FXCM's Suhail Afzal and Brad Gleason - Ask Me Anything (AMA) - Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


FXCM's Suhail Afzal and Brad Gleason - Ask Me Anything (AMA)
Updated: Views / Replies:24,170 / 159
Created: by Big Mike Attachments:6

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 90,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors Ė all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you donít need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

Closed Thread
 6  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

FXCM's Suhail Afzal and Brad Gleason - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

  #151 (permalink)
Elite Member
San Jose, Ca
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: MetaTrader 4
Broker/Data: Interactive Brokers
Favorite Futures: Forex
 
Joseph689's Avatar
 
Posts: 121 since Sep 2012
Thanks: 113 given, 36 received


Jason Rogers View Post
What you have said would actually apply to any US forex trading account regardless of the broker due to how such accounts are regulated by the government. With that in mind, below are the latest net capital figures for US retail forex brokers as reported to the CFTC.


Please register on futures.io to view futures trading content such as post attachment(s), image(s), and screenshot(s).

Source: Financial Data for FCMs and RFEDs

Jason,
What you said above is absolutely true, BUT, no other US retail broker is under the gun to pay back $300 million like FXCM is!!

 
  #152 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.fxcm.com 
New York
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Strategy Trader
 
Jason Rogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 164 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 122 given, 153 received


Joseph689 View Post
Jason,
What you said above is absolutely true, BUT, no other US retail broker is under the gun to pay back $300 million like FXCM is!!

Hi Joseph,

You raise a good point. Since we are a publicly-traded company (NYSE ticker: FXCM) the details of our loan from Leucadia are well known. In fact, in our most recent quarterly earnings presentation, we clearly outlined how we plan to repay this debt. By contrast, most other forex brokers are privately-held companies, so it's hard to know how much debt they have on their books or the state of their finances.

Over the past few years, FXCM has spent over $250 million dollars making strategic acquisitions building up our non-core businesses, mainly the institutional side as we tried to diversify the firm. We are now looking to sell some of those non-core assets; But, we are not in a rush and are looking to get the highest valuations for these assets.


Please register on futures.io to view futures trading content such as post attachment(s), image(s), and screenshot(s).


We are considering closing or selling smaller regulated entities that require large sums of capital requirements, but that offer increasingly low return on capital. The latter move allows us to free up significant amounts of cash that is currently trapped. We believe that in the near term we can pay down a majority of the loan. That’s our goal.

Despite the events of January 15th and the debit balances that resulted from the Swiss Franc movements, FXCM today remains in a strong competitive position:
  • $303 million in consolidated operating cash
  • $1.0 billion in customer equity
  • 195,000 active retail FX accounts
  • Global regulatory capital of $252 million versus $93 million minimum requirements (an excess of $159 million)

If you have questions about our services at FXCM please send me a Private Message.
The following 4 users say Thank You to Jason Rogers for this post:
 
  #153 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.fxcm.com 
New York
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Strategy Trader
 
Jason Rogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 164 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 122 given, 153 received



Joseph689 View Post
Latest FXCM news, "In order to optimize its RPM, FXCM Inc (NYSE:FXCM) has announced that it will be returning the dealing desk model for clients with equity below $20,000"

Can you please comment on the above latest news release?

Given what happened with EUR/CHF, the industry is now looking very hard at any potentially similar issues, especially given the increased geopolitical risks in Southern and Eastern Europe. The primary change FXCM has made is to remove currency pairs from our platform that carry significant risk due to over-active manipulation by their respective government either by a floor, ceiling, peg or band. We also raised margin requirements for other pairs as well. Some of these changes will be permanent while others may change as geopolitical risks change.

FXCM believes that No Dealing Desk (NDD) forex execution is the most fair and transparent to provide to traders and will continue to offer it. However, we have received demand for higher leverage (lower margin requirements) particularly from traders in emerging markets where the average account balance is smaller. Offering these traders the choice of a dealing desk option in the future in addition to our existing NDD model will allow us to cater to their demand for higher leverage from a risk management perspective. That said, we still expect the majority of traders to continue to choose our NDD model.

If you have questions about our services at FXCM please send me a Private Message.
 
  #154 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.fxcm.com 
New York
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Strategy Trader
 
Jason Rogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 164 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 122 given, 153 received


Jason Rogers View Post
Over the past few years, FXCM has spent over $250 million dollars making strategic acquisitions building up our non-core businesses, mainly the institutional side as we tried to diversify the firm. We are now looking to sell some of those non-core assets; But, we are not in a rush and are looking to get the highest valuations for these assets.


Please register on futures.io to view futures trading content such as post attachment(s), image(s), and screenshot(s).

A few weeks ago I mentioned our goal is to repay the Leucadia loan by selling certain non-core assets, and today we have announced the first:
FXCM to Sell FXCM Japan to Rakuten Sec for $62 Million

NEW YORK, March 25, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- FXCM Inc. (NYSE:FXCM) a leading online provider of foreign exchange (FX) trading and related services, today announced that FXCM Holdings, LLC and FXCM Newco, LLC ("FXCM") have signed a definitive agreement to sell FXCM Japan Securities Co., Ltd ("FXCM Japan") to Rakuten Securities, Inc. ("Rakuten Sec"), a top 5 FX broker in Japan, and a subsidiary of Rakuten, Inc. ("Rakuten") (TOKYO:4755), one of the world's largest Internet services companies, for a purchase price of approximately $62 million.

Read full press release: FXCM to Sell FXCM Japan to Rakuten Sec for $62 Million (NYSE:FXCM)

If you have questions about our services at FXCM please send me a Private Message.
The following user says Thank You to Jason Rogers for this post:
 
  #155 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.fxcm.com 
New York
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Strategy Trader
 
Jason Rogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 164 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 122 given, 153 received

FXCM Pays Additional $54 Million Owed to Leucadia


Jason Rogers View Post
Over the past few years, FXCM has spent over $250 million dollars making strategic acquisitions building up our non-core businesses, mainly the institutional side as we tried to diversify the firm. We are now looking to sell some of those non-core assets; But, we are not in a rush and are looking to get the highest valuations for these assets.


Please register on futures.io to view futures trading content such as post attachment(s), image(s), and screenshot(s).


We are considering closing or selling smaller regulated entities that require large sums of capital requirements, but that offer increasingly low return on capital. The latter move allows us to free up significant amounts of cash that is currently trapped. We believe that in the near term we can pay down a majority of the loan. That’s our goal.

Today we announced another update related to this:

FXCM Pays Additional $54 Million Owed to Leucadia

Avoids Contingent Financing Fee of $30 Million

NEW YORK, April 2, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- FXCM Inc. (NYSE:FXCM) a leading online provider of foreign exchange (FX) trading and related services, today announced that it has repaid an additional $54 million outstanding under its credit agreement with Leucadia. The payment was funded in part with proceeds from the sale of FXCM Japan. FXCM has now repaid $66 million under the credit agreement, and as of April 1, 2015, FXCM's outstanding Leucadia loan balance is $244 million.

By repaying more than $60 million before April 16, 2015, FXCM has avoided a contingent financing fee of $30 million, and FXCM shareholders stand to benefit from an improved sharing determination of proceeds from future asset sales, dividends and distributions pursuant to the terms of the credit agreement.

"FXCM is pleased with how our debt reduction plan is proceeding," said Drew Niv, CEO of FXCM. "We are ahead of plan and the results of the FXCM Japan sale exceeded our expectations. With all the increased attention to our other properties, we are expecting robust and competitive auctions for the other non-core assets we have targeted to sell."

Read full press release: FXCM Pays Additional $54 Million Owed to Leucadia (NYSE:FXCM)

If you have questions about our services at FXCM please send me a Private Message.

Last edited by Jason Rogers; April 2nd, 2015 at 06:52 PM.
The following 2 users say Thank You to Jason Rogers for this post:
 
  #156 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.fxcm.com 
New York
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Strategy Trader
 
Jason Rogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 164 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 122 given, 153 received

Holiday Trading Hours for April

Below are the CFD holiday trading hours for Easter and ANZAC Day. Forex trading hours remain unchanged, and you can view the holiday rollover interest schedule here: http://bit.ly/14Wwoso


Times below are in GMT
Please register on futures.io to view futures trading content such as post attachment(s), image(s), and screenshot(s).

If you have questions about our services at FXCM please send me a Private Message.
The following user says Thank You to Jason Rogers for this post:
 
  #157 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.fxcm.com 
New York
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Strategy Trader
 
Jason Rogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 164 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 122 given, 153 received


Jason Rogers View Post
Below are the CFD holiday trading hours for Easter and ANZAC Day. Forex trading hours remain unchanged, and you can view the holiday rollover interest schedule here: http://bit.ly/14Wwoso

CORRECTION to previously listed holiday trading hours: ANZAC Day will not have any impact on AUS200 trading hours.

If you have questions about our services at FXCM please send me a Private Message.
 
  #158 (permalink)
Membership Temporarily Revoked
Memphis,TN
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: ThinkorSwim,FXCM, Ensign Software
Broker/Data: ThinkorSwim, FXCM
Favorite Futures: Futures, Forex, Options
 
mdsvtr's Avatar
 
Posts: 232 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 853 given, 28 received

CFD not being allowed for trading for USA residents

Hi Jason and fellow traders,
can someone please explain the reasoning behind, why CFD's are not allowed and if and when they may become available for we traders in the USA ?

This is kinda on the same playing field, as the current Online Poker situation ...... there are a few sites available, but not the big ones ( PokerStars and Full Tilt ) like it was before the big Black Friday event back in 08 / 09

 
  #159 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.fxcm.com 
New York
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Strategy Trader
 
Jason Rogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 164 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 122 given, 153 received


mdsvtr View Post
CFD not being allowed for trading for USA residents

Hi Jason and fellow traders,
can someone please explain the reasoning behind, why CFD's are not allowed and if and when they may become available for we traders in the USA ?

This is kinda on the same playing field, as the current Online Poker situation ...... there are a few sites available, but not the big ones ( PokerStars and Full Tilt ) like it was before the big Black Friday event back in 08 / 09

Hi Michael,

Government regulations prohibit CFDs in the US. Unless that changes, no brokerage can legally offer CFD trading to US residents.

If you have questions about our services at FXCM please send me a Private Message.
The following 2 users say Thank You to Jason Rogers for this post:
 
  #160 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 46,237 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,350 given, 83,160 received


Moderator Note


This AMA has ended.

For FXCM reviews or further questions, use the main thread:




https://futures.io/brokers-data-feeds/13731-fxcm-review.html

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Closed Thread



futures io > > > > FXCM's Suhail Afzal and Brad Gleason - Ask Me Anything (AMA)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

Adam Grimes: TBA

Elite only

NinjaTrader: TBA

Dec 7

Linda Bradford Raschke: TBA

Elite only

Ran Aroussi: TBA

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FXCM review Big Mike Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 187 February 7th, 2017 07:59 PM
FXCM now compatible with NinjaTrader Big Mike Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 6 August 7th, 2012 11:39 PM
FXCM vs MB Trading Big Mike Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 16 September 16th, 2011 08:12 AM
FXCM Strategy Trader ??? xTrader1 Platforms and Indicators 14 July 24th, 2011 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-11-20 in 0.16 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.224.18.114