What kind of Mac do you have? - Off-Topic | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


What kind of Mac do you have?
Updated: Views / Replies:4,565 / 9
Created: by Big Mike Attachments:0

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 90,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors – all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you don’t need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

What kind of Mac do you have?

  #1 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 46,240 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,352 given, 83,231 received

What kind of Mac do you have?

I've noticed a couple of traders using Mac's. I've always been fascinated by Mac's but never owned them. Since OS X and when the switch was made for Intel procs, I have really wanted to own one.

I'm very familiar with Parallels and VMware and VirtualBox and all that. But I wondered how much of the native OS X experience really still shines through for a professional trader who lives inside a VM most the day.

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

Reply With Quote
 
  #2 (permalink)
Member
Boston
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: Sierra Chart
Broker/Data: Infinity Futures/Transact
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Maletor's Avatar
 
Posts: 88 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 7 given, 26 received

I have a 13" MacBook and a 32" Apple Cinema Display off to my right.

I run parallels full screen with my charts up during the day on the big monitor and when things get untrendy I'll head over to my mac and work on other stuff.

The transition is seamless and my mac is more than powerful enough to run XP. (Windows 7 is an option too as is Vista).

There is even coherence mode, but I don't really have a use for it (and I loathe windows.)

Not sure what else I could tell you, other than I love this setup. Now if somebody could just make a charting application for OS X native

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to Maletor for this post:
 
  #3 (permalink)
Member
NC
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: TransAct, Sierra charts
 
Xzap's Avatar
 
Posts: 47 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 2 given, 26 received


I use a 20" iMac. When I run VMWare on it, you can still see a lot of difference in the speed.

The OS X takes some getting used to but I love it. Shut down or start up is almost instant. Everything is just much smoother.

dave

Reply With Quote
 
  #4 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Houston, TX
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Optimus Futures
Favorite Futures: 6E
 
TheWizard's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,711 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 509 given, 4,072 received

I'm using a Mac. 24" display. Running both OS X and VMware, under which I run Windows XP. Ninja looks & runs just like it does on my Vista (PC) laptop at home, but the MAC has a MUCH LARGER display, which makes it much easier than looking at charts on a 15" laptop screen, especially if you have 2 or 3 charts up at the same time. It would be nice if Ninja ran natively on OS X !

Reply With Quote
 
  #5 (permalink)
Elite Member
Lagos, Nigeria
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader, SierraChart
Favorite Futures: Euro Currency & Oil
 
lolu's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,440 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 1,000 given, 1,595 received

It is very fascinating to know that traders in this forum use Apple MAC. I have NinjaTrader on Windows XP running under VMware Fusion in my MacBook Pro 17" and a MacBook 13". I also have a 42" Philips LCD TV which I connect to the DVI port on my MacBook Pro 17" using a DVI-to-VGA Adapter. The LCD TV has a VGA port. It also has two HDMI ports. The quality of the display on the LCD TV is not satisfactory even with my installation of the SwitchResX software on my MacBook Pro 17" and MacBook 13". A DVI-to-HDMI Adapter is required to obtain a high and satisfactory quality display on the LCD TV. Meanwhile, I'm OK with the LCD TV display until I purchase a DVI-to-HDMI Adapter. I shall appreciate it if TheWizard would share his experience with me on this forum.

Reply With Quote
 
  #6 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.traderwerks.com 
Taipei Taiwan
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Optimus
Favorite Futures: TW
 
Posts: 693 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 440 given, 440 received

I have a 15" MacBookPro, and an Mac Mini w/22" LCD.

I use NinjaTrader under VMWare/WindowsXP for non trading stuff and for trading I use hosted NinjaTrader / Win Server 2003. The Mac Mini is mainly used for displaying the hosted copy of ninjaTrader.

Reply With Quote
 
  #7 (permalink)
Elite Member
Spain
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
 
Posts: 2 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 0 given, 0 received

Very interesting comparison.

Apparently parallels is better option than vmware comparing its last modern versions in modern mac´s.

Very interesting comparison.

Head-to-Head: Parallels Desktop for Mac vs. VMware Fusion

Greetings.

Reply With Quote
 
  #8 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.probabletrades.com 
OC, California, USA
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: IB/TWS, NinjaTrader, thinkorswim
Favorite Futures: stocks, options, futures, VIX
 
shodson's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,859 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 480 given, 3,255 received

I use Macs too, but I wouldn't trade with one in a virtual machine, I'd only use NT on Windows on a Mac with Bootcamp. I don't want to take the chance of missing a trade because a virtual machine slowed me down. I have to say my MacBook Pro is 3 years old, so it's not as fast as some of these newer ones, but I'd rather be running Windows directly on the metal if I was trading. I have traded on my Mac with Java-based trading platforms (thinkorswim, IB's TWS) just fine though.

BTW, I do most of my trading on a Quad Core dell on Vista, with 2 25.5" Samsung monitors and a laptop on the side as well, usually running thinkorswim for streaming commercial-free CNBC, longer-term charts, news feeds, and occasional options trades.

Reply With Quote
 
  #9 (permalink)
Elite Member
Bedford, UK
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: SierraChart/TT Feed
Favorite Futures: NQ
 
keymoo's Avatar
 
Posts: 129 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 212 given, 204 received

I've owned several Macs and liked them for "general" use. I would not use one to trade with. I know that Investor/RT does native Mac charts, not sure about execution with a futures broker. Forex should be fine just find someone like dukascopy that do java charts and execution.

You could always get an iMac and dual boot it instead of using a VM. Windows will then run natively on the Mac, but then what would be the point? I use a homebuilt PC now with 2 Apple Cinema equivalent displays. I am using the exact same screen as they do in a 27" iMac (but I have two). Looks freakin' awesome.

Reply With Quote
 
  #10 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Switzerland
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Investor/RT
Broker/Data: IB / DTN
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
Posts: 4,128 since Feb 2012
Thanks: 3,780 given, 7,655 received
Forum Reputation: Legendary



keymoo View Post
I've owned several Macs and liked them for "general" use. I would not use one to trade with. I know that Investor/RT does native Mac charts, not sure about execution with a futures broker.

I am a veteran Mac user since 1985...
As you state right - Investor/RT combined with eg. IB is all it needs.
Fast, reliable and straightforward.
Depending on your needs for calculation / screens etc. one can already trade
on a very mobile solution like a MacBook Air.
Positive about it: there is no need to be at a fixed station to fire your trades.

GFIs1

Reply With Quote

Reply



futures io > > > What kind of Mac do you have?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

Jigsaw Trading: TBA

Elite only

FuturesTrader71: TBA

Elite only

NinjaTrader: TBA

Jan 18

RandBots: TBA

Jan 23

GFF Brokers & CME Group: Futures & Bitcoin

Elite only

Adam Grimes: TBA

Elite only

Ran Aroussi: TBA

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What trading platforms can you use on a Mac? dmane Platforms and Indicators 15 January 3rd, 2016 12:57 PM
My kind of dentist kbit Off-Topic 2 May 12th, 2011 04:13 AM
[Other]       FireTip trading Platform for Apple MAC OS X lolu Platforms and Indicators 15 April 18th, 2011 02:48 AM
NT on Mac using Vmware vishwas99 Tech Support 9 March 21st, 2011 11:51 PM
Trading Workstation - MAC / PC c12345 Traders Hideout 6 December 10th, 2009 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 AM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-12-14 in 0.12 seconds with 19 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.227.51.103