Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures io social trading
futures io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Updated: Views / Replies:115,241 / 880
Created: by AdvancedIndicators Attachments:48

Welcome to futures io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.


You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #61 (permalink)
 Vendor: advancedindicators.com 
Vancouver, BC, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
AdvancedIndicators's Avatar
 
Posts: 45 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 2 given, 23 received


NinjaTrader View Post
Is this what you are looking for OnConnectionStatus() ?

I'll check it out. We'd still need property(s) as well - in case we lose connection just before we launched ind/strat - hence event will not trigger.

Reply With Quote
 
  #62 (permalink)
Elite Member
Leesburg, VA
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
 
Posts: 78 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 74 given, 29 received


Big Mike View Post
Allow the importing of .cs files. If it compiles great, if not throw a warning message. But too many people try to import .cs and don't understand why it doesn't work.

Mike

The whole error in the code thing needs beefing up as well. Sometimes it points you to a .cs file that's external to the one you're compiling and you have to really think about the error to know that. More intelligent error identification and help would be a major step forward. Recently saw some discussion regarding a conflict with a .cs file with the same name and it didn't state there was already a version that compiled in the indicator list. Think this was in Fat Tails thread with his recent indicator. Once the other file was removed then the wheels began turning again.

Reply With Quote
 
  #63 (permalink)
 Vendor: advancedindicators.com 
Vancouver, BC, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
AdvancedIndicators's Avatar
 
Posts: 45 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 2 given, 23 received


GO Strategy Analyzer:

1) Right now, we have to wait until the entire run is completed in order to see any results. It'd much better to see the list with new entries added as they come along and have the ability to check them out while GO continues searching in the background.

2) GO should be able to continue searching from where it finished last - instead of starting from scratch.

3) It'd be very good to have the ability to run multiple instances of Strat Analyzer and perform searches, etc on different instruments and strats at the same time. I've noticed that my machine is under-utilized with some searches - so why not have the ability to run additional ones at the same time? Already available in 7 - sorry about that


Last edited by AdvancedIndicators; November 17th, 2011 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to AdvancedIndicators for this post:
 
  #64 (permalink)
Elite Member
Canada
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NT, TS
Broker/Data: Amp
Favorite Futures: ES
 
sharp2be's Avatar
 
Posts: 57 since Sep 2009
Thanks: 1 given, 69 received

1. Tabbed workspaces (similar to Tradestation) would be fantastic
2. Ability to add the same symbol twice to a market analyzer window (different groups)

Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to sharp2be for this post:
 
  #65 (permalink)
Elite Member
Switzerland
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: custom
Broker/Data: LMAX
Favorite Futures: spot EUR/USD, USD/JPY, GBP/USD
 
Posts: 289 since Dec 2009
Thanks: 242 given, 109 received

Ability to open multi-Dataseries charts with the exact same timeframe / DataSeries ! Right now you're forced to pick different timeframes which sounds like a stupid technical limitation.

If your one timeframe chart is too clustered, it is practical to have one 'locked" chart window with 2 identical dataseries rather than 2 separate chart windows with the same dataseries (this can be used to display one long side only strategy on the above panel and only shorts on the below panel, or different indicators if they superimpose too much on one panel)

Reply With Quote
 
  #66 (permalink)
Elite Member
glostrup, denmark
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Custom platform
Broker/Data: CQG
Favorite Futures: Futures, Options, Stocks
 
ktrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 248 since Aug 2011
Thanks: 151 given, 273 received

more flexible multidatafeed support

Ability to open the same symbol from multiple datafeeds at the same time (in different charts or doms)

Flexible mapping of symbols to datafeed so it is possible to define which datafeed is used for what symbol.

Reply With Quote
 
  #67 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
montreal
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
 
Posts: 4 since Feb 2010
Thanks: 1 given, 1 received

IMHO here's what really needs to be fixed:

- keep a cache of the data on the computer and use that for historical purpose (I know there's an option somewhere in there but make it automatic and no need to refresh when i disconnect and reconnect 2 hours later) - I'm really sick of dealing with the popup saying IB maximum feed request for history exceeded.

- make a better popup management system - current system reminds me of the old iphone alerts. you get 10 popups saying "IB maximum feed request exceeded" or something of that sort and you have to click 10 times which is just ridiculous.

Tabbed charts would be awesome (like firefox for charts)


Last edited by blurobot; November 23rd, 2011 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
 
  #68 (permalink)
Elite Member
San Antonio, Texas USA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader, Tradestation
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
Posts: 44 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 35 given, 33 received

1. Please make the strategy performance tools such as Summary, Trades, Equity curve, etc. able to track live trades only. Currently, if you open a chart with historic data and start a strategy, it includes the theorhetical trades along with live trades! These performance tools to review your live trading would be so helpful, but it is apparently impossible to filter only live trades. I can't think of any useful information gained from mixing live and theorhetical trades. I am very surprised that you cannot apply live trades only OR backtest/theorhetical trades only. Having this info to review your actual trading would be immensely convenient and valuable. Having this info include non-live trades is completely useless!

2. Please add batch downloads to Market Replay. Day by day is torture! Market replay is the only tool we have with NT to legitimately test strategies. Batch would allow us to test more than a few weeks without going insane trying to make sure we didn't skip a day.

3. Luxury item: Your customer support is great! But how about a subscription based live chat tech support service for us impatient traders?

Reply With Quote
 
  #69 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
Montreal, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Interactive Brokers/Kinetick
Favorite Futures: Crude Oil
 
AspeK's Avatar
 
Posts: 8 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 3 given, 1 received

In ATM strategies, you can't put the STOP LOSS as a limit order with an offset of 0.

The option is in the chart trader properties but doesn't work for the ATM STOP.


Last edited by AspeK; November 24th, 2011 at 12:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
 
  #70 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,225 since May 2010
Thanks: 147 given, 1,838 received



billr View Post
1. Please make the strategy performance tools such as Summary, Trades, Equity curve, etc. able to track live trades only. Currently, if you open a chart with historic data and start a strategy, it includes the theorhetical trades along with live trades! These performance tools to review your live trading would be so helpful, but it is apparently impossible to filter only live trades. I can't think of any useful information gained from mixing live and theorhetical trades. I am very surprised that you cannot apply live trades only OR backtest/theorhetical trades only. Having this info to review your actual trading would be immensely convenient and valuable. Having this info include non-live trades is completely useless!

If I understand you correctly, I beleive we already do what you are requesting.

Please check out the section "How to view Strategy Performance" at the following page in our Help Guide - Strategies Tab

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:

Reply



futures io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

FIO Journal Challenge featuring NinjaTrader ($2,000+ of prizes)

May
 

EasyLanguage ABC's: Mastering TradeStation Programming w/Chris Kaiser

Elite only
 

Prototyping Python Strategies (part 2: Backtesting) w/Ran Aroussi [special time: 1PM ET]

Elite only
 

Portfolio Diversification w/Brendon Delate @ Diversify Portfolio

Elite only

An Afternoon with FIO member Softsoap (being rescheduled)

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a. Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-05-23 in 0.12 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.92.175.204