NFA files an administrative complaint against Interactive Brokers - Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


NFA files an administrative complaint against Interactive Brokers
Updated: Views / Replies:1,345 / 1
Created: by Big Mike Attachments:0

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 90,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors – all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you don’t need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

NFA files an administrative complaint against Interactive Brokers

  #1 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 46,237 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,349 given, 83,135 received

NFA files an administrative complaint against Interactive Brokers

Source: NFA files an administrative complaint against Interactive Brokers | Forex Magnates


Quoting 
NFA filed a complaint against Interactive Brokers charging it with doing business with entities alleged to be CPOs (commodity pool operators) without them being registered as such with the CFTC. Basically NFA claims that several accounts opened with IB were in fact pooled accounts used by money managers to manage funds for several other customers, without being declared as such.

Judging by previous similar complaint against IB that was settled for $125k, this one may cost IB above $0.5m.

Interactive Brokers is one of the largest brokers in the US and ever since it started reporting its forex figures it tops our profitability charts. In Q3 2012 IB reported 11,115 forex accounts of whom 44.6% were profitable, only 0.4% below CitiFX Pro who were in the first spot.

Part of the Complaint:

11. As required under NFA Bylaw 1101, no Member may carry an account, accept an order or handle a transaction in commodity futures contracts for or on behalf of any non-Member of NFA that is required to be registered with the CFTC and is acting in respect to the account, order or transaction for a customer.

12. NFA learned from audits of certain commodity pool operators (“CPOs”) NFA Members, which NFA conducted between September 2011 and January 2012, that Interactive had aOowed entities that appeared to be commodity pools to engage in futures trading in accounts at Interactive even though the firms operating those pools had not yet registered as CPOs and NFA Members.

For example, a September 2011 NFA audit of Trend Fund Management LLC (“Trend”), a CPO NFA Member forex firm, found that Trend maintained a trading account at Interactive for a non.-exempt commodity pool, Trendfund Partners LP (“Trendfund Partners”), which Trend operated and that Interactive permitted to engage in futures trading in the Trendfund Partners_ account before Trend became registered as a CPO NFA Member on August 12, 2011.

Similarly, during a November 2011 NFA audit of VII Capital Management LLC (“VCM”), another CPO NFA Member, NFA found that VCM had operated a commodity pool which began trading futures at Interactive in April 2010, several months before VCM became registered as a CPO NFA Member in September 2010.

According to Interactive, Trend and VCM both represented that they were in the process of working with NFA on their CPO registration applications and that, until their applications were approved, they would only trade securities products.

Interactive also claimed that its staff monitored the progress of Trend’s and VCM’s registration applications in order to know when their applications were approved.

Despite Trend’s and VCM_s purported representations that they would only trade securities products prior to becoming registered, Interactive allowed the accounts of both Trend and VCM to engage in futures trading before Trend and VCM were registered as CPOs.

In addition to Trend and VCM, NFA determined that, beginning in November 2010, Interactive also allowed Arista LLC (“Arista”) – which at the time was not registered as a CPO NFA Member – to maintain an account at Interactive in Arista’s name that was actually a pool account that held almost $10 million from approximately 28 investors. Interactive allowed the Arista pool account to engage in futures trading for almost six months before Arista became registered as a CPO NFA Member in April 2011. Moreover, Interactive allowed Arista to trade this pool account, without the benefit of CPO registration, even though Arista had answered “yes” to the question in the Interactive account opening documents which asked if Arista was required to be registered in the U.S., pursuant to NFA Bylaw 1101, with the CFTC or another regulator.

Approximately three months after the Arista pool account started trading, Interactive apparently noticed that Arista’s account opening documents indicated that the Arista account had multiple owners. As a consequence, in early 2011, Interactive requested Arista to either register as a CPO or file an exemption from registration. Yet, Interactive took no steps, at that time, to prohibit or restrict the Arista pool account from continuing to engage in futures trading prior to Arista becoming registered as a CPO or filing an exemption from registration.

As a result of the Bylaw 1101 problems that NFA noted with respect to Interactive’s dealings with Trend, VCM, and Arista, NFA commenced an audit of Interactive in March 2012 to determine if Interactive’s Bylaw 1101 problems were restricted to the above firms or were more widespread.

Full Complaint:



Case Summary

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

Reply With Quote
 
  #2 (permalink)
Quick Summary
Quick Summary Post

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.


Reply



futures io > > > > NFA files an administrative complaint against Interactive Brokers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

Adam Grimes: TBA

Elite only

NinjaTrader: TBA

Dec 7

Linda Bradford Raschke: TBA

Elite only

Ran Aroussi: TBA

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Interactive Brokers bad? muscleman Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 69 February 6th, 2014 07:40 PM
Interactive Brokers for Spot Forex sasnak Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 15 July 10th, 2013 11:58 PM
Interactive Brokers - More Problems sam1197 Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 20 January 24th, 2012 08:13 AM
Ninja and Interactive Brokers dale1670 NinjaTrader 17 September 25th, 2011 12:22 PM
Stop me from using Interactive Brokers.... NetTecture Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 12 June 27th, 2011 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 AM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-11-18 in 0.09 seconds with 19 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.80.33.183