Issue With Zenfire - Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


Issue With Zenfire
Updated: Views / Replies:4,966 / 21
Created: by Nyati Attachments:3

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 90,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors Ė all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you donít need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

Closed Thread
 3  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Issue With Zenfire

  #1 (permalink)
Elite Member
Boston, Massachusetts
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: AMP/NinjaBrokerage/Continuum/Rithmic
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Posts: 287 since Jun 2011
Thanks: 1,286 given, 1,101 received

Issue With Zenfire

Hello all,

I'm having an issue with Zenfire's live feed on the 6E (6/13). The issue is that the live feed appears to be showing a price which is about 8 ticks higher than the actual market price.

I know the live price is incorrect because I can briefly see the actual market price when I reload the chart. Upon reloading the chart, the historical prices are shown accurately so this is just an issue with the last price shown by the live feed.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions on resolving this issue.

The following user says Thank You to Nyati for this post:
 
  #2 (permalink)
Quick Summary
Quick Summary Post

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.

 
  #3 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Columbus, OH
 
Futures Experience: None
Platform: NT 8, TOS
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Silvester17's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,330 since Aug 2009
Thanks: 4,575 given, 10,310 received



Nyati View Post
Hello all,

I'm having an issue with Zenfire's live feed on the 6E (6/13). The issue is that the live feed appears to be showing a price which is about 8 ticks higher than the actual market price.

I know the live price is incorrect because I can briefly see the actual market price when I reload the chart. Upon reloading the chart, the historical prices are shown accurately so this is just an issue with the last price shown by the live feed.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions on resolving this issue.

@Nyati,

I don't think 6E already rolled over. so 3/13 should be used. the difference between the two is about 8 ticks.

The following 2 users say Thank You to Silvester17 for this post:
 
  #4 (permalink)
Temet nosce.
Northern Indiana, USA
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Mirus/Zen-Fire
Favorite Futures: M6E, 6E
 
V i m's Avatar
 
Posts: 137 since Oct 2012
Thanks: 87 given, 66 received

I also experienced a similar thing today, but I was only SIM trading the 6/13 contract and haven't had the 3/13 contract up for a few days. I knew it hadn't rolled yet but since I was SIM'ing i didnt think it would matter much. But anyhow after closing my session this morning, I reopened Ninja and the chart was completely different than what I traded live. Almost like the 6/13 contract was showing the 3/13 contract plotting when loading with historical data (or vice verse). Is that possible? I was worried it had something to do with the Ninja update too... since I updated from 7.0.1.11 to 7.0.1.12 yesterday.

The only thing that you can't see with the charts below is that I keep a simple volume bar chart at the bottom that I drag down to hide some of the time. I attached the chart from my trading session and then what it looked like when I restarted Ninja a few hours later.

Does anyone know why this occurred? It's scary to think what might have happened if I were trading Live. But my trade transactions appear to be correct in the order history.

Thanks.

Pecunia, si uti scis, ancilla est; si nescis, domina. Faber est suae quisque fortunae.
Attached Thumbnails
Issue With Zenfire-vim-s-trading-chart-3-12-13.png   Issue With Zenfire-vim-s-trading-chart-discrepency.png  

Last edited by V i m; March 12th, 2013 at 05:47 PM.
 
  #5 (permalink)
Temet nosce.
Northern Indiana, USA
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Mirus/Zen-Fire
Favorite Futures: M6E, 6E
 
V i m's Avatar
 
Posts: 137 since Oct 2012
Thanks: 87 given, 66 received

I think I solved my own issue. I wasn't aware there was a default ninja setting that attempts to merge data. Don't quite understand why that would be default but it appears to be the cause. Here is a thread on it:

AMP, CQG, and NT7

Pecunia, si uti scis, ancilla est; si nescis, domina. Faber est suae quisque fortunae.
The following user says Thank You to V i m for this post:
 
  #6 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Columbus, OH
 
Futures Experience: None
Platform: NT 8, TOS
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Silvester17's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,330 since Aug 2009
Thanks: 4,575 given, 10,310 received


artemiso View Post
Noticed a lot votes for Zen-Fire... Unfortunately, I think it's official that Zen-Fire will cease to exist soon, direct from Jonathan Walden. (Forums - Rithmic Announces Nonrenewal of Zen-Fire Use)

I called this prediction correctly before, 5 months ago:
- https://futures.io/brokers-data-feeds/11349-rithmic-vs-zenfire-5.html#post353906
- https://futures.io/brokers-data-feeds/11349-rithmic-vs-zenfire-4.html#post353899
- https://futures.io/brokers-data-feeds/27823-zenfire-rt-historical-discrepancies.html#post338530


artemiso View Post
I think the possibilities are limited:

1. They got sick of paying Rithmic, or

2. They are sick of paying Rithmic and are trying to phase them out and so moved their developers on to a new project, or

3. They had a couple of lead developers who were the only ones who understood how everything worked, and these guys left without leaving something maintainable - deceased, fell out, spun off etc.

(1) is unlikely to be true, since it still works. (2) is still rather unlikely, since they should have at least still have the expertise to support the API users. (3) is probably most likely. I'm not associated with the firm so I don't think it's ethical for me to speculate about their private matters, but I do feel the customers should clarify with the firm directly if it affects their trading.


artemiso View Post
@Azrael

Caveat: Zen-Fire's development team vanished and they are incredibly opaque, so I'm just making an educated guess here.

The data quality should be the same. Same software, same incoming feed from exchange. You should also see differences in data if you made comparisons whether on the same machine with the two feeds or on separate machines not necessarily owned by you - this difference in data will be due to randomness of dropped packets.

P.S.: I used to live in Singapore, too. PM me if there's anything I can do to help - I'm not necessarily qualified but I run a trading firm, if that makes me an authority on the matter.


artemiso View Post
Not exactly on-topic, but the last I've touched Zen-Fire, I found out that their problems will never be fixed, because they've stopped all development on Zen-Fire. I don't actually know why - maybe their lead developer (Matt Griswold?) moved to a different company and they didn't have things set up for business continuity.

A side effect of this is that Zen-Fire is riddled with bullet holes and bugs: there's a huge security vulnerability that I'm not going to describe in public, the C++ examples don't compile, there's no proper API call to query for particular instrument(s), the documentation is incomplete. So MC/NT/Sierra etc. all contain the same security vulnerabilities thanks to Zen-Fire.

@artemiso,

I don't know what the motives are to make such allegations. please provide some evidence.

in the meantime I'm pretty confident zen-fire is far from going out of business. for me the rithmic news is more positive than negative.

The following 3 users say Thank You to Silvester17 for this post:
 
  #7 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 46,237 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,350 given, 83,148 received


Silvester17 View Post
@artemiso,

I don't know what the motives are to make such allegations. please provide some evidence.

in the meantime I'm pretty confident zen-fire is far from going out of business. for me the rithmic news is more positive than negative.

I spoke with Eliot at Mirus Futures about this. More information will be forthcoming shortly from Mirus, but the bottom line is Silvester17 is right - it's really positive news not negative. It seems Rithmic is just upset about losing their customer and posted about it in such a fashion to cause drama, in my opinion.

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

The following 2 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
  #8 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Columbus, OH
 
Futures Experience: None
Platform: NT 8, TOS
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Silvester17's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,330 since Aug 2009
Thanks: 4,575 given, 10,310 received


Big Mike View Post
I spoke with Eliot at Mirus Futures about this. More information will be forthcoming shortly from Mirus, but the bottom line is Silvester17 is right - it's really positive news not negative. It seems Rithmic is just upset about losing their customer and posted about it in such a fashion to cause drama, in my opinion.

Mike

I don't want to go too much in detail. zen-fire disconnected the rithmic risk platform and developed their own platform. so much for "they've stopped all development on Zen-Fire"

The following user says Thank You to Silvester17 for this post:
 
  #9 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 46,237 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,350 given, 83,148 received


Silvester17 View Post
I don't want to go too much in detail. zen-fire disconnected the rithmic risk platform and developed their own platform. so much for "they've stopped all development on Zen-Fire"

Yes, Zen-Fire will continue. It is not EOL or anything of the sort. Mirus also has developed BigTick, which has different features from Zen-Fire. But the core features of Zen-Fire will remain the same and remain available. The two products co-exist.

Anyone that is currently on Zen-Fire will be able to remain on Zen-Fire, there is no cause for concern in my opinion.

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
  #10 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Boca Raton
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Variety
Broker/Data: Optimus Futures, LLC
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
mattz's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,042 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 1,912 given, 2,750 received
Forum Reputation: Legendary



Big Mike View Post
It seems Rithmic is just upset about losing their customer and posted about it in such a fashion to cause drama, in my opinion. Mike

This is not how Rithmic runs its business and not the impression they gave me after 5 years of a
working relationship. The announcement was a professional decision to inform traders (customers), so they can make their own decisions going forward.
They did not put down anyone, claimed superiority or implied that anyone should trade over their data.

PM with any questions about optimusfutures (800) 771-6748 (561) 367 8686. THERE IS A SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF LOSS IN FUTURES TRADING.

Last edited by mattz; November 18th, 2013 at 07:03 PM.
The following 2 users say Thank You to mattz for this post:

Closed Thread



futures io > > > > Issue With Zenfire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

Adam Grimes: TBA

Elite only

NinjaTrader: TBA

Dec 7

Linda Bradford Raschke: TBA

Elite only

Ran Aroussi: TBA

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zenfire Brokerage record100 Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 8 January 7th, 2014 10:57 AM
Rithmic vs Zenfire liquidcci Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 42 September 1st, 2013 03:28 AM
Any multicharts with zenfire users? tradingonvolume Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 4 February 3rd, 2012 07:42 PM
ZenFire or NT7 data issue? NJAMC Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 6 April 16th, 2011 03:10 PM
ZenFire Web Beta zoltran The Elite Circle 4 February 14th, 2010 10:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 PM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-11-18 in 0.14 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.162.164.86