CQG FCM commissions and fees
futures io futures trading



CQG FCM commissions and fees


Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds

Created September 4th 2014 by oceanbreeze
Updated December 18th 2019 by TickTick
Top Posters
looks_one oceanbreeze with 8 posts (3 thanks)
looks_two mattz with 3 posts (0 thanks)
looks_3 artemiso with 3 posts (5 thanks)
looks_4 CafeGrande with 3 posts (3 thanks)
Best Posters
looks_one artemiso with 1.7x thanks per post
looks_two CafeGrande with 1.0x thanks per post
looks_3 Big Mike with 1.0x thanks per post
looks_4 oceanbreeze with 0.4x thanks per post
Thread Statistics
trending_up 12,592 views
thumb_up 15 thanks given
forum 25 replies
attach_file 0 attachments




Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 100,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors Ė all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you donít need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

 
 
Thread Tools
 

CQG FCM commissions and fees

 
London UK
 
Trading Experience: Master
Platform: Sierra, NinjaTrader, Interactive Brokers, TradeStation
Favorite Futures: several
 
Posts: 18 since Sep 2014
Thanks: 5 given, 6 received

CQG FCM commissions and fees

CQG has a page full of FCMs. I called a few only to find excessive fees.
Has anyone contacted many of those to get an idea how their commissions and fees compare to, for example, Interactive Brokers, especially at the 1000 - 5000 contract/month level?
CQG Integrated client has the potential to save thousands, but not if the FCM is way more expensive than IB.


Last edited by oceanbreeze; September 5th, 2014 at 03:00 PM.
The following user says Thank You to oceanbreeze for this post:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Remek! Market Scanner Pro
NinjaTrader
How to detach charts and save chart position
MetaTrader
CME trading hits monthly record
Beginners and Introductions
Having stocks in different currency
IB Trader Workstation
Trailing stop order in MotiveWave?
Platforms and Indicators
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
ES futures Spoo-nalysis SP500/SPX
512 thanks
Recession? Depression? Bailout!
194 thanks
Is Orderflow An Outdated Concept?
180 thanks
Coronavirus COVID-19
135 thanks
AMP Futures / AMP Global Review
41 thanks
 
 
Chicago IL
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: 6E
 
NT Brokerage's Avatar
 
Posts: 81 since Jul 2014
Thanks: 0 given, 169 received



oceanbreeze View Post
CQG has a page full of FCMs. I called a few only to find excessive fees.
Has anyone contacted many of those to get an idea how their commissions and fees compare to, for example, Interactive Brokers, especially at the 1000 - 10000 contract/month level?
CQG Integrated client has the potential to save thousands, but not if the FCM is way more expensive than IB.

Using NinjaTrader Brokerage through Dorman Trading as the FCM: the all-in cost for ES is as low as $3.38 per round turn.

Our commission schedule is publicly posted here - NinjaTrader Futures Broker Commissions: Discount All In Rates.

Risk Disclosure: Futures and forex trading involves significant risk of loss and is not appropriate for everyone.
 
 
St Paul, MN, USA
 
 
Posts: 200 since Jan 2014
Thanks: 130 given, 207 received

Trade with FCM Partners

To my knowledge, all of these will serve retail (non-exchange member) accounts either directly or through introducing brokers (IB). Sometimes you can get a better deal through the IB.
  • ADM Investors / large, sound. They do a lot of commercial business. Their IBs might handle individual trader accounts.
  • Advantage / definitely check here. Known for low rates, good service for higher volume accounts.
  • AMP
  • Crossland / look up Deep Discount Brokerage, an IB. I think there's a recent acquisition (Wedbush?) here.
  • Dorman
  • Knight Capital
  • Phillip Futures
  • Rosenthal Collins / look up Cannon Trading, an IB (Cannon has a representative that posts to this site)
  • RJ O'Brien / largest independent, non-bank FCM

Most of the ones I've listed are large, but you should check out NFA BASIC and/or the CFTC site just to be sure they are well capitalized.

Velocity and Vision: I think Velocity was acquired. Vision had some recent regulatory issues and may no longer be taking new accounts.


Last edited by CafeGrande; September 4th, 2014 at 06:50 PM.
The following user says Thank You to CafeGrande for this post:
 
 
Market Wizard
Boca Raton
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: Variety
Broker/Data: Optimus Futures, LLC
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
mattz's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,447 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 2,368 given, 3,643 received


CafeGrande View Post
Trade with FCM Partners

To my knowledge, all of these will serve retail (non-exchange member) accounts either directly or through introducing brokers (IB). Sometimes you can get a better deal through the IB.
  • ADM Investors / large, sound. They do a lot of commercial business. Their IBs might handle individual trader accounts.
  • Advantage / definitely check here. Known for low rates, good service for higher volume accounts.
  • AMP
  • Crossland / look up Deep Discount Brokerage, an IB. I think there's a recent acquisition (Wedbush?) here.
  • Dorman
  • Knight Capital
  • Phillip Futures
  • Rosenthal Collins / look up Cannon Trading, an IB (Cannon has a representative that posts to this site)
  • RJ O'Brien / largest independent, non-bank FCM

Most of the ones I've listed are large, but you should check out NFA BASIC and/or the CFTC site just to be sure they are well capitalized.

Velocity and Vision: I think Velocity was acquired. Vision had some recent regulatory issues and may no longer be taking new accounts.

Vision is still opening accounts. Where did you get your facts that Vision does not open accounts?
Some of the FCMs above had regulatory issues at some point as well.
We can offer CQG Q Trader without any problems.

Matt

PM with any questions about optimusfutures (800) 771-6748 (561) 367 8686. THERE IS A SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF LOSS IN FUTURES TRADING.
 
 
St Paul, MN, USA
 
 
Posts: 200 since Jan 2014
Thanks: 130 given, 207 received


mattz View Post
Vision is still opening accounts. Where did you get your facts that Vision does not open accounts?
Some of the FCMs above had regulatory issues at some point as well.
We can offer CQG Q Trader without any problems.

Matt

Please note the use of "I think" and the use of "may."

The Vision issue was discussed a couple of months ago on this site. At that time, they were going to "close" and then rename themselves or something like that. I'm not in the brokerage business so I don't know how it turned out or is turning out.

The advice stands: People should check out NFA BASIC as well as the FCM capital reports/excess capital ratios and decide for themselves if they want to do business with firm XYZ.

NFA bars Connecticut futures commission merchant Vision Financial Markets LLC, Virginia commodity trading advisor Ace Investment Strategists LLC and its principal, Yu-Dee Chang from membership

The following user says Thank You to CafeGrande for this post:
 
 
Market Wizard
Boca Raton
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: Variety
Broker/Data: Optimus Futures, LLC
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
mattz's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,447 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 2,368 given, 3,643 received


CafeGrande View Post
Please note the use of "I think" and the use of "may."

The Vision issue was discussed a couple of months ago on this site. At that time, they were going to "close" and then rename themselves or something like that. I'm not in the brokerage business so I don't know how it turned out or is turning out.

The advice stands: People should check out NFA BASIC as well as the FCM capital reports/excess capital ratios and decide for themselves if they want to do business with firm XYZ.

Yes, they should. But in my humble opinion stating that they no longer accept accounts using "may" and "I think" does "excuse" you. You made statement and instead you could have simply asked

In the next few days, I will publish here the current status.

I assure you that we open accounts as usual for all trading platforms.

Matt

PM with any questions about optimusfutures (800) 771-6748 (561) 367 8686. THERE IS A SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF LOSS IN FUTURES TRADING.
 
 
St Paul, MN, USA
 
 
Posts: 200 since Jan 2014
Thanks: 130 given, 207 received


mattz View Post
Yes, they should. But in my humble opinion stating that they no longer accept accounts using "may" and "I think" does "excuse" you. You made statement and instead you could have simply asked

In the next few days, I will publish here the current status.

I assure you that we open accounts as usual for all trading platforms.

Matt

I'm not doing a deep-dive research project for the guy. He asked if someone had a way to whittle down the list and I provided some names that serve independent traders. I made sure to use qualifiers when I wasn't sure about something.

You seem like a hard-working, customer-focused entrepreneur. I don't think I've ever read anything but praise about your business on this site. But the fact is that Vision had a serious oversight issue (so have others), and I don't envy your having to explain the situation to customers and prospects.

So, please don't shoot the messenger.

The following user says Thank You to CafeGrande for this post:
 
 
Market Wizard
Boca Raton
 
Trading Experience: Advanced
Platform: Variety
Broker/Data: Optimus Futures, LLC
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
mattz's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,447 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 2,368 given, 3,643 received


CafeGrande View Post
I'm not doing a deep-dive research project for the guy. He asked if someone had a way to whittle down the list and I provided some names that serve independent traders. I made sure to use qualifiers when I wasn't sure about something.

You seem like a hard-working, customer-focused entrepreneur. I don't think I've ever read anything but praise about your business on this site. But the fact is that Vision had a serious oversight issue (so have others), and I don't envy your having to explain the situation to customers and prospects.

So, please don't shoot the messenger.

Agreed.

I appreciate the kind words about our work ethic.
It had nothing with us, and indeed it affected us tremendously.
Matt

PM with any questions about optimusfutures (800) 771-6748 (561) 367 8686. THERE IS A SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF LOSS IN FUTURES TRADING.
 
 
New York, NY
 
Trading Experience: Beginner
Platform: Vanguard 401k
Broker/Data: Yahoo Finance
Favorite Futures: Mutual funds
 
Posts: 1,051 since Jul 2012
Thanks: 726 given, 2,183 received



CafeGrande View Post
Trade with FCM Partners

To my knowledge, all of these will serve retail (non-exchange member) accounts either directly or through introducing brokers (IB). Sometimes you can get a better deal through the IB.
  • ADM Investors / large, sound. They do a lot of commercial business. Their IBs might handle individual trader accounts.
  • Advantage / definitely check here. Known for low rates, good service for higher volume accounts.
  • AMP
  • Crossland / look up Deep Discount Brokerage, an IB. I think there's a recent acquisition (Wedbush?) here.
  • Dorman
  • Knight Capital
  • Phillip Futures
  • Rosenthal Collins / look up Cannon Trading, an IB (Cannon has a representative that posts to this site)
  • RJ O'Brien / largest independent, non-bank FCM

Most of the ones I've listed are large, but you should check out NFA BASIC and/or the CFTC site just to be sure they are well capitalized.

Velocity and Vision: I think Velocity was acquired. Vision had some recent regulatory issues and may no longer be taking new accounts.

@oceanbreeze

From the tone of your post, you're probably already aware, but just sharing so others know because there are other numbers being advertised and I want to be fair to the users and other FCMs/IBs. The marginal cost for your FCM to execute a retail order is zero above some very small threshold. After all, how many hours do you actually spend talking to your reps at the FCM/IB and how much counterparty risk are they taking up especially if you're executing via a tried-and-tested software provider, e.g. CQG, TT etc.? This threshold is very small. So you have every right to shop around and not get fleeced.

As a non-member, I'd say you should expect no more than $2.82 per ES round trip all-in (including exchange, FCM commission and NFA fee) i.e. $0.25 FCM commission up to 10,000 contracts per month. Let me know if you need specific names.

It's only when you shift from a retail account to a bulge-bracket bank's FCM group within that ($0, $0.25] interval when it gets expensive and the fees take longer to go down, because the multiple reps (credit/risk, onboarding, sales) assigned to you and the 2-4 people monitoring your positions actually each earn $250k to $1.2m all-in compensation per year, and you're actually, truly, not worth their business if you're not paying certain fees at minimum.

The following 5 users say Thank You to artemiso for this post:

 



futures io Trading Community Trading Reviews and Vendors Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds > CQG FCM commissions and fees
Thread Tools



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)
 

futures io is celebrating 10-years w/ over $18,000 in prizes!

Right now
 

$250 Amazon Gift Cards with our "Thanks Contest" challenge!

Right now
 

Social Media Predictive Data for Traders w/Joe Gits @ SMA [and Lime Brokerage]

Apr 9
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Due Diligence: NFA Search for IB's, FCM's, CTA's, etc... bluemele Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 17 June 24th, 2016 04:49 PM
FCM Data 2013 targetfilled Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 1 April 11th, 2013 05:32 PM
CQG platform (CQG Trader/CQG Integrated Client) Big Mike Platforms and Indicators 91 July 24th, 2011 08:46 AM
FCM/Broker Comparison sysot1t Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 16 March 26th, 2010 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 AM. (this page content is cached, log in for real-time version)

Copyright © 2020 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts