NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

Swing trading strategies (EOD, Papertrading)

Discussion in Trading Journals

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Sawyer with 124 posts (47 thanks)
    2. looks_two CHowell with 2 posts (0 thanks)
    3. looks_3 blueline with 2 posts (1 thanks)
    4. looks_4 forexgrinder with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    1. trending_up 24,118 views
    2. thumb_up 49 thanks given
    3. group 20 followers
    1. forum 131 posts
    2. attach_file 106 attachments

Search this Thread

Swing trading strategies (EOD, Papertrading)

Sawyer 
Berlin, Germany

Experience: None
Platform: IB
Trading: Stocks
Thanks Given: 42
Thanks Received: 50

Hi everyone, I'll try to document some swing trades here over the next couple of months.

I've been trading for several years using longer-term trend following strategies in stocks with success. I sometimes take swing trades, but I'd like to do that more often and try out different things. (That's why it's going to be paper trading only for now.)

I. Swing trading indices

I intend to stick with Marc Rivalland's strategy, simply because I read his book a couple of years ago and after all that time it still is one of the best trading books I know. So, I will be using a simple bar chart with a 20-day moving average and an RSI(7), and look at the Point and Figure chart frequently.

Here's a short overview: the trend is up (down) when the market makes a higher high (lower low) in the bar chart; entries are always with the trend. There are two possible entries:
  1. change of trend: the market makes a new high in a downtrend, exceeding the last local high; the position is entered at the price of the previous high. Similar for a new low in an uptrend.