Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - futures io
futures io



Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Tradervue with 49 posts (71 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 44 posts (31 thanks)
    3. looks_3 learning0101 with 4 posts (1 thanks)
    4. looks_4 VinceVirgil with 2 posts (1 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one Tradervue with 1.4 thanks per post
    2. looks_two jinhar with 1 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 0.7 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 VinceVirgil with 0.5 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 31,469 views
    2. thumb_up 108 thanks given
    3. group 22 followers
    1. forum 108 posts
    2. attach_file 3 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 150,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #31 (permalink)
 Futures Operator 
New York, NY
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Sierra Chart, thinkorswim
Broker: Amp-Rithmic/TT, IB
Trading: CL, GC, NQ
 
Posts: 592 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 1,982 given, 256 received

Hi Greg,

Can Tradervue reflect BE/scratch/small loss trades separately in win rate calcs?

Also, can it track each individual leg of a trade when scaling in or out for futures?

Follow me on Twitter

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Finding the Lowest Price and its Location in a Variable …
ThinkOrSwim
Blackbird
Traders Hideout
IKYP - How I solved email troubles on VPS
NinjaTrader
Asking Wall Street Billionaire for Investment Advice
Psychology and Money Management
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
1 Tick from the ES/Per day
21 thanks
What if a broker declare bankruptcy!!! Ftx first whose next?
14 thanks
HFT Algo: anyone doing HFT here?
8 thanks
commission
7 thanks
Inner Circle Trading
6 thanks
 
(login for full post details)
  #32 (permalink)
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Futures Operator View Post
Can Tradervue reflect BE/scratch/small loss trades separately in win rate calcs?

It does break out scratch trades, defined as a trade that has a zero P&L. There isn't special handling for trades with a "small" loss at the moment - they will be considered to be a regular win or a loss.


Futures Operator View Post
Also, can it track each individual leg of a trade when scaling in or out for futures?

Yes. Well, yes for my interpretation of the question, anyway.

Suppose you do the following:

10:00 buy 1 ESH4
10:07 buy 1 ESH4
10:15 sell 2 ESH4

Those three executions will all get grouped into one logical trade; stats like position MFE/MAE and such will be calculated to take into account the fact that you scaled in.

The individual execution detail is maintained as well - you can always see your individual buys and sells if you want to.

Hopefully that answers your question - if I totally missed the point, let me know!

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #33 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,183 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,682 given, 99,713 received




@Tradervue Greg,

Is this based on open or close date of the trade? Or is it a running PnL by day, regardless of open/close execution?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #34 (permalink)
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Big Mike View Post

Is this based on open or close date of the trade? Or is it a running PnL by day, regardless of open/close execution?

Mike

That particular report shows P&L based on the entry day of each trade.

And so you don't have to wait for me in the future , all of the reports have a Help link at the bottom of the page; in those help pages we try to be as specific as possible with respect to what exactly is being shown.

The Overview reports show realized P&L, as do the cumulative P&L and cumulative drawdown reports on the Detailed tab; most of the other reports show P&L allocated to the trade entry date.

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #35 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,183 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,682 given, 99,713 received

Is there a way to change between FIFO and LIFO?

Sent from my phone

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #36 (permalink)
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Big Mike View Post
Is there a way to change between FIFO and LIFO?

No - Tradervue always calculates realized P&L on a FIFO basis.

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #37 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,183 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,682 given, 99,713 received

Is it possible to get a long/short breakdown so one could look at their performance based on the type of trade?

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #38 (permalink)
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Big Mike View Post
Is it possible to get a long/short breakdown so one could look at their performance based on the type of trade?

Yep - there are two ways to do this.

First, if you just want to view either long or short by themselves, you can use the filter bar to select the trades you want to see; from the "side" dropdown, select either long or short, then click "Filter". Once you do that, you can use any of the reports to view performance for just the selected trades.

Or, if you want to see long and short compared side-by-side on the same reports, then go to the Reports View, Compare tab, and select "Long vs Short" in the quick view menu at the top.

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following 2 users say Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #39 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 50,183 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,682 given, 99,713 received


Tradervue View Post
Yep - there are two ways to do this.

I love you.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #40 (permalink)
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received



Big Mike View Post
I love you.

Aw, shucks.

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Last Updated on July 6, 2018


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

NinjaTrader Indicator Challenge!

Ongoing
     



Copyright © 2022 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada), info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts