Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - futures io
futures io futures trading



Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated by Big Mike
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Tradervue with 49 posts (71 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 44 posts (31 thanks)
    3. looks_3 learning0101 with 4 posts (1 thanks)
    4. looks_4 VinceVirgil with 2 posts (1 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one Tradervue with 1.4 thanks per post
    2. looks_two jinhar with 1.0 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 0.7 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 VinceVirgil with 0.5 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 22,678 views
    2. thumb_up 108 thanks given
    3. group 24 followers
    1. forum 108 replies
    2. attach_file 3 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 100,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #51 (permalink)
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Big Mike View Post
Please add VWAP as a custom study

This one's a super popular request. The issue we ran into at first was that everyone who asked for it had a different idea about what VWAP timeframe they wanted (e.g. intraday, 2-day, 5-day, etc). It's unlikely we'll add of them, but rather just add the intraday version.

What we have on the to-do list right now is a VWAP that is calculated from the start of the trading day (regular session only for stocks), and it would be shown for intraday trades only. And for purposes of this calculation, a futures "day" would be the trading day from yesterday afternoon's open to today's afternoon close.

Would that cover what you were looking for?

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to Tradervue for this post:

 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
Is anyone actually making money?
190 thanks
Micro account vs Funded account (combine)
53 thanks
Are sharks watching on the other side?
32 thanks
Market profile entries/exits
24 thanks
Spoo-nalysis ES e-mini futures S&P 500
22 thanks
 
(login for full post details)
  #52 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,922 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,575 received


Tradervue View Post
In the embed code you use:

<script src='http://www.tradervue.com/sharedt.js?id=1786859'></script>

try adding a "width=" to the end of the url, like this:

<script src='http://www.tradervue.com/sharedt.js?id=1786859&width=464'></script>

Max width is 464px - same max width that our widget allows.

Thanks, that helped a lot.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #53 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,922 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,575 received



Tradervue View Post
This one's a super popular request. The issue we ran into at first was that everyone who asked for it had a different idea about what VWAP timeframe they wanted (e.g. intraday, 2-day, 5-day, etc). It's unlikely we'll add of them, but rather just add the intraday version.

What we have on the to-do list right now is a VWAP that is calculated from the start of the trading day (regular session only for stocks), and it would be shown for intraday trades only. And for purposes of this calculation, a futures "day" would be the trading day from yesterday afternoon's open to today's afternoon close.

Would that cover what you were looking for?

Start with the session VWAP based on 1-minute granularity. The new session for the ES begins at 6:00PM eastern time. For example:

Thursday's session: start time = 6:00pm ET Wednesday, end time = 5:15pm ET Thursday.

From there you can add a weekly VWAP, but I think the daily session VWAP will cover 90% of what people want if I had to guess.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #54 (permalink)
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Tradervue View Post
We might be able to add another option to change the href target - we can't do this by default, as not everyone wants this, but if we add an option you could again perhaps add it to the embed script you use here. Let me take a look at this later this afternoon and see what I can do.

Okey dokey - this is in now. If &t=b to the URL, the links will open in a new window/tab. Your new embed code should look something like this:

<script src='http://www.tradervue.com/sharedt.js?id=1786859&width=464&t=b'></script>

Also FYI, the big space between your avatar and the price chart is where an excerpt of the trade's notes are shown, if you add notes to the trade. Here's an example showing a trade with notes:

 
 

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following 2 users say Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #55 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,922 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,575 received

Would it be possible to allow importing of the daily trade report that InteractiveBroker sends out?

I can forward a couple of examples to you via email if you need them. They are HTML, but extremely simple formatting.

I am using your bookmark javascript widget, but the problem is I have to login to IB every day to do that, which requires token authentication, generate the report, download, etc. And that report isn't available until midnight.

It would be far easier if I could take the email that IB sends immediately on the close, where they attach the daily log, and then import that directly.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #56 (permalink)
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Big Mike View Post
Would it be possible to allow importing of the daily trade report that InteractiveBroker sends out?

I can forward a couple of examples to you via email if you need them. They are HTML, but extremely simple formatting.

I am using your bookmark javascript widget, but the problem is I have to login to IB every day to do that, which requires token authentication, generate the report, download, etc. And that report isn't available until midnight.

It would be far easier if I could take the email that IB sends immediately on the close, where they attach the daily log, and then import that directly.

Happy to take a look - forward over the email, and I can see what it looks like.

Even better, though, we've had some folks write some code to get trade data out of the IB desktop, and automatically import it into Tradervue using our API in near real time. If that's of interest, our API docs are here:

https://github.com/tradervue/api-docs

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following 2 users say Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #57 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,922 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,575 received


Tradervue View Post
Happy to take a look - forward over the email, and I can see what it looks like.

Even better, though, we've had some folks write some code to get trade data out of the IB desktop, and automatically import it into Tradervue using our API in near real time. If that's of interest, our API docs are here:

https://github.com/tradervue/api-docs

Nicely done. I've sent the email to you. I'm not in programming mode right now, so would prefer a solution from you

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #58 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,922 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,575 received

What does time 'adjusted' mean? These are all direct imports from IB, I've not adjusted anything. If I click 'detail', all the time stamps seem accurate to me.



And why is there no PnL graph on the top right?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #59 (permalink)
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Big Mike View Post
What does time 'adjusted' mean? These are all direct imports from IB, I've not adjusted anything. If I click 'detail', all the time stamps seem accurate to me.


"Adjusted" means it's a multi-day trade that was adjusted on this day (as opposed to opened or closed). Here's a blog post describing in detail how Tradervue handles multi-day trades and P&L realization:

Swing trades in Tradervue | Tradervue Blog


Big Mike View Post
And why is there no PnL graph on the top right?

The running P&L charts only show data from intraday trades; since you didn't have any on this day, there's no chart.

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following 2 users say Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #60 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,922 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,588 given, 94,575 received


Greg, I was wondering if you could come up with a way to show performance on a slider that would show "what-if" scenarios if a trade had been entered earlier or later, or if the exit had been earlier or later.

Say for example, if the last 100 trades had been exited 5 minutes, 30 minutes, or 1 hour later than they were. What would happen to performance?

I felt like @Tradervue was in a good position to attempt this, because you have the real-time market data to go along with the executions.

My goal in such an exercise would be to compare my actual performance against a hypothetical performance, to see if I am timing the market well.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


July 6, 2018


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

Every journal equals ten meals for the hungry

Now
     



Copyright © 2020 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts