NexusFi: Find Your Edge


Home Menu

 





PriceActionSwing discussion


Discussion in NinjaTrader

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one Silvester17 with 177 posts (570 thanks)
    2. looks_two dorschden with 99 posts (1,124 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 52 posts (90 thanks)
    4. looks_4 jmont1 with 51 posts (23 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one dorschden with 11.4 thanks per post
    2. looks_two Silvester17 with 3.2 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 1.7 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 sudhirc with 1.7 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 975,690 views
    2. thumb_up 2,947 thanks given
    3. group 613 followers
    1. forum 2,093 posts
    2. attach_file 615 attachments




 
Search this Thread

PriceActionSwing discussion

  #1981 (permalink)
DTSio
Ocala Florida
 
Posts: 6 since Oct 2021
Thanks Given: 0
Thanks Received: 0

adfra posed this in april 2021 the post was moved to Strategy builder, now it is locked and closed

I also used the assistant to produce the relevant PAS code for me and ran into the 'method' not valid this context error. I stared at this post for a while until I picked up on the difference, so just to make it explicit in the hopes it saves someone else a few hours of head-scratching:

a) Add the 'using PriceActionSwing.Base' reference at the very top

b) Remove all occurrences of 'PriceActionSwing.Base.' from the parameters when defining the Indi.
So e.g. from 'PriceActionSwing.Base.SwingStyle.Ticks' to just 'SwingStyle.Ticks'

Once that was done the PAS indi compiled fine for me...

Thanks again for such a wonderful indicator!

********************************* i would llke to know if anyone has solved this
I get the same issues, but when I searched to remove the PriceActionSwing.Base (after adding using reference)
I never found the code PriceActionSwing.Base other than the "namespace" AND I DID NOT THINK WISE TO REMOVE THE NAMESPACE without further instruction or confirmation

when compiling the error probably is created on any number of lines depending on what conditions were used in the strategy, I tested with 1 line of code and my error was found on my line 145
below are lines 143-146

private SimpleFont textFont = new SimpleFont("Courier", 15);
/// <summary>
/// Represents the text offset in pixel for the swing length for the swings.
/// </summary>

NOTHING HERE

THANKS FOR ANY ANSWERS

Reply With Quote

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
How to apply profiles
Traders Hideout
PowerLanguage & EasyLanguage. How to get the platfor …
EasyLanguage Programming
MC PL editor upgrade
MultiCharts
REcommedations for programming help
Sierra Chart
Trade idea based off three indicators.
Traders Hideout
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on NexusFi
Spoo-nalysis ES e-mini futures S&P 500
29 thanks
Just another trading journal: PA, Wyckoff & Trends
25 thanks
Tao te Trade: way of the WLD
24 thanks
Bigger Wins or Fewer Losses?
21 thanks
GFIs1 1 DAX trade per day journal
16 thanks
  #1982 (permalink)
 
bobwest's Avatar
 bobwest 
Western Florida
Site Moderator
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Sierra Chart
Trading: ES, YM
Frequency: Several times daily
Duration: Minutes
Posts: 8,168 since Jan 2013
Thanks Given: 57,452
Thanks Received: 26,278


DTSio View Post
adfra posed this in april 2021 the post was moved to Strategy builder, now it is locked and closed

Hi @DTSio. After trying to figure out why in the world you made a post about PriceActionSwing in the thread titled "How to post," I realized that you really wanted to post in a now-closed thread and didn't know how to (which you can't -- it was closed because it duplicates the PAS topic), so you hit on the idea of using the "how to post" thread. I do see the point, but I hope you understand how this just makes it hard for anyone to understand what you mean.

I've moved your post here to the PAS thread, so someone may be able to help you.

Please, make any posts about PriceActionSwing only in this thread, which is devoted to PriceActionSwing. If you run into a situation in the future where you just don't know what to do in order to post something so it will be noticed and hopefully responded to, always look for something directly related to the topic. It will help everyone.

Now, let me ask the community to help @DTSio with his issue.

To straighten things out:

@Adfra posted a solution to a PAS issue involving compiling it in Strategy Builder, using a thread which has subsequently been closed to prevent having a lot of duplications of the PriceActionSwing topic running around, and readers were advised to only use this thread for PAS.

His post, which @DTSio quoted, is this:


Adfra View Post
Hi There,

I also used the assistant to produce the relevant PAS code for me and ran into the 'method' not valid this context error. I stared at this post for a while until I picked up on the difference, so just to make it explicit in the hopes it saves someone else a few hours of head-scratching:

a) Add the 'using PriceActionSwing.Base' reference at the very top

b) Remove all occurrences of 'PriceActionSwing.Base.' from the parameters when defining the Indi.
So e.g. from 'PriceActionSwing.Base.SwingStyle.Ticks' to just 'SwingStyle.Ticks'

Once that was done the PAS indi compiled fine for me...

Thanks again for such a wonderful indicator!

Original thread here:

@DTSio has run into issues trying to implement this solution, as detailed in his post.

So if someone can address this compile issue when PAS is used with Strategy Builder, it has come up before and it would be helpful if there is a solution here in this thread, so it can be more easily found in the future if someone is looking for it.

Thanks to all.

Bob.

When one door closes, another opens.
-- Cervantes, Don Quixote
Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #1983 (permalink)
 Ssjaznguy 
la puente, California
 
Experience: None
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: Es
Posts: 30 since Oct 2018
Thanks Given: 7
Thanks Received: 1


In PASPro, the abcSignals, entryLong, entryShort series are all private. I assume I have to add the plots to make it work in a strategy?

Reply With Quote
  #1984 (permalink)
 Ssjaznguy 
la puente, California
 
Experience: None
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: Es
Posts: 30 since Oct 2018
Thanks Given: 7
Thanks Received: 1

another question,

if using priceactionswing.base will it affect other indicators that doesnt use base?

Reply With Quote
  #1985 (permalink)
 iq200 
London, UK
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader, Tradestation
Broker: Kinetick, InteractiveBrokers
Trading: Equities, Futures
Posts: 408 since Jun 2010
Thanks Given: 145
Thanks Received: 278


Ssjaznguy View Post
another question,

if using priceactionswing.base will it affect other indicators that doesnt use base?

If you make changes to priceactionswing.base, only indicators that use priceactionswing.base will be affected.

Follow me on Twitter Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Reply With Quote
  #1986 (permalink)
 Tradarr 
Atlanta Ga. USA
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8,ThinkorSwim,
Trading: Grains
Posts: 340 since Mar 2017
Thanks Given: 86
Thanks Received: 88

Anyone else use PAS Pro with Market Analyzer? Recently my signals have stopped in M.A. , the signals were true if > 0, example Higher Low was true if plot > 0.
Also is it possible to have exportable plots for the regular and hidden divergence signals added to PAS Pro?

Sent using the NexusFi mobile app

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
  #1987 (permalink)
 traderpards 
Longmont, CO
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: GC, CL, TF
Posts: 491 since May 2011
Thanks Given: 195
Thanks Received: 1,258

A newer, much faster version of PAS for NT8 is available here: PriceActionSwingV2

I'd love to get everything working if there's anyone who can explain how it worked in NT version 7, with screenshots.

And if anyone else would like to make changes, feel free!

Reply With Quote
  #1988 (permalink)
 ziggy123 
boston
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninja
Trading: es
Posts: 136 since Mar 2013
Thanks Given: 29
Thanks Received: 99

Thanks again for a PHENOMENAL indicator. Is there a way to created VOLUME ALERTS when a SWING is created/finalized? I have not found such as option in the indicator - nor was I able to set it in alerts (tried a few options)

Any help/assistance would be highly appreciated.

Cheers - and a happy weekend in advance,
Steve

Reply With Quote
  #1989 (permalink)
 Miesto 
Monte Carlo, Monaco
Legendary Market Wizard
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader 8
Broker: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Trading: Futures
Posts: 647 since May 2012
Thanks Given: 799
Thanks Received: 1,193


traderpards View Post
A newer, much faster version of PAS for NT8 is available here: PriceActionSwingV2

Tried to install the indicator but got an error message (screenshot) and had a lot of work/trouble to get NT working again. In the end I needed to delete the NT directory completely, then installed the latest version anew and imported my last backup so I was back at the beginning.

I have the PriceActionSwing and PriceActionSwingOscillator from Poncho installed but not sure that caused the problem or that it was caused by another indicator?


Visit my NexusFi Trade Journal Reply With Quote
  #1990 (permalink)
 traderpards 
Longmont, CO
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: GC, CL, TF
Posts: 491 since May 2011
Thanks Given: 195
Thanks Received: 1,258



Mich62 View Post
Tried to install the indicator but got an error message (screenshot) and had a lot of work/trouble to get NT working again. In the end I needed to delete the NT directory completely, then installed the latest version anew and imported my last backup so I was back at the beginning.

I have the PriceActionSwing and PriceActionSwingOscillator from Poncho installed but not sure that caused the problem or that it was caused by another indicator?


Do a search on your Ninjatrader directory for PriceActionSwingV2. If you don't find it, you shouldn't have gotten that error. If you do, that's why - it already exists.

I too have Poncho's version installed and I wouldn't get anywhere if I had duplicate names installed.

If you're any good with Windows directories and copying files, you could also manually move PriceActionSwingV2.cs into the Indicators directory and try to build it. The error you get there will tell you what exactly is the problem.

Reply With Quote
Thanked by:




Last Updated on January 7, 2024


© 2024 NexusFi™, s.a., All Rights Reserved.
Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama City, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada)
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice. There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
About Us - Contact Us - Site Rules, Acceptable Use, and Terms and Conditions - Privacy Policy - Downloads - Top
no new posts