NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

Short term time frame YM (Beginner needs help)

Discussion in Trading Journals

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one cmmichaels with 6 posts (6 thanks)
    2. looks_two indextrader7 with 4 posts (5 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 1 posts (1 thanks)
    4. looks_4 Quick Summary with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    1. trending_up 3,414 views
    2. thumb_up 12 thanks given
    3. group 2 followers
    1. forum 11 posts
    2. attach_file 8 attachments

Search this Thread

Short term time frame YM (Beginner needs help)

cmmichaels 
London England

Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Metatrader
Trading: Spot $
Thanks Given: 1,081
Thanks Received: 149

Hello, I'm a beginner learning to trade and want to start this thread to try and get some help from all the good people on this amazing forum thanks Big Mike for creating this place.

I've been learning for about 2 years now I'm trying to get as much screen time trading as practice. I'm using a short term trading style using the 15m, 3m and 1m charts. I live in the uk and can only trade the last 4 hours of the US session so I trade that every day after work getting as much screen time now I think is the most beneficial thing for me. I spreadbet so I only trade a very small amount of money I trade the YM because it is the only instrument that I can trade at that time that has a reasonable spread (2 points) not much different to the actual futures. Some spread bet companies offer 1 point on YM but the platform wont run on my work computer which is where I have to trade from.

Basically I use the 15m to get a bigger picture and plot S/R then use the 3m as the trading time frame and the 1m to catch the best entry and try and gauge any change in strength. I don't use any indicators apart from just added Stochastic on the 1m sometimes shows good divergence that I can't see in the price action. I've learnt a lot from @indextrader7 and religiously follow his thread which is amazing.