The Intentional Trader - Tony Peterson (www.theintentionaltrader.com)
futures io futures trading



The Intentional Trader - Tony Peterson (www.theintentionaltrader.com)


Trading Reviews and Vendors

Created August 26th 2011 by Keithh
Updated March 6th 2020 by lightsun47
looks_oneDBraun126 with 4 posts (4 thanks)
looks_twoyumcha with 4 posts (2 thanks)
looks_3forgiven with 3 posts (2 thanks)
looks_4forrestang with 2 posts (17 thanks)
 
trending_up27,454 views
thumb_up60 thanks given
forum43 replies
attach_file0 attachments



Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 100,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors Ė all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you donít need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

 
 
Thread Tools
 

The Intentional Trader - Tony Peterson (www.theintentionaltrader.com)

 
AKL
 
Trading Experience: Intermediate
Platform: MultiCharts
Broker/Data: IQ Feed
Favorite Futures: Currency Futures
 
Posts: 17 since Apr 2011
Thanks: 4 given, 10 received

The Intentional Trader - Tony Peterson (www.theintentionaltrader.com)

Any one have any experience with this outfit:
Day Trade with Intention

There's some reviews on forex peace army and investimonials, but they read as a bit too promotional IMO.

Their trade room performance page shows a 75 - 85% win rate.

The indicator called speedtick caught my interest as it measures order flow. Anything similar on futures.io (formerly BMT)?

The strategies used look to be a mix of support and resistance, overbought/sold, and trend pull backs.

The following 3 users say Thank You to Keithh for this post:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Two Recent Moving Average Strategy Articles
Stocks and ETFs
Need help to code these studies
ThinkOrSwim
Remek! Market Scanner Pro
NinjaTrader
Drummond Geometry Inquiry
Trading Reviews and Vendors
Medved Trader?
Platforms and Indicators
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
Recession? Depression? Bailout!
210 thanks
ES futures Spoo-nalysis SP500/SPX
204 thanks
Coronavirus COVID-19
161 thanks
Understanding Footprint Charts / Number bars
70 thanks
Gold Futures (GC) main discussion
42 thanks
 
 
toronto,ontaio
 
 
Posts: 973 since May 2010

Interesting

The Heads Up indicator looks interesting..

Bugs

 
 
Belcher, LA
 
Trading Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja
Broker/Data: TradeFutures4less/CQG
Favorite Futures: CL
 
stifland's Avatar
 
Posts: 107 since Feb 2010
Thanks: 107 given, 114 received

Well, I have


I have been with Tony for about 15 months. You won't find a more honest or hard-working guy(vendor) out there IMO. I have been thru the mill with many of them. Tony helped me turn 10 years of losing into consistent success. his indicators are different and signals easy to see, but more importantly he teaches patience and waiting for them to setup. I think he has gone to a trial for a small fee to get a look at the room, but I can vouch for the accuracy of the Trade log. Hope this helps.

Visit my Facebook
The following 8 users say Thank You to stifland for this post:
 
 
Chicago IL
 
Trading Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja, MT4, Matlab
Broker/Data: CQG, AMP, MB, DTN
Favorite Futures: E/U, G/U
 
forrestang's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,040 since Jun 2010
Thanks: 228 given, 698 received

I was in this room for a few months at one point. As mentioned above, Tony is a really great guy, and at the very least he IS willing to spend ample amounts of one on one time with participants of the room. So one thing I would never say is that there is a lack of support.

He has some interesting ways of trying to coach one into success. Namely attempting to get one used to the idea of winning, by attempting to get you to have 'winning days.' No matter how big or small. Not a bad way to look at things. As mentioned above, he really does preach about PATIENCE.

There was also a detailed trade journal the user filled out every day. And Tony would even go through and make comments on your performance at the end of the day.

But..... in the end there is nothing special about any of the indicators or the system that runs in the background. You can simulate similar trading results by putting together some system on your own. Also, the fills the strategy takes aren't realistic, as it fills once the target is touched, when YOU likely will need a tic through it to get an actual fill. I say this at the time I was using it, things may have changed by now? (They were using TS during the time I was there)

Also, with the trade performance, you have no actual way of knowing whether or not this is ACTUAL trade performance of the head trader. The trades are never commented on prior to the trade being taken, only AFTER the trade has either closed or well in profit. So I was never able to really believe it for myself. So with that aspect of it, it is like every other trading room I have ever been in.

When I was there, the system was that of a small target with a bigger stop. There were also no real concrete rules, so this IS a discretionary system. You still pick which signals to take. In the end, it is up to the user to really figure out a way to make it profitable. And with that, just like everything else, imo there really is no point in paying for it.

I don't know what it costs now, but the time I was there imo it was really expensive for what you get out of it. In the end, I would suggest that the guys are really nice people that produce a good atmosphere as far as trading goes, and if it where free, I'd probably hang around. But if someone asks me if I think it's something worth paying for, I would say "No Way."

----EDIT----
Also let me append to my comments with, just because I didn't find value in it doesn't mean someone else won't.


Last edited by forrestang; September 11th, 2011 at 04:49 PM.
The following 9 users say Thank You to forrestang for this post:
 
 
Woodstock
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: CL, GC, TF, ES, 6E
 
Posts: 2 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 0 given, 1 received

Correcting some misinformation

Hi Forrest. Thank you for the kind words and I am glad you remember me and the folks from the room fondly.

I rarely have time to read or write in forums but a room member brought your post to my attention and felt that it was inaccurate in many ways. I hope you don't mind if I straighten out some of your mistakes or out of date information. I encourage you to revisit our trade room or attend one of our training sessions or webinars in the near future so that you can write reviews based on current information. I do not believe you are doing justice to the good folks here that are looking for an informed opinion.



Quoting 
But..... in the end there is nothing special about any of the indicators or the system that runs in the background. You can simulate similar trading results by putting together some system on your own. Also, the fills the strategy takes aren't realistic, as it fills once the target is touched, when YOU likely will need a tic through it to get an actual fill. I say this at the time I was using it, things may have changed by now? (They were using TS during the time I was there)



Forest, we have multiple indicators that were written in house and exist NOWHERE ELSE. True that we use support and resistance pivots and have created a new set of them to help make our trade setups easier to see and trade. But we use the same algorithms that the rest of the industry uses to produce the lines. Our Intentional Entries, SpeedTick, Ricochet, Pull Back Alert, and several others are unique and cannot be just "put together" to create anything remotely similar.

The strategy fills are NOT INTENDED, nor where they EVER INTENDED, to be a signal generator that you just blindly trade. The strategy (now known as the Intentional Entries because of this misunderstanding by you and a few others) is a collection of indicators that generate a buy/sell signal when they are all in confluence. This signal is then qualified using support and resistance to make sure that you are not trading right into a strong line. I take full responsibility for you not knowing or understanding this. Honestly, I do not know or understand how you could have been in the room for a couple of months and not heard that a few dozen times. It was my job to make sure that everyone knew how to trade the IE, and on this apparently I failed you.



Quoting 
Also, with the trade performance, you have no actual way of knowing whether or not this is ACTUAL trade performance of the head trader. The trades are never commented on prior to the trade being taken, only AFTER the trade has either closed or well in profit. So I was never able to really believe it for myself. So with that aspect of it, it is like every other trading room I have ever been in.

It has been nearly a year since you were in the room so again your information is extremely out of date. You might go to our website and go to the videos tab. There I have full days of trading posted, raw and uncut just as if you were sitting in the room with us. I do not review or edit these videos as I do not have time. They are simply to let people get a feel for how we call trades out and see that I do call them out before hand, will talk through the trade as I can, and go over the trades afterwards. My online trade log is live and many of the room members have it up on their screens to compare my trades to their own. If I EVER shilled a trade and lied about entry or exit, they would crucify me on the spot. So there are dozens of people that will disagree with you on this.



Quoting 
When I was there, the system was that of a small target with a bigger stop. There were also no real concrete rules, so this IS a discretionary system. You still pick which signals to take. In the end, it is up to the user to really figure out a way to make it profitable. And with that, just like everything else, imo there really is no point in paying for it.



Again this is a failure on my part. We have, and have ALWAYS had concrete rules. I think a visit to our videos (or webinars tab) or trade room will help clear you up on that. You might pay special attention to the video on risk level.

Yes, this IS a discretionary system. Yes, I do not push the button for you so obviously you will pick which signals to take based on your own level of risk and experience. If you were looking for a signal service I am not sure why you stayed for as long as you did. We teach people how to trade our system and provide indicators for them to use that they would otherwise have to purchase from us and install and use on their own computers. I guess that is what people pay for. BTW...most of the traders that were in the room when you were there a year ago are still there...and happily paying each month.


Quoting 
I don't know what it costs now, but the time I was there imo it was really expensive for what you get out of it. In the end, I would suggest that the guys are really nice people that produce a good atmosphere as far as trading goes, and if it where free, I'd probably hang around. But if someone asks me if I think it's something worth paying for, I would say "No Way."



Well I definitely cannot have issue with the your opinion of the atmosphere and again, thank you for your gracious compliment. I think though, that the folks here at Big Mike's deserve an informed opinion based on current information. Yours is nearly a year old, which really does not help anyone. You have helped me however. I MUST do a better job of explaining some things that maybe you did not understand. There is a good chance there were others that did not understand that were not as forthcoming as you were and I hate that I may have failed them as well. I am forever trying to get better at my job and I will take this information and use it to improve my teaching skills.

I wish you nothing but great success in your trading.

The following 9 users say Thank You to TPeterson1055 for this post:
 
 
Chicago IL
 
Trading Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja, MT4, Matlab
Broker/Data: CQG, AMP, MB, DTN
Favorite Futures: E/U, G/U
 
forrestang's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,040 since Jun 2010
Thanks: 228 given, 698 received

Initially, I was going to respond in a different way, particularly to all the apparent 'mis-truths' I must be shouting, and to all the insults that you were trying to pass off in a more..... how can I put it, tactful manner.

Part of the ROE here is not to personally attack other members, or respond in an way that may construed in an overtly negative way to others. I can already see how this thread will go.

So I will simply say, MY review and what I got out of the room is posted. I'm sure some of your other members will chime in about their satisfaction. As I mentioned above, just because I personally didn't find any value, doesn't mean others won't.

So again as I said in our chats recently, I wish you the best, and I am glad you have those that are happy with your service.

Forrest

The following 8 users say Thank You to forrestang for this post:
 
 
AKL
 
Trading Experience: Intermediate
Platform: MultiCharts
Broker/Data: IQ Feed
Favorite Futures: Currency Futures
 
Posts: 17 since Apr 2011
Thanks: 4 given, 10 received

Thanks for the replies. I checked out the room for two weeks on a trial.

I like Tony’s approach to trading and think it’s a good room to learn how to scalp. His teaching style is pleasant and his system does find winning trades. I kind of figured out what the indicators where showing… no real secrets there IMO. I do like the way they show on the bar. All too often in my trading I’ll miss a condition on a sub window indicator, but with Tony’s indicators it's more obvious.

The indis are for NT, so not something I can benefit from having switched to MultiCharts.

Overall I picked up a few new ideas that I hadn’t considered before, so it was worth the time spent.


Last edited by Keithh; September 16th, 2011 at 07:55 PM.
The following user says Thank You to Keithh for this post:
 
 
Atlanta, GA USA
 
Trading Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader (eod), Tradestation
Favorite Futures: E-Mini Futures, Forex
 
Posts: 17 since Sep 2011
Thanks: 13 given, 6 received


TPeterson1055 View Post
You might go to our website and go to the videos tab. There I have full days of trading posted, raw and uncut just as if you were sitting in the room with us. I do not review or edit these videos as I do not have time. They are simply to let people get a feel for how we call trades out and see that I do call them out before hand, will talk through the trade as I can, and go over the trades afterwards.

Tony, can you point me to the link where I can see the full day videos you refer to here? I did not see it at your site.

Thanks, Dennis

 
 
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: SPX, Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 48,196 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 30,786 given, 92,144 received


DBraun126 View Post
Tony, can you point me to the link where I can see the full day videos you refer to here? I did not see it at your site.

Thanks, Dennis

Send a private message, vendors are not allowed to post such links on the forum.

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member (see why)

Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal
 
 
Atlanta, GA USA
 
Trading Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader (eod), Tradestation
Favorite Futures: E-Mini Futures, Forex
 
Posts: 17 since Sep 2011
Thanks: 13 given, 6 received

Intentional Trade Room


I decided to go ahead and sign up for a month trial in The Intentional Trader's trading room, and (after that time elapsed) have now signed-up for a second month there.

I've tried several trading rooms with varying approaches over the past few years, but I've not found one better than this. Tony's indicators are unique in displaying the confluence of indicator-signals he looks for right on the price chart, and he is very disciplined about - and teaches - "waiting for the bus," as he puts it. He doesn't trade market opens or news.

Sometimes a potential set up will present itself, but he explains why he's NOT interested in taking the particular trade.

In my month in the room so far, I've observed that he's very willing to spend extra time and effort with individual participants, making himself available evenings on Skype for example, and as for his trade log, he only posts the trades that he calls in advance. I have found this to be consistently true, but occasionally price will move too quick to announce beforehand, and he doesn't post those trades. That doesn't happen very often, though, usually he'll tell you what he's watching and why.

So, that's been my experience in IT's trading room so far. I had been following his trade log for a while beforehand, and I'm glad I finally decided to check his room out.

Dennis

The following 4 users say Thank You to DBraun126 for this post:

 



futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors > The Intentional Trader - Tony Peterson (www.theintentionaltrader.com)
Thread Tools



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)
 

futures io is celebrating 10-years w/ over $18,000 in prizes!

Right now
 

$250 Amazon Gift Cards with our "Thanks Contest" challenge!

Right now
 

Social Media Predictive Data for Traders w/Joe Gits @ SMA [and Lime Brokerage]

Apr 9
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
www.theoilmoney.com and www.eminipivottrading.com futurestrader1 Trading Reviews and Vendors 24 April 4th, 2017 08:28 PM
YTC Price Action Trader (www.ytcpriceactiontrader.com) Adamus Trading Reviews and Vendors 94 September 8th, 2015 01:01 AM
Trader Clutch (www.traderclutch.com) gulabv Trading Reviews and Vendors 8 January 11th, 2011 04:35 PM
Target Trader (www.proequitytrader.com) puppeye Trading Reviews and Vendors 37 October 9th, 2010 02:11 AM
Net Picks.com's Seven Summits Trader (www.sevensummitstrader.com) ceramictilepro Trading Reviews and Vendors 5 October 5th, 2010 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 PM. (this page content is cached, log in for real-time version)

Copyright © 2020 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts