rithmic vs cqg ( continuum ) - Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


rithmic vs cqg ( continuum )
Updated: Views / Replies:846 / 6
Created: by MiniP Attachments:0

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 100,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors Ė all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you donít need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

 
 
Thread Tools
 

rithmic vs cqg ( continuum )

 
Market Wizard
Columbus OHIO
 
Trading Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NInjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES, 6E, 6J,
 
MiniP's Avatar
 
Posts: 829 since May 2017
Thanks: 831 given, 1,879 received
Forum Reputation: Legendary

rithmic vs cqg ( continuum )

Looking at making my trading more systematic, and have been thinking about making a limit for each trade so that during moments of panic or FOMO ect.... I can not move the s/l +/- . After contacting Ninja they said it is only available with Rithmic with a $0.25 fee per side, so far I like the continuum but trying to find a reason beside the locked in risk per trade to switch.

Has anyone been having issues with Rithmic lately? I'm a pretty basic trader.. use P/A with a few ema's nothing fancy needed on the data side. \

any suggestions or any other ways to lock a s/l to a certain limit? Could I somehow code this in?

Thanks

-P

 
 
Quick Summary
Quick Summary Post

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.

 
 
Elite Member
charlotte nc
 
Trading Experience: Master
Platform: ninjatrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: Emini (ES, YM, NQ, ect.)
 
Posts: 375 since Jan 2015
Thanks: 69 given, 899 received


Hi MiniP,

I am not sure that I understand your requirement, but it sounds like you are looking to do a change order to an existing order is this correct?

If so, you can do this with CGQ / Continuum just fine. I have this in my code. (Unmanaged Change order) Reference below.

https://ninjatrader.com/support/helpGuides/nt8/en-us/?order_methods.htm


Ian



MiniP View Post
Looking at making my trading more systematic, and have been thinking about making a limit for each trade so that during moments of panic or FOMO ect.... I can not move the s/l +/- . After contacting Ninja they said it is only available with Rithmic with a $0.25 fee per side, so far I like the continuum but trying to find a reason beside the locked in risk per trade to switch.

Has anyone been having issues with Rithmic lately? I'm a pretty basic trader.. use P/A with a few ema's nothing fancy needed on the data side. \

any suggestions or any other ways to lock a s/l to a certain limit? Could I somehow code this in?

Thanks

-P


In the analytical world there is no such thing as art, there is only the science you know and the science you don't know. Characterizing the science you don't know as "art" is a fools game.
 
 
StockSharp dev
Moscow, RU
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: StockSharp
Favorite Futures: ES
 
stocksharp's Avatar
 
Posts: 37 since Mar 2014
Thanks: 3 given, 13 received

CQG looks uncomplited but have good support team. Rithmic are not compatible with non Windows platforms and team very very small. I advise try to look another one brokerage solution.

 
 
Trading for Profit
Antwerp
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: Rithmic Pro
Favorite Futures: NQ, ES
 
Posts: 373 since Jun 2016
Thanks: 92 given, 667 received


MiniP View Post
Looking at making my trading more systematic, and have been thinking about making a limit for each trade so that during moments of panic or FOMO ect.... I can not move the s/l +/- . After contacting Ninja they said it is only available with Rithmic with a $0.25 fee per side, so far I like the continuum but trying to find a reason beside the locked in risk per trade to switch.

Has anyone been having issues with Rithmic lately? I'm a pretty basic trader.. use P/A with a few ema's nothing fancy needed on the data side. \

any suggestions or any other ways to lock a s/l to a certain limit? Could I somehow code this in?

Thanks

-P

I have been using Rithmic the last 18 months or so for the execution of most my trades, not for charting.
I had a few minor problems but when i contacted Rithmic these problems where solved really quick.

Overall very good experience and very stable platform!




Ps; For everyone reading this: A like/thanks to my original post in the link below would be very much appreciated since i can win a price with it!
https://futures.io/traders-hideout/21330-battlestations-show-us-your-trading-desks-79.html#post693242

 
 
Administrator: Retired Backtester
 Vendor: speedytradingservers.com 
Rennes France
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: IB/Kinetick
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
sam028's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,542 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 3,721 given, 4,265 received


stocksharp View Post
CQG looks uncomplited but have good support team. Rithmic are not compatible with non Windows platforms and team very very small. I advise try to look another one brokerage solution.

It seems we didn't reached the same support team. I'll prefer a smaller support team like Ritmic's one who knows what its stuff than a larger one where as a small player they don't care that much.
It's not a big deal for most people but AFAIK Rithmic has a Linux API.
The execution latency is better with Rithmic so the $0.25 fee per side should be easily covered by the slippage improvements.

So let's agree to disagree.

Success requires no deodorant! (Sun Tzu)
The following user says Thank You to sam028 for this post:
 
 
StockSharp dev
Moscow, RU
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: StockSharp
Favorite Futures: ES
 
stocksharp's Avatar
 
Posts: 37 since Mar 2014
Thanks: 3 given, 13 received


sam028 View Post
It seems we didn't reached the same support team. I'll prefer a smaller support team like Ritmic's one who knows what its stuff than a larger one where as a small player they don't care that much.
It's not a big deal for most people but AFAIK Rithmic has a Linux API.
The execution latency is better with Rithmic so the $0.25 fee per side should be easily covered by the slippage improvements.

So let's agree to disagree.

It is great to hear about Linux support. Seems the thing are keep going. CQG don't have such issue from the beginning cause they provide socket level protocol. But again their solution looks incomplete. Instrument metadata sometimes not correlate with data feed.

Support team should be wide as possible. Single person can sick, quick from a company or even die. It is high risk. But for short period sure single person can advise and help quickly.


 



futures io > > > > rithmic vs cqg ( continuum )
Thread Tools



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)
 

futures io is celebrating 10-years w/ over $18,000 in prizes!

Right now
 

60 Minutes to Better Decisions & Better Trades w/Agustin Lebron

Elite only
 

Live Day Trading the E-MICROS w/Ilan @ Cannon (special time: 12PM ET)

May 30
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Continuum by CQG Big Mike Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 290 April 19th, 2017 01:36 PM
Data Question: CQG versus Continuum (NT) traderxman The Elite Circle 1 March 30th, 2016 08:28 AM
Problems with CQG Continuum Login failed: accountIDs has no Ids spinnybobo Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 10 April 9th, 2015 07:34 PM
Advantage changing from Rithmic to Continuum? ostadler Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 4 February 8th, 2015 11:16 PM
CQG platform (CQG Trader/CQG Integrated Client) Big Mike CQG 91 July 24th, 2011 08:46 AM


Tags
brokerage, code, continuum, cqg, data, data feed, ema, fomo, futures, information, instrument, latency, limit, ninja, ninjatrader, nt8, people, platform, rithmic, short, slippage, stocksharp, support, switch, trading

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM. (this page content is cached, log in for real-time version)

Copyright © 2019 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432 WhatsApp Business, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2019-05-24 in 0.22 seconds with 14 queries on phoenix