NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

Murtaugh's Trading Journal

Discussion in Trading Journals

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Murtaugh with 11 posts (8 thanks)
    2. looks_two bobwest with 3 posts (12 thanks)
    3. looks_3 tr8er with 1 posts (2 thanks)
    4. looks_4 josh with 1 posts (7 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one josh with 7 thanks per post
    2. looks_two bobwest with 4 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Scalpingtrader with 4 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 Murtaugh with 0.7 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 2,572 views
    2. thumb_up 33 thanks given
    3. group 1 followers
    1. forum 16 posts
    2. attach_file 0 attachments

Search this Thread

Murtaugh's Trading Journal

Murtaugh
Newark, Delaware, United States of America

Thanks Given: 7
Thanks Received: 10

Hello, folks. I am a student looking to make trading my primary source of income over time. After having some success investing in GameStop in September of last year, I gradually shifted to trading options, then SPY options, then futures.

I've participated in Topstep and Earn2Trade's programs with little success.

After a pretty bad last three weeks, in which I lost ~48% of the initial deposit in my futures account, I am starting a trading journal here so I can keep myself accountable.

I know what my primary issue is, which is a lack of confidence in myself and my positions, even though, statistically, I am correct more often than not. This leads to me exiting positions early and not reversing my positions when I feel I should. I've lost far more money from hesitation and failing to listen to my intuition than straight up taking incorrect trades.

I have a tendency to revenge trade, which I have been working on curbing, and have begun setting myself stricter rules.