NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

:$ :$ :$ REALLY DUMB FUTURE question

Discussion in Traders Hideout

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one noobforlyfe with 18 posts (5 thanks)
    2. looks_two xplorer with 6 posts (9 thanks)
    3. looks_3 HoopyTrading with 4 posts (3 thanks)
    4. looks_4 Allin with 4 posts (4 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one bobwest with 4.3 thanks per post
    2. looks_two metalhe4der with 3 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 xplorer with 1.5 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 noobforlyfe with 0.3 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 10,594 views
    2. thumb_up 54 thanks given
    3. group 6 followers
    1. forum 44 posts
    2. attach_file 1 attachments

Search this Thread

:$ :$ :$ REALLY DUMB FUTURE question

noobforlyfe 
Toronto , Ontario, Canada

Experience: Beginner
Platform: Sierra Chart, SC
Trading: Emini ES, CL, USD/CAD
Thanks Given: 1,386
Thanks Received: 727

Hi,

My name is John, I am EXTREMELY new to this trading futures market as I have been drawn in by the potential to make money if done right and properly.

One thing I don't clearly understand is how can brokers allow you to open up a trading account with only $400-1000 dollars?

When I looked at the ES chart, the price is 2000+, how the heck can you trade something worth that much with only 400 dollars in your trading account?

I have heard about this margin thing but not quite sure, but in simple english, if i put up the 400, someone (most likely the broker) must be putting up the other 1600 in order for me to buy 1 contract.

But then as I have read, they charge interest on the money they put in, so like where do you find the interest rates for like Ninjatrader.

If you wanted to just trade with your own money and not pay a single penny in interest or borrow any penny at all, do you need to have the amount 1 contract goes for right now in the ES market?

Thanks for taking the time to read my thread. Please help me.

John