lesterb Indicator Thread - just a placeholder - futures io
futures io



lesterb Indicator Thread - just a placeholder


Discussion in NinjaTrader

Updated
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one lesterb with 18 posts (8 thanks)
    2. looks_two alazif with 4 posts (0 thanks)
    3. looks_3 PapaD3rbz with 4 posts (0 thanks)
    4. looks_4 mauroqenk with 2 posts (0 thanks)
    1. trending_up 1,932 views
    2. thumb_up 8 thanks given
    3. group 10 followers
    1. forum 30 posts
    2. attach_file 14 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 125,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

 
Search this Thread
 

lesterb Indicator Thread - just a placeholder

(login for full post details)
  #1 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

This is mostly a placeholder to let people ask questions about any indies I have built, request changes or report issues.

There will be a link to this thread in all my indicators. This will also be a place for me to post things about those indicators.

If you have NEW indicators you want built, don't post in this thread, but request them in the "Want your NinjaTrader indicator created, free?" thread. (thx @forrestang for the idea)

Started this thread Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to lesterb for this post:

Journal Challenge April 2021 results:
Competing for $1800 in prizes from Jigsaw
looks_oneMaking a Living with the Microsby sstheo
(616 thanks from 61 posts)
looks_twoSalao's Journalby Salao
(158 thanks from 29 posts)
looks_3Learning to Profit - A journey in algorithms and optionsby Syntax
(115 thanks from 27 posts)
looks_4Deetee’s DAX Trading Journal (time based)by Deetee
(94 thanks from 30 posts)
looks_5Maybe a little bit different journalby Malykubo
(53 thanks from 32 posts)
 
Best Threads (Most Thanked)
in the last 7 days on futures io
I finally blew up an account
420 thanks
The Crude Dude Oil Trading System
81 thanks
Spoo-nalysis ES e-mini futures S&P 500
64 thanks
The tiyfTradePlanFactory indicator
25 thanks
Building a Crypto Mining Rig
19 thanks
 
(login for full post details)
  #2 (permalink)
 bobc635 
Tucson
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: Stage5
Trading: CL, YM
 
Posts: 195 since Jan 2011
Thanks: 135 given, 204 received

Hi Les, thanks for the indicator... I am toying with it... Can you explain what the colored diamonds are and how to use them???? They do not show up in the user panel..

Thanks

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #3 (permalink)
 bobc635 
Tucson
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: Stage5
Trading: CL, YM
 
Posts: 195 since Jan 2011
Thanks: 135 given, 204 received


Hi Les, thanks for the indicator... I am toying with it... Can you explain what the colored diamonds are and how to use them???? They do not show up in the user panel..

Thanks

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #4 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

Hi Bob, I guess I hid them too well at the bottom of the description. It would have been handy to be able to preview the indie post but I will just have to be more careful in the future.
  • double top and double bottom markers are done with purple and pink diamonds respectively
  • your break up and break down confirmation markers are done with green and blue diamonds

So I use the settings of the green and blue diamonds (Break Up and Break Down) to give me an indication whether I might be dealing with a "stop run" or attempted breakout. For your instrument you want to pick a level where you think past this point is not a stop run but rather a break out.

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #5 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

Congestion Box Delta large


Delta Transition


Standalone large


With CBox straight save

Started this thread Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to lesterb for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #6 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

Delta Transition small

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #7 (permalink)
 schroedray 
Norwalk, Iowa
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader 8
Broker: NinjaTrader Brokerage/Arrowfield/Kinetick/Rithmic/DtnIQ
Trading: ES, CL, YM, NQ
 
schroedray's Avatar
 
Posts: 41 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 37 given, 31 received

In the CBox indicator What do you enter in this field? Input series.
Screenshot 2021-04-08 104637

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #8 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

schroedray, that should pick up the input series from the chart where you are adding the CBox indicator

Started this thread Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to lesterb for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #9 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

Select one or both parameters for the CumDeltaShortTerm indie.


CumDelta Properties

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #10 (permalink)
 alazif 
Europe
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninjatrader
Trading: CL FDAX
 
Posts: 16 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 45 given, 3 received



lesterb View Post
This is mostly a placeholder to let people ask questions about any indies I have built, request changes or report issues.

There will be a link to this thread in all my indicators. This will also be a place for me to post things about those indicators.

If you have NEW indicators you want built, don't post in this thread, but request them in the "Want your NinjaTrader indicator created, free?" thread. (thx @forrestang for the idea)



Hello.
In first place, thnaks for your indicator.

I get an error in the CumDeltaShortTermV1 indicators.

Indicator 'CumDeltaShortTermV1': Error on calling 'OnBarUpdate' method on bar 4: You are accessing an index with a value that is invalid since it is out-of-range. I.E. accessing a series [barsAgo] with a value of 5 when there are only 4 bars on the chart.

Could you tell me how to resolve this?

Thanks again.

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #11 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

alazif please tell me which instrument and the specifics of your data series.
thx, lesterb

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #12 (permalink)
 alazif 
Europe
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninjatrader
Trading: CL FDAX
 
Posts: 16 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 45 given, 3 received


lesterb View Post
alazif please tell me which instrument and the specifics of your data series.
thx, lesterb

Hello.

NQ 6-21, i 1 minute chart.
Thanks.

imagen

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #13 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

Turn off tick replay and it should be OK.

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #14 (permalink)
 alazif 
Europe
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninjatrader
Trading: CL FDAX
 
Posts: 16 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 45 given, 3 received


lesterb View Post
Turn off tick replay and it should be OK.

why don't work with tick replay?

In a clean ninja8 installation it worked.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #15 (permalink)
 devro 
Visalia CA/USA
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader, Tradingview
Trading: Emini ES, Forex, Stocks, Options
 
Posts: 1 since Mar 2021
Thanks: 0 given, 0 received

Hello Lester,

First of all, thanks a bunch for the work with your indicators! I would like to request the ability to be able to "turn off" displaying the L4, L5, L6 values on the delta indicator. I love having the bar delta at the top, but the rest is not very useful for my strategy and is very distracting. Thanks in advance for your consideration!

Ray

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #16 (permalink)
 alazif 
Europe
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninjatrader
Trading: CL FDAX
 
Posts: 16 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 45 given, 3 received


lesterb View Post
Turn off tick replay and it should be OK.

Hello. Thanks for your indicator and your help.

Could you adapt the indicator to work in tick replay?

Thanks in advance and sory for the inconveniences.

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #17 (permalink)
 PapaD3rbz 
Rochester NY
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader 8
Broker: NT Brokerage
Trading: GC
 
PapaD3rbz's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Mar 2021
Thanks: 8 given, 4 received

I am getting a vertical line only on CL and none of the other instruments I monitor.. what is the cause of this and how can I get rid of it? Thank you.

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #18 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

@devro please check your private messages

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #19 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

@alazif I modified NinjaTrader Paul_H's BuySellStrength indicator that he modified from NinjaTrader forum member tulanch's NT7 version.

The link to that conversation is provided below. Paul_H would be the best person to ask to find out if it can work with Tick Replay turned on.

I do not know how to make that work.

lesterb


https://ninjatrader.com/support/forum/forum/ninjatrader-8/indicator-development/1121971-delta-bid-vs-ask-bars-in-same-panel

Started this thread Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to lesterb for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #20 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

@PapaD3rbz can you send me an image of your Data Series screen and User Interface for my indicator. Is my indicator working OK with your other instruments?

lesterb

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #21 (permalink)
 PapaD3rbz 
Rochester NY
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader 8
Broker: NT Brokerage
Trading: GC
 
PapaD3rbz's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Mar 2021
Thanks: 8 given, 4 received


lesterb View Post
@PapaD3rbz can you send me an image of your Data Series screen and User Interface for my indicator. Is my indicator working OK with your other instruments?

lesterb

Please see attached. Seems to be working great for my other instruments aside from some spacing issues when MNQ hits 4 digits of negative delta. Thank you.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CL 06-21 (Lizard T5R10) 2021_04_19 (10_55_31).png
Views:	46
Size:	44.7 KB
ID:	311747   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	30
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	311748  
Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #22 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

@PapaD3rbz it looks like the indicator setup is ok. Your data series looks unusual ( Lizard T5R10). If my indie is working fine with your other instruments then it looks like something in your CL that could be causing the problem. Sorry I have not seen that problem before.

Started this thread Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to lesterb for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #23 (permalink)
 PapaD3rbz 
Rochester NY
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader 8
Broker: NT Brokerage
Trading: GC
 
PapaD3rbz's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Mar 2021
Thanks: 8 given, 4 received


lesterb View Post
@PapaD3rbz it looks like the indicator setup is ok. Your data series looks unusual ( Lizard T5R10). If my indie is working fine with your other instruments then it looks like something in your CL that could be causing the problem. Sorry I have not seen that problem before.

Hmm.. I am using the same LizardRenko bars on all of my charts.. very odd. Thank you for looking into this.

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #24 (permalink)
 mauroqenk 
Bogota/Colombia
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader 8
Broker: Interactive Brokers and Ninja trader
Trading: Futures MNQ MES NQ ES
 
mauroqenk's Avatar
 
Posts: 18 since Mar 2021
Thanks: 9 given, 15 received

Hi,

Thanks for sharing this with the community, looks promising!.

I downloaded and installed the indicator but for some reason, it is showing 0 in all bars.

Instrument: ES, test it on the 1 and 5 mins chart.

Most likely I missed something

Screen002


Screen001



Best regards,

Mauricio C

Regards

Mauro C

Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #25 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

@mauroqenk please post an image of your user interface for the indicator and an image of the hard right hand side of your chart.
Thanks,
lesterb

PS it needs data coming in

Started this thread Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to lesterb for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #26 (permalink)
 mauroqenk 
Bogota/Colombia
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader 8
Broker: Interactive Brokers and Ninja trader
Trading: Futures MNQ MES NQ ES
 
mauroqenk's Avatar
 
Posts: 18 since Mar 2021
Thanks: 9 given, 15 received


lesterb View Post
@mauroqenk please post an image of your user interface for the indicator and an image of the hard right-hand side of your chart.
Thanks,
lesterb

PS it needs data coming in

Hey, thanks for your reply. As per your comment, it was just a matter of having data coming in.

Best regards,

Mauro!

Regards

Mauro C

Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #27 (permalink)
 Tangotx 
Houston, TX
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader 8
Broker: NinjaTrader/Dorman
Trading: ES/RTY
 
Posts: 27 since Jan 2017
Thanks: 10 given, 20 received


@lesterb

Here are some screenshots of the error messages that appear when saving a "template" that contains the CBoxCustomV1 indicator. As you can see, all the errors are related to the audio file settings.

I hope these screenshots helps.

Cheers.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CBoxCustomV1_Sreen_Shot_2.png
Views:	12
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	312057  
Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #28 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

@Tangotx will see what I can figure out.
lesterb

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #29 (permalink)
 lesterb 
Toronto, Canada
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT8
Trading: ES
 
lesterb's Avatar
 
Posts: 52 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 204 given, 58 received

@Tangotx I have figured out a short term workaround. Use an empty .wav file for each of the audio files and it works OK.

Will try and figure out a better fix.
lesterb

ps unable to attach .wav file

Started this thread Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #30 (permalink)
 Tangotx 
Houston, TX
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader 8
Broker: NinjaTrader/Dorman
Trading: ES/RTY
 
Posts: 27 since Jan 2017
Thanks: 10 given, 20 received

Noted; thanks @lesterb


lesterb View Post
@Tangotx I have figured out a short term workaround. Use an empty .wav file for each of the audio files and it works OK.

Will try and figure out a better fix.
lesterb

ps unable to attach .wav file


Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #31 (permalink)
 PapaD3rbz 
Rochester NY
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader 8
Broker: NT Brokerage
Trading: GC
 
PapaD3rbz's Avatar
 
Posts: 14 since Mar 2021
Thanks: 8 given, 4 received

Any chance we could add the ability to customize the lookback periods? Thank you.

Reply With Quote


futures io Trading Community Platforms and Indicators NinjaTrader > lesterb Indicator Thread - just a placeholder


Last Updated on May 4, 2021


Upcoming Webinars and Events

NinjaTrader Indicator Challenge!

Ongoing

Journal Challenge w/$1,800 in prizes!

May 7

The Cold Hard Truth: Maybe I Am Not Good Enough w/Chris Gray @ Earn2Trade

Elite only
     



Copyright © 2021 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, Ph: +507 833-9432 (Panama and Intl), +1 888-312-3001 (USA and Canada), info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts