade,

Matt, do you use any breadth tools like VIX, TICK or etc? If so can you elaborate on their usage as part of your methodology?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #17 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,916 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,562 received


Big Mike View Post
@MissTrade,

Matt, do you use any breadth tools like VIX, TICK or etc? If so can you elaborate on their usage as part of your methodology?

Mike

Here is SPX, channel this entire CY and panel 2 is McClellan breadth



Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #18 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received

I trade VIX and look at AD for informational purposes, but neither of them help me to trade ES per se.

I do like Trading VIX and have been favoring the long side of late with the VIX and do think we will see higher incidence of volatility April and May.


If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter
 
(login for full post details)
  #19 (permalink)
Bend, Oregon
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Ninja
Broker: Ninja/Amp TOS, IB
Trading: NQ
 
MissTrade's Avatar
 
Posts: 63 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 5 given, 64 received


If you have any questions about the products or services provided, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread
Follow me on Twitter
The following 6 users say Thank You to MissTrade for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #20 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,916 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,562 received


I edited your last post to embed the video. You can wrap YouTube URL's around the [youtube] bbcode to embed them. Click 'edit' on your post to see my example.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > Market Profile Trading Academy / MissTrade's Matt Davio - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


November 27, 2013


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

Every journal equals ten meals for the hungry

Now
     



Copyright © 2020 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts