Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures.io
futures io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Started: by AdvancedIndicators Views / Replies:111,689 / 877
Last Reply: Attachments:48

Welcome to futures io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.


You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #741 (permalink)
Elite Member
Copenhagen, Denmark
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Fib Fib and Fib.!
Favorite Futures: Setup
 
Posts: 295 since May 2011
Thanks: 54 given, 157 received

I hope to see some major improvement to Fib tools. So it's possible to define transparency for line and put define range bar in tools also with transparency. And have the amount of lines and range bars I want. I have never understood why fib tools is made the way it is.!

Reply With Quote
 
  #742 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,211 since May 2010
Thanks: 144 given, 1,818 received


magicknow View Post
@NinjaTrader

Question about NT8, will it have more complete error reporting such that if one of my workspaces hangs during loading that it can report what chart or indicator is causing the issue? Sometimes I have issues with a workspace not loading, nothing happens in terms of errors in the log, the CPU load just goes to <1% and the workspace never completes loading. sometimes this can be caused by out dated contracts in the workspace. I would be nice to know what is causing the hang so it is easier to correct.

Also what level of stability are you expecting in the first beta release? It seems there has been a lot of time taken to test it before release, can we expect it to be quite stable? will you have a list of know bugs at beta release?

thanks

magicknow

While there is definitely improved error reporting and handling, it's not in the area you specified. That is difficult to do. Since NT8 is has multi-core support, the experience will be different. Only UI's running on the thread where the bad indicator would be affected. So in essence, you could have several UI's lock up but the others just running fine.

With respect to stability, that is hard to answer since you don't know what you don't know.

- NT8 sans charts has been running in production and used for risk management across thousands of accounts daily on our order desk since November, this is using the Continuum/CQG interface where most of our customers are on so I am ultra confident in this interface.
- We are still finding issues every day and likely will even as we release beta

What I can say is that I feel NT8 is in a more stable state than NT7 was as we released beta.


Last edited by NinjaTrader; March 19th, 2015 at 09:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
The following 4 users say Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
  #743 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,211 since May 2010
Thanks: 144 given, 1,818 received



jta3 View Post
I hope to see some major improvement to Fib tools. So it's possible to define transparency for line and put define range bar in tools also with transparency. And have the amount of lines and range bars I want. I have never understood why fib tools is made the way it is.!

It's not clear to me what you mean with respect to range bars. You can define X lines with transparency in NT8. However, if the tool does not meet your requirements the good news is that Drawing Tools are now NinjaScript objects which means that developers can build whatever drawing tools they want.

I made a quick NT8 video on the Fib Tools - 2015-03-19_0709 - NinjaTraderLLC's library

Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
  #744 (permalink)
Elite Member
Copenhagen, Denmark
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Fib Fib and Fib.!
Favorite Futures: Setup
 
Posts: 295 since May 2011
Thanks: 54 given, 157 received


NinjaTrader View Post
It's not clear to me what you mean with respect to range bars. You can define X lines with transparency in NT8. However, if the tool does not meet your requirements the good news is that Drawing Tools are now NinjaScript objects which means that developers can build whatever drawing tools they want.

I made a quick NT8 video on the Fib Tools - 2015-03-19_0709 - NinjaTraderLLC's library

Thanks for video.

With Transparency i mean amount of transparency 0-100% on lines and range bars.
Range bars is defined between 2 fib value.
The problem is when you have 3-4 fibs on chart there will be so may lines that it's difficult to see what is what. With transparent range bars it much more easy to see rest of the chart. And see Confluence zone.

Attached Thumbnails
Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!-rangebars.png  
Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to jta3 for this post:
 
  #745 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,211 since May 2010
Thanks: 144 given, 1,818 received

Futures Edge on FIO

jta3 View Post
Thanks for video.

With Transparency i mean amount of transparency 0-100% on lines and range bars.
Range bars is defined between 2 fib value.
The problem is when you have 3-4 fibs on chart there will be so may lines that it's difficult to see what is what. With transparent range bars it much more easy to see rest of the chart. And see Confluence zone.

Thanks for the clarification. I have always used the term "Opacity" for that. As you saw in the video, out of the box that is not possible however, if there is enough demand to have Fibs operate in the manner you have just shown, a community developer could take the existing NT8 fib implementation and customize it.

Reply With Quote
 
  #746 (permalink)
Elite Member
Copenhagen, Denmark
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Fib Fib and Fib.!
Favorite Futures: Setup
 
Posts: 295 since May 2011
Thanks: 54 given, 157 received


NinjaTrader View Post
Thanks for the clarification. I have always used the term "Opacity" for that. As you saw in the video, out of the box that is not possible however, if there is enough demand to have Fibs operate in the manner you have just shown, a community developer could take the existing NT8 fib implementation and customize it.

Well I hope to see some Opacity on lines, so there are a chance to se the chart.

Reply With Quote
 
  #747 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
Bellevue, WA/USA
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, ThinkorSwim
Favorite Futures: Options
 
Posts: 4 since Oct 2012
Thanks: 2 given, 1 received


NinjaTrader View Post
The latest on NinjaTrader 8 is
  • We will release beta to an initial group sometime before the end of April
  • I will be presenting NinjaTrader 8 Beta here at futures.io (formerly BMT) on Tuesday, May 12th

I am concerned about the performance issues and I am sure my support team can help, 99% of the time a client has performance issues its related to poorly coded or resource intensive custom indicators. Six or seven charts with system indicators will not pose a problem.

Please PM me with your contact information and I will have someone from my support team reach out and work with you so we can report back our findings in this thread.

Thanks much for the information on the release date. That is very good news.

I am only running two custom indicators based on NT code with very minor modifications to simply color fill below and above a line, and only when it updates the indicator. All indicators are set to only update on bar close, in my case 5 minute bars at the lowest. Careful review of NT forum posts suggest that the problem I'm having is due to the sheer number of indicators (16) I'm using per chart. I will PM you later today.

Reply With Quote
 
  #748 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
Bellevue, WA/USA
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, ThinkorSwim
Favorite Futures: Options
 
Posts: 4 since Oct 2012
Thanks: 2 given, 1 received


timefreedom View Post
Would be great if @freetrader would actually take advantage of this offer and then actually report the outcome back here on the thread. Not directed toward @freetrader at all, but have seen time after time, people gripe about how awful Ninja is and then it turns out the custom indicator their uncle wrote for them contains a few endless loops and their 15 year old computer with almost a full Gig of RAM just keeps freezing. One thing I know for sure... If you're not making $$$ with Ninja 7, Ninja 8 is not going to do the trick.

I'd like to point out that I have exactly two gripes that are causing problems and I've extensively researched both of them. One is known bug that NT support has said won't be fixed until NT 8. It has nothing to do with indicators. The other is the single threaded architecture that understandably gets bogged down when there are too many charts with too many indicators open. From the NT support page:
_____________________

Chart Performance Tips
• Set chart indicators "Calculate on bar close" property to a value of 'True'
• Increase your chart refresh interval by increasing the value of the chart property "Display update interval (sec)"
• Reduce the number of bars on your chart (days back or bars back settings under "Format Data Series" dialog window
• Reduce the number of running indicators
• If you are running a custom or 3rd party indicator or strategy, remove them to isolate if these custom NinjaScript objects may be a CPU or memory drain
_____________________

I use Andrews Pitchforks extensively which require a lot of historical data, sometimes multiple years on an intraday chart. With 16 studies applied to, say 10 charts it means that 160 studies have to update across thousands of bars when data is reloaded. That's a lot to ask of a single threaded application. NT recognizes this and is fixing it in NT 8. Regarding custom indicators - I had the same problem even before I made changes to a couple of them.


Last edited by freetrader; March 20th, 2015 at 12:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
 
  #749 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,211 since May 2010
Thanks: 144 given, 1,818 received


freetrader View Post
I'd like to point out that I have exactly two gripes that are causing problems. One is known bug that NT support has said won't be fixed until NT 8. It has nothing to do with indicators. The other is the single threaded architecture that understandably gets bogged down when there are too many charts with too many indicators open. From their support page:
_____________________

Chart Performance Tips
• Set chart indicators "Calculate on bar close" property to a value of 'True'
• Increase your chart refresh interval by increasing the value of the chart property "Display update interval (sec)"
• Reduce the number of bars on your chart (days back or bars back settings under "Format Data Series" dialog window
• Reduce the number of running indicators
• If you are running a custom or 3rd party indicator or strategy, remove them to isolate if these custom NinjaScript objects may be a CPU or memory drain
_____________________

I use Andrews Pitchforks extensively which require a lot of historical data, sometimes multiple years on a intraday chart. With 16 studies applied to, say 10 charts it means that 160 studies have to update across thousands of bars when data is reloaded. That's a lot to ask of a single threaded application. NT recognizes this and is fixing it in NT 8. Regarding custom indicators - I had the same problem even before I made changes to a couple of them.

Please PM your contact information so that my team can contact you and we can look up your history and see what we can do, also please include your license key. Thanks.

Reply With Quote
 
  #750 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
Bellevue, WA/USA
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, ThinkorSwim
Favorite Futures: Options
 
Posts: 4 since Oct 2012
Thanks: 2 given, 1 received



NinjaTrader View Post
Please PM your contact information so that my team can contact you and we can look up your history and see what we can do, also please include your license key. Thanks.

I do not have permissions on this board to do so. I've sent an email from the NT support forum instead.

Reply With Quote

Reply



futures io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)
 

Spring Grains Outlook w/Sean Lusk @ Walsh Trading

Elite only

FIO Video Journal Challenge featuring NinjaTrader ($2,000+ of prizes)

April

Process above all else w/Anthony Crudele @ Futures Radio Show

Elite only

Machine Learning - Quantitative Trading w/Martin Froehler @ Quantiacs

Elite only

Market Dynamics w/Peter Davies @ Jigsaw Trading

Elite only

Ask Me Anything w/Patrick Rooney @ Trading Technologies

Apr 18

Ask Me Anything w/FuturesTrader71

Apr 19

Machine Learning w/Kris Longmore

Elite only

Market Analysis w/Dave Forss

Apr 25

Introducing iSystems with Stage 5 Trading

Apr 27
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.

no new posts
Page generated 2017-03-27 in 0.15 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.211.233.235