What kind of Mac do you have? - Off-Topic | futures.io
futures.io futures trading

Go Back   futures.io

> Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Off-Topic

What kind of Mac do you have?
Started:July 15th, 2009 (03:19 PM) by Big Mike Views / Replies:4,217 / 9
Last Reply:April 3rd, 2012 (12:29 PM) Attachments:0

Welcome to futures.io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Thread Tools Search this Thread

What kind of Mac do you have?

Old July 15th, 2009, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
Big Mike's Avatar
Posts: 45,432 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 28,836 given, 79,553 received

What kind of Mac do you have?

I've noticed a couple of traders using Mac's. I've always been fascinated by Mac's but never owned them. Since OS X and when the switch was made for Intel procs, I have really wanted to own one.

I'm very familiar with Parallels and VMware and VirtualBox and all that. But I wondered how much of the native OS X experience really still shines through for a professional trader who lives inside a VM most the day.


Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

Reply With Quote

Old July 15th, 2009, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: Sierra Chart
Broker/Data: Infinity Futures/Transact
Favorite Futures: ES
Maletor's Avatar
Posts: 88 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 7 given, 26 received

I have a 13" MacBook and a 32" Apple Cinema Display off to my right.

I run parallels full screen with my charts up during the day on the big monitor and when things get untrendy I'll head over to my mac and work on other stuff.

The transition is seamless and my mac is more than powerful enough to run XP. (Windows 7 is an option too as is Vista).

There is even coherence mode, but I don't really have a use for it (and I loathe windows.)

Not sure what else I could tell you, other than I love this setup. Now if somebody could just make a charting application for OS X native

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to Maletor for this post:

Old July 16th, 2009, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: TransAct, Sierra charts
Xzap's Avatar
Posts: 47 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 2 given, 26 received

I use a 20" iMac. When I run VMWare on it, you can still see a lot of difference in the speed.

The OS X takes some getting used to but I love it. Shut down or start up is almost instant. Everything is just much smoother.


Reply With Quote

Old July 17th, 2009, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Elite Member
Houston, TX
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Optimus Futures
Favorite Futures: 6E, ES
TheWizard's Avatar
Posts: 1,666 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 506 given, 3,952 received

I'm using a Mac. 24" display. Running both OS X and VMware, under which I run Windows XP. Ninja looks & runs just like it does on my Vista (PC) laptop at home, but the MAC has a MUCH LARGER display, which makes it much easier than looking at charts on a 15" laptop screen, especially if you have 2 or 3 charts up at the same time. It would be nice if Ninja ran natively on OS X !

Reply With Quote

Old July 19th, 2009, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Elite Member
Lagos, Nigeria
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader, SierraChart
Favorite Futures: Euro Currency & Oil
lolu's Avatar
Posts: 2,435 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 997 given, 1,590 received

Futures Edge on FIO
It is very fascinating to know that traders in this forum use Apple MAC. I have NinjaTrader on Windows XP running under VMware Fusion in my MacBook Pro 17" and a MacBook 13". I also have a 42" Philips LCD TV which I connect to the DVI port on my MacBook Pro 17" using a DVI-to-VGA Adapter. The LCD TV has a VGA port. It also has two HDMI ports. The quality of the display on the LCD TV is not satisfactory even with my installation of the SwitchResX software on my MacBook Pro 17" and MacBook 13". A DVI-to-HDMI Adapter is required to obtain a high and satisfactory quality display on the LCD TV. Meanwhile, I'm OK with the LCD TV display until I purchase a DVI-to-HDMI Adapter. I shall appreciate it if TheWizard would share his experience with me on this forum.

Reply With Quote

Old July 19th, 2009, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Elite Member
Taipei Taiwan
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Optimus
Favorite Futures: TW
Posts: 689 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 428 given, 432 received

I have a 15" MacBookPro, and an Mac Mini w/22" LCD.

I use NinjaTrader under VMWare/WindowsXP for non trading stuff and for trading I use hosted NinjaTrader / Win Server 2003. The Mac Mini is mainly used for displaying the hosted copy of ninjaTrader.

Reply With Quote

Old August 8th, 2009, 02:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Elite Member
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Posts: 2 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 0 given, 0 received

Very interesting comparison.

Apparently parallels is better option than vmware comparing its last modern versions in modern macīs.

Very interesting comparison.

Head-to-Head: Parallels Desktop for Mac vs. VMware Fusion


Reply With Quote

Old August 9th, 2009, 02:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
 Vendor: www.probabletrades.com 
OC, California, USA
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: IB/TWS, NinjaTrader, thinkorswim
Favorite Futures: stocks, options, futures, VIX
shodson's Avatar
Posts: 1,827 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 470 given, 3,155 received

I use Macs too, but I wouldn't trade with one in a virtual machine, I'd only use NT on Windows on a Mac with Bootcamp. I don't want to take the chance of missing a trade because a virtual machine slowed me down. I have to say my MacBook Pro is 3 years old, so it's not as fast as some of these newer ones, but I'd rather be running Windows directly on the metal if I was trading. I have traded on my Mac with Java-based trading platforms (thinkorswim, IB's TWS) just fine though.

BTW, I do most of my trading on a Quad Core dell on Vista, with 2 25.5" Samsung monitors and a laptop on the side as well, usually running thinkorswim for streaming commercial-free CNBC, longer-term charts, news feeds, and occasional options trades.

Reply With Quote

Old April 3rd, 2012, 12:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Elite Member
Bedford, UK
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: SierraChart/TT Feed
Favorite Futures: NQ
keymoo's Avatar
Posts: 129 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 212 given, 198 received

I've owned several Macs and liked them for "general" use. I would not use one to trade with. I know that Investor/RT does native Mac charts, not sure about execution with a futures broker. Forex should be fine just find someone like dukascopy that do java charts and execution.

You could always get an iMac and dual boot it instead of using a VM. Windows will then run natively on the Mac, but then what would be the point? I use a homebuilt PC now with 2 Apple Cinema equivalent displays. I am using the exact same screen as they do in a 27" iMac (but I have two). Looks freakin' awesome.

Reply With Quote

Old April 3rd, 2012, 12:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Investor/RT
Broker/Data: IB / DTN
Favorite Futures: Futures
Posts: 3,512 since Feb 2012
Thanks: 3,039 given, 6,061 received

keymoo View Post
I've owned several Macs and liked them for "general" use. I would not use one to trade with. I know that Investor/RT does native Mac charts, not sure about execution with a futures broker.

I am a veteran Mac user since 1985...
As you state right - Investor/RT combined with eg. IB is all it needs.
Fast, reliable and straightforward.
Depending on your needs for calculation / screens etc. one can already trade
on a very mobile solution like a MacBook Air.
Positive about it: there is no need to be at a fixed station to fire your trades.


Reply With Quote


futures.io > Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Off-Topic > What kind of Mac do you have?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

An Afternoon with FIO trader bobwest

Elite only

NinjaTrader 8: Programming Profitable Trading Edges w/Scott Hodson

Elite only

Anthony Drager: Executing on Intermarket Correlations & Order Flow, Part 2

Elite only

Adam Grimes: Five critically important keys to professional trading

Elite only

Machine Learning Concepts w/FIO member NJAMC

Elite only

MarketDelta Cloud Platform: Announcing new mobile features

Dec 1

NinjaTrader 8: Features and Enhancements

Dec 6

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What trading platforms can you use on a Mac? dmane Platforms and Indicators 15 January 3rd, 2016 11:57 AM
My kind of dentist kbit Off-Topic 2 May 12th, 2011 03:13 AM
[Other]       FireTip trading Platform for Apple MAC OS X lolu Platforms and Indicators 15 April 18th, 2011 01:48 AM
NT on Mac using Vmware vishwas99 Tech Support 9 March 21st, 2011 10:51 PM
Trading Workstation - MAC / PC c12345 Traders Hideout 6 December 10th, 2009 04:05 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 PM.

Copyright © 2016 by futures.io. All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts

Page generated 2016-10-21 in 0.13 seconds with 19 queries on phoenix via your IP