Suggest everyone review risk management in light of... - Psychology and Money Management | futures trading

Go Back

> Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Psychology and Money Management

Suggest everyone review risk management in light of...
Started:February 25th, 2012 (05:42 PM) by liquidcci Views / Replies:817 / 1
Last Reply:February 25th, 2012 (05:42 PM) Attachments:0

Welcome to

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Thread Tools Search this Thread

Suggest everyone review risk management in light of...

Old February 25th, 2012, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Elite Member
Austin, TX
Futures Experience: Master
Platform: ninjatrader, r-trader
Favorite Futures: CL, NG, TF, NQ, YM, GC, ES
liquidcci's Avatar
Posts: 856 since Jun 2011
Thanks: 606 given, 1,042 received

Suggest everyone review risk management in light of...

I recently had to consider changing some of my risk management parameters. Specifically I am going to a higher cushion in my accounts. I did a top down review of how I scale contracts.

The HFT algos have made the markets much more dangerous in my opinion. The recent 1 hr NYMEX shutdown on CL is a very dangerous scenario that we all fear. Of course the NYMEX will never admit the algos caused it but I am convinced they did. I am also convinced it will happen again.

Specifically in regards to oil which is my primary market. The world situation is very dangerous and could equal fast account wipe out if got caught in position could not close while some world event transpired. This has been the case for sometime but things are more dangerous than ever and could spiral out of control fast.

I can live with less profit by scaling less but I cannot live with getting my account wiped out in a black swan event. I am tripling the delta I use to scale contracts. Outside of a black swan the tight delta I was using is safe and very manageable. But with HFT's crashing the computers on entire markets and potential for big moves caused by war etc.. I am playing it safe.

I also did a specific review of what I would do if I was in a CL position and NYMEX crashed leaving me stranded. Only way to protect is to be ready to put on a hedge fast. Very important to trade in a way that leaves you enough margin to put on a hedge if needed. I was not but am now. I had become lax in this area. As traders we cannot afford to get comfortable.

"The day I became a winning trader was the day it became boring. Daily losses no longer bother me and daily wins no longer excited me. Took years of pain and busting a few accounts before finally got my mind right. I survived the darkness within and now just chillax and let my black box do the work."

Last edited by liquidcci; February 27th, 2012 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote

Old February 25th, 2012, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Quick Summary
Quick Summary Post

Quick Summary is created and edited by users like you... Add FAQ's, Links and other Relevant Information by clicking the edit button in the lower right hand corner of this message.


Reply > Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Psychology and Money Management > Suggest everyone review risk management in light of...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

An Afternoon with FIO trader bobwest

Elite only

NinjaTrader 8: Programming Profitable Trading Edges w/Scott Hodson

Elite only

Anthony Drager: Executing on Intermarket Correlations & Order Flow, Part 2

Elite only

Adam Grimes: Five critically important keys to professional trading

Elite only

Machine Learning Concepts w/FIO member NJAMC

Elite only

MarketDelta Cloud Platform: Announcing new mobile features

Dec 1

NinjaTrader 8: Features and Enhancements

Dec 6

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please review my money management... mokodo Psychology and Money Management 20 April 27th, 2012 09:51 PM
Risk Management embedded in charts Treggs NinjaTrader Programming 4 November 9th, 2010 08:16 PM
JBL Risk Manager and Money Management System caprica Psychology and Money Management 1 December 19th, 2009 05:30 PM
Suggest a new sub-category for NinjaTrader downloads Saroj Feedback and Announcements 2 September 8th, 2009 08:14 AM
Free Risk Management Game... Jugador Psychology and Money Management 0 August 20th, 2009 09:58 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Copyright © 2016 by All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts

Page generated 2016-10-22 in 0.08 seconds with 19 queries on phoenix via your IP