Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - futures io
futures io



Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Discussion in Trading Reviews and Vendors

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Tradervue with 49 posts (71 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 44 posts (31 thanks)
    3. looks_3 learning0101 with 4 posts (1 thanks)
    4. looks_4 VinceVirgil with 2 posts (1 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one Tradervue with 1.4 thanks per post
    2. looks_two omni72 with 1 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 0.7 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 learning0101 with 0.3 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 25,759 views
    2. thumb_up 108 thanks given
    3. group 24 followers
    1. forum 108 posts
    2. attach_file 3 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 125,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

Closed Thread
 
Search this Thread
 

Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

(login for full post details)
  #101 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,982 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,458 given, 98,233 received

Please consider adding a Monte Carlo analysis. Not huge priority just a convenience.

Sent from my phone

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #102 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,982 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,458 given, 98,233 received

Please consider adding a "Trade Size" column in the trade view (basically Volume/2, or actual entry size - better known as a round-turn). My mind has a hard time focusing on total volume instead of my actual trade size.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
 
(login for full post details)
  #103 (permalink)
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Big Mike View Post
Please consider adding a "Trade Size" column in the trade view (basically Volume/2, or actual entry size - better known as a round-turn). My mind has a hard time focusing on total volume instead of my actual trade size.

The reasoning behind only showing volume is for scenarios like the following. Imagine you buy 100 shares, and you get stopped out. But a few seconds later, you decide you were right the first time, and buy 100 again. Later in the day, you sell. It's all one logical "trade", so you've grouped the executions together.

Total volume is 400 shares - which everyone understands.

"Entry size", in this case, would be 200 shares - those on the entry side. The problem is, 200 shares isn't really relevant in any useful way. Sure, you bought 200 in total, but not together, and you didn't even hold them at the same time.

There are similar issues when you're scaling in and out of a trade - just showing entry-side volume may or may not represent anything useful. For example - buy 1000, sell 900, buy 1000, sell 1100. Buy-side volume is 2000, but largest holding was only 1100. But volume of 4000 makes sense to everyone.

So for these reasons, we show total volume instead.

That said - I understand and appreciate what you're asking for, and I've made a note of it.

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
 
(login for full post details)
  #104 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,982 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,458 given, 98,233 received

I simply want to know what size I used to reach my PnL and right now I have to divide everything in half. Sounds simple but it makes my brain hurt

Sent from my phone

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #105 (permalink)
 ratfink 
Birmingham UK
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: TST/Rithmic
Trading: YM/Gold
 
ratfink's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,651 since Dec 2012
Thanks: 17,422 given, 8,403 received


Tradervue View Post
There are similar issues when you're scaling in and out of a trade - just showing entry-side volume may or may not represent anything useful. For example - buy 1000, sell 900, buy 1000, sell 1100. Buy-side volume is 2000, but largest holding was only 1100. But volume of 4000 makes sense to everyone.

So for these reasons, we show total volume instead.

Sorry to disagree completely, but I think 'volume' in that sense only makes actual sense as a measure of the market's level of activity - it is not relevant to us as individual traders as a way to gauge a single trade. It rather seems to me that somebody thought of a way to do it like that a while back and now looks for reasons to continue to do it that way... imho.

Travel Well
Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
(login for full post details)
  #106 (permalink)
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


Big Mike View Post
Please add VWAP as a custom study

I'm excited to tell you all that we've added intraday VWAP as an available study on intraday charts in Tradervue!

VWAP now available on charts | Tradervue Blog

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following 2 users say Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #107 (permalink)
 hoolio 
Melbourne, Australia
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8, Multicharts,Sierra
Broker: CQG, IB
Trading: YM,CL,GC,6E,6J
 
Posts: 97 since Mar 2013
Thanks: 83 given, 60 received

Hi Greg,

Is there a place within your account you can see all the tags you've ever created and delete some of those tags there ?

I am thinking of layering with tags

- eg using a PB tag and accompanying it with another tag such as shallow or deep (this is an arbitrary example) but it would be good later on to go back and see all the tags you created. It would also help to see if you've created something really similar before.

 
(login for full post details)
  #108 (permalink)
 Tradervue 
Denver, CO
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Lightspeed, Tradervue
Trading: Stocks
 
Tradervue's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since May 2012
Thanks: 12 given, 89 received


hoolio View Post
Hi Greg,

Is there a place within your account you can see all the tags you've ever created and delete some of those tags there ?

You can see all of your tags by clearing the filter, and then going to Reports View / Tag Breakdown tab.

To delete a tag, you simply need to remove it from all trades that are using it. You can use the bulk editor to do this easily:

Bulk editing trades | Tradervue Blog

So for example, say you wanted to delete the tag "abc". You could:

1. Use the filter bar to display only trades with abc

2. Use the bulk editor to delete the abc tag from all of those trades

The tag will be removed from your trades, and if it's no longer used by any trades, it will no longer display in the tag auto-completion lists.

If you have any questions about Tradervue, please send me a Private Message or use the BMT "Ask Me Anything" thread.
Follow me on Twitter
The following user says Thank You to Tradervue for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #109 (permalink)
 Big Mike 
Site Administrator
Swing Trader
Data Scientist & DevOps
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom solution
Trading: Futures & Crypto
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,982 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 32,458 given, 98,233 received

Hi guys,

This thread is now closed. These days, we reserve AMA threads only for site sponsors.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/

Visit other sites? Please spread the word about your experience with our community!
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Started this thread

Closed Thread

futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > Tradervue's Greg Reinacker (CEO) - Ask Me Anything (AMA)


Last Updated on July 6, 2018


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

NinjaTrader Indicator Challenge!

Ongoing
 

Journal Challenge w/$1,800 in prizes!

April

Seven Trading Mistakes Solved With Smart Trading Tools w/Brannigan Barrett

Elite only
     



Copyright © 2021 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts