NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

Self-Mastery and Development through Trading

Discussion in Trading Journals

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one WayneA with 39 posts (27 thanks)
    2. looks_two Lornz with 3 posts (2 thanks)
    3. looks_3 aquarian1 with 2 posts (0 thanks)
    4. looks_4 Big Mike with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    1. trending_up 9,618 views
    2. thumb_up 31 thanks given
    3. group 2 followers
    1. forum 48 posts
    2. attach_file 1 attachments

Search this Thread

Self-Mastery and Development through Trading

WayneA 
Seattle, WA

Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: Ones that move
Thanks Given: 64
Thanks Received: 58

This journal is about becoming clear and focused in my pursuit of becoming an independent, successful trader.

When I graduated from college a year ago, I decided to not immediately enter grad school. Instead I wanted to pursue trading full time. I looked into getting a position at a trading firm. No luck. Then, with some funds that I saved up and with some help from the parental units, I hopped onto a trader trainee Program. While I completed the first month of training, I didn't feel that the next couple of months would further my goal of becoming an independent trader. They traded interest rate futures using spreads (similar to option spreads). To do this, you need a much larger account than I would have. So I left.

In hindsight, this was a mistake. As I am learning, the specific trading method is not the most important factor in making a successful trader. What's most important is the trader's work ethic. This is dependent on his mental psychology, physical endurance, and day-to-day behavior. In order to become a trader, I need to change my work ethic.