NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

ES day trading Journal

Discussion in Trading Journals

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one jzw22 with 44 posts (29 thanks)
    2. looks_two Cloudy with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    3. looks_3 catdriver with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    4. looks_4 atfuturist with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    1. trending_up 9,187 views
    2. thumb_up 29 thanks given
    3. group 7 followers
    1. forum 48 posts
    2. attach_file 39 attachments

Search this Thread

ES day trading Journal

jzw22
London, UK

Thanks Given: 1
Thanks Received: 35

Welcome to my trading journal where I'm going to detail my daily struggles with Mr Market and my own trading demons.

I'm a discretionary trader relying on price action. Most days I'll come into the day with a bias to be long or short depending on how I see the bigger picture. I will then look for set-ups in the direction of my bias.

Given the current volatility (typical day range of 12 pts) my approximate stops will be 2-4 points. At the moment I will have a hard stop at 3 points but I'll manually exit most trades before my stop is hit if I think its not working or is taking too long.

My goals
- identify 0-5 trades / day (and take some of them!)
- be profittable 60% of days
- make 20 ES points / week

Limits
- have a hard stop at 3 pts
- max position size of 5 contracts

Tactics
- enter with trend on first pull back after a breakout or thrust
- enter on breakouts of ranges (I actually have not done much of this)
- buy support / sell resistance using NYSE Tick and price action as a guide
- fade 3rd push or higher / wedge type patterns

Now the first two are with the immediate trend but the second two are against the immediate trend.

One day I'll get round to writing a proper trading plan ...

Thanked by:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
MC PL editor upgrade
MultiCharts
REcommedations for programming help
Sierra Chart
Better Renko Gaps
The Elite Circle
ZombieSqueeze