NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

Newbie seeks new Porsche via day trading. See what happens.

Discussion in Trading Journals

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Carrerain4 with 103 posts (42 thanks)
    2. looks_two Underexposed with 30 posts (43 thanks)
    3. looks_3 tturner86 with 21 posts (32 thanks)
    4. looks_4 deaddog with 19 posts (25 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one tigertrader with 8 thanks per post
    2. looks_two tturner86 with 1.5 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Underexposed with 1.4 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 Carrerain4 with 0.4 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 39,516 views
    2. thumb_up 313 thanks given
    3. group 21 followers
    1. forum 263 posts
    2. attach_file 29 attachments

Search this Thread

Newbie seeks new Porsche via day trading. See what happens.

Carrerain4
Melbourne FL, USA

Thanks Given: 11
Thanks Received: 49

I've decided to journal my adventure.

I'm new to trading. Not RAW brand new, never ever held a stock in my life new, but new enough.

My adventure will be to start with a VERY limited fund and day trade my way up with it.

I'm starting with a mere 1700 dollars in real money.

I use market games to practice strategies and (hopefully) learn to avoid all the worst mistakes before putting real money into the market.

I trade via Vanguard (for now) and use TC2000 for stock screening and charting.

I schedule just one trading session per week as I have only one free day during the work week, and for now that's
Friday even though I know that Friday is not the optimal day to trade. Until I can change around my off day, that's
just something I have to live with.

I've traded on two days so far, and split my 1700 dollars to do those two trades on two separate days. Those were
last week and were my first experiments.

In summary, here's what happened.

First trade: 7/10/14

Bought 213 shares of NVAX at $4.41/share
Sold 213 shares of NVAX at $4.6043/share