HitTheCity 
Melbourne

Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: Forex
Thanks Given: 78
Thanks Received: 46

Hi all,

I've been trading strictly automated systems on Spot FX for a little under 18 months now. I've never really done any discretionary trading, or really been interested in it, up until recently. But over the last month, I've been feeling a little burnt out with my auto-trading whilst at the same time becoming more curious about discretionary trading after seeing the market's reaction to some particular events that are difficult to target via automation, but seem ripe for profit using discretion (for e.g. the BOJ announcing its massive QE plan).

I'm quite sure as of this moment I'm probably a very, very average discretionary trader, mainly due to lack of experience. That said, since becoming a member of futures.io (formerly BMT) over 12 months ago, I've read A LOT about the psychology of trading, trading price action and the common mistakes new traders make. So in that regard, hopefully I have a leg up in getting off to a good start.

Since my automated trading is very indicator driven, I feel sort of compelled to take the opposite approach with my discretionary trading, so I'll be using a PASR approach. My chart will be naked except for some hand drawn support and resistance lines. I'll generally be looking for opportunities where the PASR technicals are in confluence with fundamentals to try and maximize the probability of a successful trade.

I will be looking to make only 4 or 5 trades a week that are well researched. I'll be generally looking at the 1 hour timeframe and look to hold positions for 1-3 days. Risk reward on every trade must be at least 1:2 and I'll be risking no more than $100 per trade.

I'll be applying a loss limit of $200 in any given week. If that is breached, I will ban myself from trading for the rest of the week.