Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Updated: Views / Replies:119,934 / 881
Created: by AdvancedIndicators Attachments:48

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 90,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors Ė all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you donít need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #861 (permalink)
Elite Member
ITAJAI SC/BRAZIL
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Clear Corretora
Favorite Futures: DOLFUT, WINFUT
 
Posts: 181 since Jun 2014
Thanks: 758 given, 130 received

How?


danielk View Post
A really comforting feature were if NT8 could have an optional function to place a stop(close all positions and orders) order at XXticks from the current price IF the connection between client and datafeed would be lost/disconnect.

This way users could substantially limit the dangers of connection losses.

You mean, when connected the stop is already there?
Because.. if the connection has been lost, how to send this order?

Or maybe you are talking about some feature NT8 has that I am not aware..

I heard someting about ATMs strategies allocated at Ninja's servers.. is that what are you refering to?


Last edited by MrTrader; May 2nd, 2016 at 05:03 PM. Reason: typos
Reply With Quote
 
  #862 (permalink)
Elite Member
Atkinson, NH USA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader 8/TensorFlow
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: Futures, CL, ES, ZB
 
NJAMC's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,907 since Dec 2010
Thanks: 2,949 given, 2,273 received


danielk View Post
A really comforting feature were if NT8 could have an optional function to place a stop(close all positions and orders) order at XXticks from the current price IF the connection between client and datafeed would be lost/disconnect.

This way users could substantially limit the dangers of connection losses.

Hi @danielk,

You can kinda do that now with any trading platform. NT8/7 included. The issue with the broken connection is that you cannot place/change orders so it is too late to try and reduce risk. The concept I see here is to setup a "Trailing stop" at your risk level. NT8 and possibly your broker will continue to move it during a live session (maybe 30 ticks away from current or whatever), but if the connection is broken, and your broker has the feature, the broker will move the trailing stop if you loose a connection.

Can't hurt to have a "we should never reach this price" stop loss in place for data-outages.

Nil per os
-NJAMC [Generic Programmer]

LOM WIKI: NT-Local-Order-Manager-LOM-Guide
Artificial Bee Colony Optimization
Reply With Quote
 
  #863 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Stavanger, Norway
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Ninjabroker, Continuum
Favorite Futures: ES, CL, Bonds
 
Posts: 654 since Nov 2012
Thanks: 877 given, 1,669 received
Forum Reputation: Legendary


Heya guys,

Normal NT stops(not sure about strategies like trailing) are afaik placed at broker/exchange, so a potential outage should not affect that safety measure even when you disconnect(ensure its a market stop, not limit order).

However, this requires you to manually set a stop after placing an order- and while i always do this(at a "disaster level") it would be nice to know that if something happened right between the order placing and stop placing(or i just got sloppy during a small scalp), you would still be safe. Or if you have a pending limit order, maybe you would want to cancel it when a DC occured.

Your datafeed provider should in theory be able to register when a connection is lost, possibly after a small timeout period. And i know CQG allows you to log in to their web interface and flatten orders directly there so it seems possible to me.

It might however be something that the datafeed provider and NT would have to cooperate on, so initially maybe just possible for us NTbroker customers.

Reply With Quote
 
  #864 (permalink)
Elite Member
Boston, MA / USA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Posts: 191 since Apr 2013
Thanks: 2,000 given, 248 received

As I remember, depending on the broker, stops are resident on the broker's server or on the user's computer. Somewhere on the NT forum there is a descriptive list how resting orders are handled for each supported broker. It is embedded within a thread.

Reply With Quote
 
  #865 (permalink)
Market Wizard
Stavanger, Norway
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Ninjabroker, Continuum
Favorite Futures: ES, CL, Bonds
 
Posts: 654 since Nov 2012
Thanks: 877 given, 1,669 received
Forum Reputation: Legendary


MrTrader View Post
You mean, when connected the stop is already there?
Because.. if the connection has been lost, how to send this order?

Or maybe you are talking about some feature NT8 has that I am not aware..

I heard someting about ATMs strategies allocated at Ninja's servers.. is that what are you refering to?

Your client cant transmit anything when you lose connection or get a power outage etc.

But a connection is between 2 points: you and your datafeed. When you start NT, you contact datafeed servers and start requesting datafeeds that are on your charts. Your datafeed provider starts feeding you this data. When you disconnect, the datafeed provider will know that suddenly no data is being received- and it will stop pumping data to your client that is no longer "there".

So in theory, it should be possible for the datafeed provider to notice when you disconnect- and then submit stop/close orders on your behalf a certain distance from current price.

For more on stops see http://ninjatrader.com/support/forum/showthread.php?t=5349&highlight=order+reside and
Stop loss even when computer down? - NinjaTrader Support Forum and Broker server held profit and stops - NinjaTrader Support Forum

So basically any OCO or ATM based trade has the potential to blow up your account if you are unlucky. With my suggestion, you can eliminate the risk totally by setting a certain threshold of acceptable risk/loss before the datafeed provider closes all your positions and orders for you once it registers a timeout from your NT client.


Last edited by danielk; May 3rd, 2016 at 08:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to danielk for this post:
 
  #866 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,230 since May 2010
Thanks: 150 given, 1,855 received


Camdo View Post
As I remember, depending on the broker, stops are resident on the broker's server or on the user's computer. Somewhere on the NT forum there is a descriptive list how resting orders are handled for each supported broker. It is embedded within a thread.

With the exception of simulated stop orders, all regular stop market and stoplimit orders are NOT on users computer (for futures) but held at the exchange.


Last edited by NinjaTrader; May 3rd, 2016 at 09:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
  #867 (permalink)
Elite Member
ITAJAI SC/BRAZIL
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Clear Corretora
Favorite Futures: DOLFUT, WINFUT
 
Posts: 181 since Jun 2014
Thanks: 758 given, 130 received

connection between 3 points in my case

Hi danielk, thank you.

In my case, its a tri-point-connection: Me-DataFeeder-Broker
And they are all independent.
DataFeeder does not know the existence of my broker and vice-versa.

Maybe @NinjaTrader+NinjaBrokerage are working on a solution on this subject, working together, they are/would be "aware of everything"(orders, connections, feed, ..) so, in this case could exist a solution.. like server-running-ATMs.. or other approach..








danielk View Post
Your client cant transmit anything when you lose connection or get a power outage etc.

But a connection is between 2 points: you and your datafeed. When you start NT, you contact datafeed servers and start requesting datafeeds that are on your charts. Your datafeed provider starts feeding you this data. When you disconnect, the datafeed provider will know that suddenly no data is being received- and it will stop pumping data to your client that is no longer "there".

So in theory, it should be possible for the datafeed provider to notice when you disconnect- and then submit stop/close orders on your behalf a certain distance from current price.

For more on stops see Where do your orders reside? - NinjaTrader Support Forum and
Stop loss even when computer down? - NinjaTrader Support Forum and Broker server held profit and stops - NinjaTrader Support Forum



Last edited by MrTrader; May 3rd, 2016 at 09:56 AM. Reason: typos
Reply With Quote
 
  #868 (permalink)
Tradertom2012
Bangkok Thailand
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Ninjatrader 8
Broker/Data: Berkeley Futures & Phillip Capital / Continuum
Favorite Futures: ES Mini
 
Posts: 7 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 3 given, 0 received

Could someone code the JTRelativeVolume.cs indicator to be compatible with Ninjatrader 8. Would be much appreciated, thanks :-)

Reply With Quote
 
  #869 (permalink)
Flying In A Blue Dream
Jefferson City, Missouri
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: CL ES
 
SatchFan's Avatar
 
Posts: 223 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 327 given, 200 received


tradertom2012 View Post
Could someone code the JTRelativeVolume.cs indicator to be compatible with Ninjatrader 8. Would be much appreciated, thanks :-)

You will probably get better results by posting your request in this thread: https://futures.io/elite-circle/35208-converting-ninjatrader-7-indicators-ninjatrader-8-free.html

Reply With Quote
 
  #870 (permalink)
Tradertom2012
Bangkok Thailand
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Ninjatrader 8
Broker/Data: Berkeley Futures & Phillip Capital / Continuum
Favorite Futures: ES Mini
 
Posts: 7 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 3 given, 0 received



SatchFan View Post
You will probably get better results by posting your request in this thread: https://futures.io/elite-circle/35208-converting-ninjatrader-7-indicators-ninjatrader-8-free.html

Thanks SatchFan, will do.

Reply With Quote

Reply



futures io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

July Journal Challenge w/$1100 in prizes from TopstepTrader

July
 

An Afternoon with FIO member Softsoap

Elite only

Battlestations: Show us your trading desks and win $750 in prizes

August
 

Extended Ask Me Anything w/Brett Steenbarger

Elite only

Prototyping Python Strategies (part 3) w/Ran Aroussi

Elite only

Brannigan Barrett w/Axia Futures

Elite only

Introduction to Phillip Capital futures brokerage services

Aug TBD

How Monte Carlo Analysis Can Help Your Trading w/Kevin Davey

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 AM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-07-28 in 0.08 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.224.106.124