Gain Capital Q2 2012 results - Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


Gain Capital Q2 2012 results
Updated: Views / Replies:798 / 1
Created: by Big Mike Attachments:0

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 90,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors – all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you don’t need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Gain Capital Q2 2012 results

  #1 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 46,240 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,353 given, 83,234 received

Gain Capital Q2 2012 results

Source: GAIN Capital Reports 2012 Second Quarter Results - MarketWatch


Quoting 
GAIN Capital Reports 2012 Second Quarter Results
--Net revenue of $45.7 million --Adjusted EBITDA of $8.8 million --Net income of $4.4 million; $0.11 per diluted share --Adjusted net income of $5.0 million; $0.13 per diluted share

BEDMINSTER, N.J., July 31, 2012 /PRNewswire via COMTEX/ -- GAIN Capital Holdings, Inc. ("GAIN") GCAP +1.27% , a leading global provider of online trading services, reported net income of $4.4 million, or $0.11 per share, and adjusted net income of $5.0 million, or $0.13 per share, for the second quarter ended June 30, 2012, on net revenue of $45.7 million.

"Our strong sequential revenues and expense performance was driven by a substantial increase in revenue from our retail FX business, demonstrating GAIN's ability to capitalize on a modest uptick in market volatility," said Glenn Stevens, chief executive officer of GAIN Capital. "At the same time, our GAIN GTX institutional platform continued to increase market share, with revenue increasing fourfold from last year's second quarter."

"We also executed on our longer term strategy to grow and diversify our revenue sources through the announced acquisition of Open E Cry, which provides entry into the exchange-traded futures market and increases GAIN's commission-based revenues," Mr. Stevens added. "We added a 10-person team in July to augment our institutional business, more than doubling the size of our institutional execution desk."

Retail Business

In the second quarter of 2012, GAIN's retail business generated revenue of $40.8 million, compared with $29.4 million in Q1 2012 and $54.1 million in 2Q 2011. Total retail trading volume was $340.8 billion in Q2 2012, compared with $385.1 billion in Q1 2012 and $357.2 billion in Q2 2011.

"We continued the organic growth momentum in our retail business, increasing client assets 9% to $320.2 million as of June 30, 2012, launching a new FOREX.com service in Canada and moving ahead with the Beta version of our new CFD offering, which is on schedule for full release in September of this year," Mr. Stevens said.

In July 2012, GAIN launched its FOREX.com service in Canada, which will allow Canadian residents to trade more than 70 products, including 50 currencies, as well as energy, precious metals, agricultural commodities and equity indices.

Institutional Business

GAIN's institutional business, GAIN GTX, which serves institutional market participants, including hedge funds, banks and high-frequency trading firms, generated revenue of $4.2 million in 2Q 2012, compared with $0.9 million in 2Q 2011. Institutional volume was $442.5 billion, compared with $97.4 billion in 2Q 2011.

GAIN GTX recently expanded its specialty execution desk through the recruitment of a 10-person agency desk. The New York-based team, which specializes in FX, options and emerging markets, more than doubles the size of GAIN GTX's execution desk and will expand the team's client base and product coverage.

"In less than two years since launch, GAIN GTX has established itself among institutional FX traders and continues to gain market share, thanks to its innovative ECN technology and unique central clearing model," said Mr. Stevens. "With new hires and an increasing portfolio of products, we look forward to continued growth in volumes and revenue."

Other Recent Developments

As part of GAIN's strategy to diversify its product portfolio and add new revenue sources, GAIN announced in June an agreement to acquire Open E Cry (OEC), an online futures broker, from optionsXpress, a subsidiary of the Charles Schwab Corporation, for $12 million. As of June 30, 2012, OEC held $95.9 million in customer assets, with 8,101 open accounts. OEC's revenue was $13.6 million for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2011. The transaction is scheduled to close in Q3 2012 and is expected to be accretive in FY 2012.

"Futures are a natural fit with GAIN's existing retail forex and CFD offering. OEC is an excellent entry into the futures space because of its proprietary technology and capacity to grow via GAIN's global client base," said Mr. Stevens. "We see strong potential for synergies, as GAIN will be able to expand OEC's geographic footprint beyond the United States, as well as cross-sell between futures and FX."

Second Quarter Metrics

(Comparisons below are referenced to Q2 2011)

Net revenue of $45.7 million, compared to $55.6 million

Adjusted EBITDA* of $8.8 million, compared to $19.1 million

Net income of $4.4 million, compared to $10.0 million

Adjusted net income* of $5.0 million, compared to $11.2 million

Diluted EPS of $0.11, compared to $0.26

Adjusted diluted EPS* of $0.13, compared to $0.29

Total retail trading volume of $340.8 billion, compared to $357.2 billion

Total institutional trading volume of $442.5 billion, compared to $97.4 billion

(*See below for reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures)

Declaration of Quarterly Dividend

The Board of Directors approved a quarterly dividend of $0.05 per share, to be paid on September 21, 2012 to shareholders of record as of September 12, 2012.

Conference Call

GAIN Capital will host a conference call today, Tuesday July 31, 2012 at 5 pm ET. Those wishing to listen to the call should dial +1-800-901-5241 (U.S. domestic) or +1-617-786-2963 (international), and enter the passcode 89357598# at least 10 minutes prior to the start of the call. A live audio webcast of the call, as well as PDF copies of this release and an accompanying presentation, will also be available on the investor relations section of the GAIN Capital website ( GAIN Capital | Investor Relations )

The audio replay will be available for one week after the call by dialing +1-888-286-8010 (U.S. domestic) or +1-617-801-6888 (international), and entering passcode 12015023#. The replay will be available starting approximately two hours after the completion of the conference call.

About GAIN Capital

GAIN Capital Holdings, Inc. GCAP +1.27% is a global provider of online trading services. GAIN's innovative trading technology provides market access and highly automated trade execution services across multiple asset classes, including foreign exchange (forex or FX), contracts for difference (CFDs) and exchange-based products, to a diverse client base of retail and institutional investors.

A pioneer in online forex trading, GAIN Capital operates FOREX.com®, one of the largest and best-known brands in the retail forex industry. GAIN's other businesses include GAIN GTX, a fully independent FX ECN for hedge funds and institutions, and GAIN Securities, Inc. (member FINRA/SIPC), a licensed U.S. broker-dealer.

GAIN Capital and its affiliates have offices in New York City; Bedminster, New Jersey; London; Sydney; Hong Kong; Tokyo; Singapore; Beijing; and Seoul.

For further company information, visit GAIN Capital | 24hr forex trading | Forex white label solutions | Managed accounts

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

Reply With Quote
 
  #2 (permalink)
Quick Summary
Quick Summary Post

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.


Reply



futures io > > > > Gain Capital Q2 2012 results

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

Jigsaw Trading: TBA

Elite only

FuturesTrader71: TBA

Elite only

NinjaTrader: TBA

Jan 18

RandBots: TBA

Jan 23

GFF Brokers & CME Group: Futures & Bitcoin

Elite only

Adam Grimes: TBA

Elite only

Ran Aroussi: TBA

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LMAX 2012 results: volume and trades going up, P&L improving Big Mike Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 4 November 16th, 2015 08:10 AM
GAIN Capital buys futures broker Open E Cry Big Mike Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 7 September 14th, 2012 11:40 AM
CME's Q2 12 profits down, volumes anemic Big Mike News and Current Events 0 July 26th, 2012 06:17 PM
Gain Capital (Forex.com) fined by NFA for fraud. MetalTrade Currency Futures 9 October 30th, 2010 10:11 AM
NFA investigates against GAIN Capital / Forex.com Mftkn Reviews of Brokers and Data Feeds 4 July 1st, 2010 07:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:31 AM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-12-15 in 0.11 seconds with 19 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.234.247.118