Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures io social day trading
futures io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Updated: Views / Replies:119,638 / 881
Created: by AdvancedIndicators Attachments:48

Welcome to futures io.

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

futures io is the largest futures trading community on the planet, with over 90,000 members. At futures io, our goal has always been and always will be to create a friendly, positive, forward-thinking community where members can openly share and discuss everything the world of trading has to offer. The community is one of the friendliest you will find on any subject, with members going out of their way to help others. Some of the primary differences between futures io and other trading sites revolve around the standards of our community. Those standards include a code of conduct for our members, as well as extremely high standards that govern which partners we do business with, and which products or services we recommend to our members.

At futures io, our focus is on quality education. No hype, gimmicks, or secret sauce. The truth is: trading is hard. To succeed, you need to surround yourself with the right support system, educational content, and trading mentors Ė all of which you can find on futures io, utilizing our social trading environment.

With futures io, you can find honest trading reviews on brokers, trading rooms, indicator packages, trading strategies, and much more. Our trading review process is highly moderated to ensure that only genuine users are allowed, so you donít need to worry about fake reviews.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading sites:
  • We are here to help. Just let us know what you need.
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive in our community.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, we can help you find it.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #661 (permalink)
Elite Member
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Ninja Trader
Favorite Futures: 6E, CL, Anything that moves
 
Posts: 317 since Jun 2012
Thanks: 323 given, 91 received


EnsoTrader View Post
Would like to see a click "override" on the SuperDOM.
Currently have the choice of "show confirm" dialog or not show it.
Would like to have 3rd choice of "show confirm" as default but, say, Shift+click acts as "don't show confirm"

Click "override" ? What does that mean... we have to be precise on what we mean so that Ray from Ninja knows what we are talking about..?

Do you mean like a 'SAFETY' on the DOM - so that it doesn't register clicks? Like Jigsaw?

Reply With Quote
 
  #662 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
Durham, NC
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Kinetick
Favorite Futures: ES, CL
 
Posts: 48 since Oct 2014
Thanks: 0 given, 20 received


OpalDragon View Post
Click "override" ? What does that mean... we have to be precise on what we mean so that Ray from Ninja knows what we are talking about..?

Do you mean like a 'SAFETY' on the DOM - so that it doesn't register clicks? Like Jigsaw?

I'm not familiar with Jigsaw, so can't comment on that.

See the 3rd line of my post.
Currently the DOM has 2 states: show confirm dialog or don't show confirm dialog.
The first won't send the order until you click ok on the dialog, and the second instantly sends the order.
Looking for a 3rd state: Default to show confirm with a click (current state 1), or hold a key (like shift or control or alt or ...) and that makes it behave as if the show confirm requirement is off (current state 2). The "key" lets you toggle between the 2 modes.

Reply With Quote
 
  #663 (permalink)
Elite Member
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Ninja Trader
Favorite Futures: 6E, CL, Anything that moves
 
Posts: 317 since Jun 2012
Thanks: 323 given, 91 received


@NinjaTrader

Ray --

WE REALLY Really Need the ability to MAKE ONE DATA SERIES ON THE CHART --- the DOMINANT DATA SERIES --- when it comes to controlling the time axis.

What I mean is:

IF we have 2 or more data Series on the chart -- THE TIME AXIS GOES ALL CRAZY if they are not the exact same time series of charts :O and we get the UN-EQUAL BAR SPACING.

Well I would love the ability to make ONE DATA SERIES have EQUAL BAR SPACING and be the one that is the dominant one on the time axis and the other one can have all the weird bar spacing it wants!

this is so that we can actually have the 5min ES in the "background"(and have somekind of support and resistance lines from the 5min) but keep that data series hidden and then ACTUALLY TRADE of some other chart like tick, volume, range, etc...

This would be awesome -- because right now if we put 2 different data series like that -- we just end up with a HUGE MESS on the chart! :O :O Which obviously sucks.

It would be awesome and powerful to do that. >>> Basically tie the x-axis TO ONE of the Data Series <<< the one WE choose by a parameter somewhere >>> THEN have the other data series plot anywhere else... in the background.


I try to make the data series in the "background" the same color as the background so that it disappears and then try to use the other time frame for the trading!

THINK OF THIS WAY >>> WE should have all the info we need on one chart practically. >> With the main trading Data Series NOT distorted.

THANKS !

Reply With Quote
 
  #664 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,230 since May 2010
Thanks: 150 given, 1,853 received


OpalDragon View Post
@NinjaTrader

Ray --

WE REALLY Really Need the ability to MAKE ONE DATA SERIES ON THE CHART --- the DOMINANT DATA SERIES --- when it comes to controlling the time axis.

What I mean is:

IF we have 2 or more data Series on the chart -- THE TIME AXIS GOES ALL CRAZY if they are not the exact same time series of charts :O and we get the UN-EQUAL BAR SPACING.

Well I would love the ability to make ONE DATA SERIES have EQUAL BAR SPACING and be the one that is the dominant one on the time axis and the other one can have all the weird bar spacing it wants!

this is so that we can actually have the 5min ES in the "background"(and have somekind of support and resistance lines from the 5min) but keep that data series hidden and then ACTUALLY TRADE of some other chart like tick, volume, range, etc...

This would be awesome -- because right now if we put 2 different data series like that -- we just end up with a HUGE MESS on the chart! :O :O Which obviously sucks.

It would be awesome and powerful to do that. >>> Basically tie the x-axis TO ONE of the Data Series <<< the one WE choose by a parameter somewhere >>> THEN have the other data series plot anywhere else... in the background.


I try to make the data series in the "background" the same color as the background so that it disappears and then try to use the other time frame for the trading!

THINK OF THIS WAY >>> WE should have all the info we need on one chart practically. >> With the main trading Data Series NOT distorted.

THANKS !

OpalDragon,

We added several features in this area for NT8:

1. Equidistant bar spacing is now compatible with multi-series charts by aligning each bar by time (Across all Data Series) as if it was on a single timeline and spacing them accordingly.
2. Non-equidistant charts now have the ability to lock to the lowest granularity Data Series.
3. We added visibility toggle to Data Series allowing you to hide a data series so it does not affect your X or Y axis(s) but still reference that Data Series from your indicators.

I donít have the details on your exact use case to tell you the NT8 behavior satisfies your request completely but between the items above I believe you will see what youíre looking for in NT8.

Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
  #665 (permalink)
Elite Member
Houston, Texas
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: futures
 
learning0101's Avatar
 
Posts: 241 since Aug 2011
Thanks: 3,367 given, 179 received

when reversing a position

@NinjaTrader Apologies if already exists and I missed searching
The ability to have if you reverse a position the stop loss and target be reversed as well.
Hope makes sense?
Thanks in advance

Reply With Quote
 
  #666 (permalink)
Elite Member
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Ninja Trader
Favorite Futures: 6E, CL, Anything that moves
 
Posts: 317 since Jun 2012
Thanks: 323 given, 91 received


NinjaTrader View Post
OpalDragon,

We added several features in this area for NT8:

1. Equidistant bar spacing is now compatible with multi-series charts by aligning each bar by time (Across all Data Series) as if it was on a single timeline and spacing them accordingly.
2. Non-equidistant charts now have the ability to lock to the lowest granularity Data Series.
3. We added visibility toggle to Data Series allowing you to hide a data series so it does not affect your X or Y axis(s) but still reference that Data Series from your indicators.

I donít have the details on your exact use case to tell you the NT8 behavior satisfies your request completely but between the items above I believe you will see what youíre looking for in NT8.


That sounds excellent Ray!

Reply With Quote
 
  #667 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,230 since May 2010
Thanks: 150 given, 1,853 received


learning0101 View Post
@NinjaTrader Apologies if already exists and I missed searching
The ability to have if you reverse a position the stop loss and target be reversed as well.
Hope makes sense?
Thanks in advance

Stop and targets are created on reverse as part of the original ATM strategy for the origination position's ATM. This is the same behavior as NT7 so no change here.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
  #668 (permalink)
Elite Member
Houston, Texas
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: futures
 
learning0101's Avatar
 
Posts: 241 since Aug 2011
Thanks: 3,367 given, 179 received

colors and attach to chart

Hi @NinjaTrader thanks for response
Some order or a color palette for dropdown I.E. when right clicking a line and selecting
properties>color> the dropdown is a mismosh of colors in alphabetical order would rather see colors
matched more appropriately....IE reds and blues and greens together.
2nd request is to have the ability when right clicking a drawn item.. in this example a lines properties to attach to it's
matching micro(sorry if wrong terminology) chart
IE placing a line or any drawing tool on a 6E chart..right clicking selecting properties>attach to ...your only options are the current chart or all 6E charts...Great but I
wish to be able to place this same line onto the M6E chart.
Is this possible?
Thanks

Reply With Quote
 
  #669 (permalink)
Elite Member
Houston, Texas
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: futures
 
learning0101's Avatar
 
Posts: 241 since Aug 2011
Thanks: 3,367 given, 179 received

not what meant


NinjaTrader View Post
Stop and targets are created on reverse as part of the original ATM strategy for the origination position's ATM. This is the same behavior as NT7 so no change here.

Hi @NinjaTrader thank for response but not what meant.
Was speaking more directly to if you are manually trading and place a target and a stop loss on a chart via chart trader.
Then you decide to reverse and have the target and stop loss flip flop for lack of a better term.
Just tried on chart trader with a tgt and stop placed then hit reverse but tgt and stop are erased/cancelled this is what I was hoping could somehow be addressed and have it automatically calculate what you have and where and self adjust?
Thanks again

Reply With Quote
 
  #670 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,230 since May 2010
Thanks: 150 given, 1,853 received



learning0101 View Post
Hi @NinjaTrader thank for response but not what meant.
Was speaking more directly to if you are manually trading and place a target and a stop loss on a chart via chart trader.
Then you decide to reverse and have the target and stop loss flip flop for lack of a better term.
Just tried on chart trader with a tgt and stop placed then hit reverse but tgt and stop are erased/cancelled this is what I was hoping could somehow be addressed and have it automatically calculate what you have and where and self adjust?
Thanks again

Thanks for the clear explanation. This is not a feature we implemented for NinjaTrader 8.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:

Reply



futures io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

July Journal Challenge w/$1100 in prizes from TopstepTrader

July
 

An Afternoon with FIO member Softsoap

Elite only

Battlestations: Show us your trading desks and win $750 in prizes

August
 

Extended Ask Me Anything w/Brett Steenbarger

Elite only

Prototyping Python Strategies (part 3) w/Ran Aroussi

Elite only

Brannigan Barrett w/Axia Futures

Elite only

Introduction to Phillip Capital futures brokerage services

Aug TBD

How Monte Carlo Analysis Can Help Your Trading w/Kevin Davey

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 PM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-07-23 in 0.10 seconds with 19 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.92.180.46