NexusFi: Find Your Edge

Home Menu

Trade USD Quoted Futures as a person living in EUR Zone most effectively

Discussion in Traders Hideout

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one SMCJB with 4 posts (3 thanks)
    2. looks_two x6taifun with 3 posts (0 thanks)
    3. looks_3 Alexander Savin with 2 posts (1 thanks)
    4. looks_4 Quick Summary with 1 posts (0 thanks)
    1. trending_up 2,424 views
    2. thumb_up 4 thanks given
    3. group 4 followers
    1. forum 10 posts
    2. attach_file 0 attachments

Search this Thread

Trade USD Quoted Futures as a person living in EUR Zone most effectively

x6taifun
BW / Germany

Thanks Given: 4
Thanks Received: 1

Hi,

I started trading Forex and I'm now about to make the transition to Futures Trading.

Therefore I struggle a little bit with finding the best workaround to catch the fluctuations between EUR as my base currency and USD as the currency that the actual trading is going to happen.

Recently I have raised an account with Tradestation (EUR) and I'll soon start to trade USD quotes futures with their platform.
I try to avoid a scenario where I make a deposit, make money trading, but am actually flat because of EUR/USD flucations, by the time I'd like to extract money back to my bank account again.

What is the best way to solve this?
- Converting EUR to USD by the time I make the wire and then hedge with the same amount LONG against EUR/USD so that this position is basically flat? Sounds good in theory, but how would you do that practically?
- Keep the Base currency in EUR and ignore the fluctuations ?

There's probably other and better workaround's to this that I'm not getting right now - I'm looking forward to hear about your approaches

Thanks a lot

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on NexusFi?
Trade idea based off three indicators.
Traders Hideout
Exit Strategy
NinjaTrader
The choice of instruments to trade
Psychology and Money Management
Better Renko Gaps
The Elite Circle
ZombieSqueeze