Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures.io
futures.io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Started: by AdvancedIndicators Views / Replies:108,382 / 875
Last Reply: Attachments:48

Welcome to futures.io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.


You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #1 (permalink)
 Vendor: advancedindicators.com 
Vancouver, BC, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
AdvancedIndicators's Avatar
 
Posts: 45 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 2 given, 23 received

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Hi, I'm opening unofficial NT8 wish list thread! Since Ray has been so good to us with his presentations etc, I thought we'd compile a list and pass it on to Ray through BM.

So here're my first suggestions:

1) Make both IDataSeries and DataSeries to be IEnumeable so that we can use LINQ to query it.
For more info and examples of the power of LINQ: 101 LINQ Samples

2) Make an event that triggers when mouse click (or r-click, m-click) occurs on chart - something like OnMouseClick. I think this would be one great addition to chart trader functionality - ability to click on chart and have your strategy code be notified about it with accompanied info (keyboard keys pressed at the same time, price level where mouse pointer was, etc). That way, one could code strategies to be triggered by discretionary actions. Sort of semi-automation.

3) Same as #2 but only for keyboard action (combination pressesd, etc).

Thanks and keep them coming.

Reply With Quote
The following 7 users say Thank You to AdvancedIndicators for this post:
 
  #2 (permalink)
Elite Member
Honolulu, Hawaii
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: ATC/TT, AMP/Zen-Fire, AMP/CQG
Favorite Futures: TF
 
bluemele's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,547 since Jun 2010
Thanks: 3,806 given, 2,809 received

1. Option to scroll vertically without touching the cntrl key. By touching the chart and moving it around.

2. Trendlines to match up on all timeframes if you select 'global' as they currently do not.

3. Workspace options to stick multiple windows within one workspace.

4. Tick Data option to store on computer without 3rd party workarounds.

5. Customization of chart trader window. Ability to remove options, drag-n-drop items in different locations.

6. Better drawing tools, like grabbing the fibs or trendling anywhere and moving it or deleting it.

I realize this is asking a lot and I already love my Ninjatrader.

Reply With Quote
The following 8 users say Thank You to bluemele for this post:
 
  #3 (permalink)
Elite Member
MIAMI,FL
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Private
Favorite Futures: Zn,6E,6J
 
sharky's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,060 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 624 given, 3,868 received


able to move any indicator from any time to any chart,example take the supertrend from a one min chart and drag it over to a renko chart but still have it display from the one min chart ect.ect...sharky

KILLING THE MARKETS DAILY
Reply With Quote
The following 7 users say Thank You to sharky for this post:
 
  #4 (permalink)
Elite Member
Baltimore, MD
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: TS & Ninja
Broker/Data: TS / AMP
Favorite Futures: ES, NQ, Bunker C
 
kvankuren's Avatar
 
Posts: 42 since May 2010
Thanks: 88 given, 63 received

Wish List is short - be able to copy a chart and paste it inside current workspace, or inside another workspace, instead of saving a template.

Reply With Quote
The following 8 users say Thank You to kvankuren for this post:
 
  #5 (permalink)
Elite Member
Australia
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Custom
Favorite Futures: GC, CL, ES, 6E
 
TraderJ's Avatar
 
Posts: 23 since Sep 2009
Thanks: 779 given, 36 received

Strategy Analyzer lost params

Futures Edge on FIO

Which products do you trade?

 
When using the strategy analyzer, when i make an adjustment to the strategy and recompile, the strategy analyzer forgets the optimization settings and I have to reenter them.
This gets annoying because the normal workflow when you find a bug is that you fix the strategy, recompile, then want to see that the bug fix worked. Unfortunately all the params are lost so you have to try to remember what settings you were using for the previous opto, and re enter them one by one, 3 entries per param.
This is a standard use case of the strategy analyzer but does not work well.

Thanks for the rest of Ninjatrader though

Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to TraderJ for this post:
 
  #6 (permalink)
Elite Member
Honolulu, Hawaii
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: ATC/TT, AMP/Zen-Fire, AMP/CQG
Favorite Futures: TF
 
bluemele's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,547 since Jun 2010
Thanks: 3,806 given, 2,809 received


TraderJ View Post
When using the strategy analyzer, when i make an adjustment to the strategy and recompile, the strategy analyzer forgets the optimization settings and I have to reenter them.
This gets annoying because the normal workflow when you find a bug is that you fix the strategy, recompile, then want to see that the bug fix worked. Unfortunately all the params are lost so you have to try to remember what settings you were using for the previous opto, and re enter them one by one, 3 entries per param.
This is a standard use case of the strategy analyzer but does not work well.

Thanks for the rest of Ninjatrader though

On the Strategy window, right click and it will give you a option to save your settings. This is already in NT7.

Reply With Quote
The following 2 users say Thank You to bluemele for this post:
 
  #7 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: SierraChart
Broker/Data: Optimus, Rithmic
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Posts: 67 since Sep 2011
Thanks: 6 given, 32 received


bluemele View Post
1. Option to scroll vertically without touching the cntrl key. By touching the chart and moving it around.

Just curious, in this case, would you want it to imply fixed scaling mode as soon as a user dragged it vertically? Thinking about it, It could 'pop' off the vertical lock and use fixed and 'pop' back in back to whatever the chart setting is. Otherwise there is the chance of flickering the scaling for the first couple pixels up/down

Reply With Quote
 
  #8 (permalink)
Elite Member
In the heat
 
Futures Experience: None
Platform: NT
Favorite Futures: Energy
 
PandaWarrior's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,154 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 6,306 given, 13,209 received

1. I would like the OPTION of having my data box data displayed on the window header. NOT on the chart. I dislike having another window open to display the data box.

2. Click and drag the chart around. the current method is time consuming

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication, Leonardo da Vinci


Most people chose unhappiness over uncertainty, Tim Ferris
Reply With Quote
The following 2 users say Thank You to PandaWarrior for this post:
 
  #9 (permalink)
Elite Member
Switzerland
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: custom
Broker/Data: LMAX
Favorite Futures: spot EUR/USD, USD/JPY, GBP/USD
 
Posts: 286 since Dec 2009
Thanks: 242 given, 109 received

Right now, when doing a backup of NinjaTrader, some options contain multiple items.
"Database" for instance contains ATM Strategy templates, Session templates, Instrument Lists / Custom Instruments and historical trade execution data.
I'm assuming "configuration files" contain multiple items too.

In NT8 each items should be separated so user can pick only what he needs to backup.

Also, very important point, right now when restoring a backup NT file, it overwrites any existing installation. This is very not practical !
Let's say I want to share with a friend a non-supported list of futures instruments that I created myself, and that he has also created some new (and different) ones on his computer. If he restores my database backup file, he will get my list of instruments for sure but he will also lose his as well.

Therefore, during restore window, there should be an "overwrite" box to check or not for each items forwarded in the backup file.
This possibility should be available on user side for any important usefull items that could be shared between people : i.e. ATM strategy templates, session templates, instrument lists / custom instruments, all types of templates, etc
Because you just don't want to start from a blank NT installation each time you want to share those stuff... (non-sense right now)

Reply With Quote
The following 2 users say Thank You to SARdynamite for this post:
 
  #10 (permalink)
Elite Member
Honolulu, Hawaii
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: ATC/TT, AMP/Zen-Fire, AMP/CQG
Favorite Futures: TF
 
bluemele's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,547 since Jun 2010
Thanks: 3,806 given, 2,809 received



dmh24 View Post
Just curious, in this case, would you want it to imply fixed scaling mode as soon as a user dragged it vertically? Thinking about it, It could 'pop' off the vertical lock and use fixed and 'pop' back in back to whatever the chart setting is. Otherwise there is the chance of flickering the scaling for the first couple pixels up/down

Same way TradeStation does it. No fixed scaling unless you select fixed. If you select fixed, then no dragging.

Same way it works now except when it isn't fixed allow you to drag it around.

Reply With Quote

Reply



futures.io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)
 

Anthony Drager: Pulling the trigger with confidence

Elite only
 

Leo Murphy: The Art and Science of Technical Analysis

Elite only
 

FuturesTrader71: Ask Me Anything

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 01:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 06:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 08:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 01:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 PM.

no new posts
Page generated 2017-01-22 in 0.15 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.211.179.232