Al Brooks - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - futures io
futures io



Al Brooks - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Big Mike with 6 posts (8 thanks)
    2. looks_two benrock with 2 posts (1 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Quick Summary with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    4. looks_4 Anagami with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    1. trending_up 9,394 views
    2. thumb_up 10 thanks given
    3. group 14 followers
    1. forum 12 posts
    2. attach_file 0 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 125,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

Al Brooks - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #1 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,960 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,433 given, 98,154 received

Al Brooks, M.D., will be monitoring this thread so that he may answer any questions that you post here about trading in general.

Please keep in mind that some customer service/technical support issues are best handled through proper channels.

Al Brooks has been a professional trader since leaving his career as an ophthalmologist over 25 years ago. Al Brooks routinely writes as a Technical Analysis contributor for Futures Magazine, and has been the guest speaker at Traders Expo on multiple occasions.

Al Brooks is widely known as a Price Action trader, and his first book "Reading Price Charts Bar By Bar" is one of the most well known books in all of trading. He later followed with three additional books "Trading Price Action Reversals", "Trading Price Action Trends", and "Trading Price Action Ranges".

More recently, Al Brooks has developed a trading course that contains 27 hours of video lecture material with chart analysis and mark-up. The video trading course has been very well received by many.

Al requested that this thread act as a placeholder for questions which he will then answer during the live AMA sessions. So rather than Al replying to posts here, we will accumulate the questions posted here for Al, and then he will answer them during the live AMA sessions. The recordings for those sessions will be uploaded to this thread.

Please make sure your question is clearly stated. Provide a chart with mark-up where necessary. The best questions will receive the most attention.

You can find more on his website:
Brooks Trading Course - Price Action Trading

The futures.io (formerly BMT) "AMA" (Ask Me Anything) series is by invitation only. It is part of a new program we are launching shortly called "Certified Trustworthy", something that has been months in the making. I will provide all the details of this new program as soon as it is ready for launch.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 4 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Journal Challenge April 2021 results (now extended!):
Competing for $1800 in prizes from Jigsaw
looks_oneMaking a Living with the Microsby sstheo
(79 thanks from 10 posts)
looks_twoSalao's Journalby Salao
(23 thanks from 5 posts)
looks_3Deetee’s DAX Trading Journal (time based)by Deetee
(16 thanks from 8 posts)
looks_4Learning to Profit - A journey in algorithms and optionsby Syntax
(12 thanks from 7 posts)
looks_5Rogue MNQ 2/21 Journeyby RogueJoules
(0 thanks from 2 posts)
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
The Crude Dude Oil Trading System
73 thanks
futures io site changelog and issues/problem reporting
71 thanks
Would You Sell Your System?
65 thanks
FIO Journal Challenge - April 2021 w/Jigsaw Trading
30 thanks
Big Mike in Ecuador
25 thanks
 
(login for full post details)
  #3 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,960 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,433 given, 98,154 received


I wanted to repeat a portion of what I wrote above, so everyone clearly understands:

"Al requested that this thread act as a placeholder for questions which he will then answer during the live AMA sessions. So rather than Al replying to posts here, we will accumulate the questions posted here for Al, and then he will answer them during the live AMA sessions. The recordings for those sessions will be uploaded to this thread."

Al already spends a lot of his time replying to personal emails or helping clients from his trading room. So he agreed to this thread on the basis that the questions will be presented in the thread, and he can answer them by video (saves the typing).

I'll post the schedule and links for the live AMA sessions here in this thread. I'll work with Al to arrange one soon after we get some questions.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #4 (permalink)
 benrock 
hampton bays
 
Experience: Master
Platform: ninjatrader , TOS
Broker: CQG
Trading: FUTURES
 
Posts: 85 since Mar 2012

hey al, what are best times frames used for priceaction , right now i use 1000tick and i feel i can really read the market well but then it gets to jumpy some times ,

thanks , great books

Follow me on Twitter
 
(login for full post details)
  #5 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,960 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,433 given, 98,154 received


benrock View Post
hey al, what are best times frames used for priceaction , right now i use 1000tick and i feel i can really read the market well but then it gets to jumpy some times ,

thanks , great books

Can you give some context?

Are you a scalper? Day trader? Swing trader?

What market are you trading?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #6 (permalink)
 benrock 
hampton bays
 
Experience: Master
Platform: ninjatrader , TOS
Broker: CQG
Trading: FUTURES
 
Posts: 85 since Mar 2012

hey mike thanks

i am a day/swing trader , most of my trades last from 15 min to an hour , i put on my over night trades around 8-12 at night , longest i have held was 2 days ( my goal is to hold longer )

my fav markets are gold, nat gas, russel, nasdaq , all futures !!!

i use 1000 tick for everything entry and 15-60min for fibs and trendlines

thanks

Follow me on Twitter
 
(login for full post details)
  #7 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,960 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,433 given, 98,154 received

Al,

Are there any currently active, full-time professional traders that you view as mentors or that have inspired your trading in some way?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #8 (permalink)
 Bookworm 
Long Island, NY
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: TOS & Tastyworks
Broker: TD Ameritrade
Trading: Equities, index options and futures options
 
Bookworm's Avatar
 
Posts: 175 since Apr 2010
Thanks: 65 given, 166 received

Al you once mentioned that you benefited from a daily chart review after the close. Can you explain in detail how you think we should go about that process to get the best results from it. Thanks!

 
(login for full post details)
  #9 (permalink)
 Anagami 
Cancun, Mexico
 
Experience: Advanced
Trading: Stock Index Futures / CFDs
 
Anagami's Avatar
 
Posts: 865 since Dec 2010
Thanks: 603 given, 1,951 received

I'm curious if you think day trading is harder than say 5 years ago.

"The mind is its own place, and in itself can make a heaven of hell, a hell of heaven." - Milton
 
(login for full post details)
  #10 (permalink)
 rem4444 
Atlanta, Georgia
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: Forex
 
rem4444's Avatar
 
Posts: 24 since Jan 2011
Thanks: 37 given, 29 received


Dr. Brooks,

I'm working through your course, reading your books and webcasts. Sim trading on forex with euro, which essentially was a random choice, but as I learn more it seems to be well suited to me as a beginner.

Fleshing out and refining a written trading plan. Gaining confidence with patterns and mechanics. Fewer obvious mistakes. Disciplined about keeping a journal, although sometimes I can't explain to myself why I did this or that. I have, however, reached the point where I can recognize a limited number of relatively attractive opportunities, and have had overall good fortune with those. I'm patient, and wait until I see opportunities that appear clear to me.

I know next to nothing about the instruments themselves. While I have a solid understanding of statistics, I haven't studied any indicators. I don't read books about trading methods, and never watch investment shows on TV.

I intend to start live trading within the next 2 or 3 weeks.

My question: Is my focus solely on the chart and price action adequate, or do you suggest expanding my study to get a broader understanding of trading and different approaches to trading?

Kind regards and thanks!

Kind regards!!
Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #11 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,960 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,433 given, 98,154 received

Al Brooks will be on futures.io (formerly BMT) Tuesday, June 4th @ 4:30 PM Eastern as part of our special 4-year anniversary. We are also giving away 10 autographed books during that event, and have a total of 15 events planned for June.

More info:


Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 3 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #12 (permalink)
 siger 
Geneva Switzerland
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: ES
 
Posts: 5 since May 2012
Thanks: 3 given, 2 received

Dr Brooks,

I am currently studying your books that I find extremely interesting (and dense).

You mentioned that you spend 10,000 hours or so working on indicators at the beginning before switching to price action.

I come from a systematic background and, as you, I am moving a bit away from it, partly because I found that "systematic setups" are often too simple to reflect the complexity of the market, or, conversely, because it would take an extremely complex program to reflect realistic setups.

But haven't you tried to mix both approaches?

I mean, being able to rely on solid backtests results is something definitively valuable.
It helps find out if the setups are really EV+ or if, as you mentioned for instance for 1-minute scalping, they are just EV- games in disguise.

Moreover, when you advise beginners to "print charts" and look if a setup works, aren't they just performing a kind of "swallow but complex" form of backtest? (with the downside being that they just remember when the setup was working and tend to forget all the failed ones?)

Personally, that's the road I am trying now. Will see where it leads.

Thanks again for sharing your knowledge with us.

Kind regards.

The following user says Thank You to siger for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #13 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,960 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,433 given, 98,154 received

I am closing this AMA thread due to lack of user participation.

Al Brooks will continue to be invited back to futures.io (formerly BMT) to give educational webinars on a variety of trading topics. You can find those in the Webinars section. But it seems the users (and Al) prefer that venue over the AMA thread in this particular case, so I am closing this thread as of now.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > Al Brooks - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Last Updated on December 3, 2013


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

NinjaTrader Indicator Challenge!

Ongoing
 

Journal Challenge w/$1,800 in prizes!

April
 

Seven Trading Mistakes Solved With Smart Trading Tools w/Brannigan Barrett

Elite only
     



Copyright © 2021 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts