NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

Anyone else have overtrading issues?

Discussion in Traders Hideout

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Keenbreathy with 3 posts (13 thanks)
    2. looks_two tradepips with 3 posts (9 thanks)
    3. looks_3 glennts with 2 posts (9 thanks)
    4. looks_4 HiLatencyTRDR HLT with 2 posts (1 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one glennts with 4.5 thanks per post
    2. looks_two Keenbreathy with 4.3 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Anagami with 4 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 tradepips with 3 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 3,637 views
    2. thumb_up 59 thanks given
    3. group 10 followers
    1. forum 18 posts
    2. attach_file 0 attachments

Search this Thread

Anyone else have overtrading issues?

Keenbreathy 
Philadelphia, PA

Experience: Beginner
Platform: Tradovate,NinjaTrader
Trading: Futures
Thanks Given: 18
Thanks Received: 20

Hello everyone.

I have been trading futures for about six months now and keep having a consistent problem. Overtrading. Perhaps it is just too easy to press that button, especially when I am already up for the day. I'm very curious to hear if other have had the same problem and how they dealt with it. Overtrading hurts my trading more than anything else. It get even worse when I take a big hit and think that I'll somehow be able to dig myself out quicker. It is an interesting phenomenon for me to notice exactly what I'm doing wrong, yet be almost powerless to the emotions. So my questions follow. My current strategy consists of pullback in a trending market and scalping between high volume nodes in a sideways market. Today I took 66 trades and it was a trending market. I know this is way too much.

Is this something that just takes time and I'm being unreasonable to think it an easy fix?

Does anyone else have this issue and how do they deal with it?