Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - futures io
futures io futures trading



Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!


Discussion in NinjaTrader

Updated by Tradarr
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one NinjaTrader with 93 posts (104 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 81 posts (78 thanks)
    3. looks_3 OpalDragon with 35 posts (12 thanks)
    4. looks_4 NJAMC with 29 posts (19 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one Fat Tails with 5.3 thanks per post
    2. looks_two NinjaTrader with 1.1 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 1.0 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 AdvancedIndicators with 0.7 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 191,790 views
    2. thumb_up 669 thanks given
    3. group 200 followers
    1. forum 986 replies
    2. attach_file 56 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 100,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

 
Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

(login for full post details)
  #41 (permalink)
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: Futures
 
AdvancedIndicators's Avatar
 
Posts: 45 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 2 given, 24 received

Chart: Indicators/Strats: Right-click on an indicator or a strat should offer going into code editor.

Reply With Quote
The following 2 users say Thank You to AdvancedIndicators for this post:

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Want to Go With Futures
Emini and Emicro Index
Stacked Imbalances.
Sierra Chart
IB Bracker Order
Platforms and Indicators
GBP/ARS Pair
Traders Hideout
DLL with webrequest function for MC
MultiCharts
 
 
(login for full post details)
  #42 (permalink)
Charlotte, NC
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: Ninjatrader
Trading: Futures
 
Posts: 56 since Sep 2011
Thanks: 13 given, 32 received

* Faster market replay (up to 5000x?) hardware is much faster these days
* Download market replay data in a batch of days, now it's day by day
* When changing the date scrollbar in the market replay NT hangs for a few seconds, that can be fixed with better code/indexing?
* Support for latest TWS for Interactive Brokers please
* Group accounts for Interactive Brokers

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #43 (permalink)
Mountain Lakes NJ
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader, MultiCharts
Broker: Mirus/Zen-Fire
Trading: ES
 
Posts: 10 since May 2010
Thanks: 46 given, 7 received


option to make all drawing tools, such as lines, rays, fibs, etc. unselectable at the time when they are first created by a script. this will reduce screen clutter and eliminate need for cumbersome workarounds. in other words, don't ALWAYS assume that a draw object needs to be manipulated manually, if the programmer intends otherwise.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to khmodel for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #44 (permalink)
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: Futures
 
AdvancedIndicators's Avatar
 
Posts: 45 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 2 given, 24 received

Data Box: Ability to define ind/strat properties to be displayed in the data box. Very handy for showing additional calculations or info that is not charted - e.g. chart shows ratio as percent, while data box shows ratio and both numbers (numerator and denominator). I'd say the best way to implement this would be as property with an attribute to denote this. String properties should be allowed too so that formatting can be done in code.

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #45 (permalink)
Leesburg, VA
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
 
Posts: 80 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 77 given, 33 received

I would like the platform to be more interactive by keeping in mind that we are traders first and programmers second. The flexibility to do some simple things while creating a new trading concept and then dipping into the code would be great. For example, why can't I simply apply a simple moving average or other existing indicator to an existing indicator without dipping into the code, compiling, debugging etc. If I could right click, select the indicator to apply, see the result and then dip into the system created code to optimize would be great. Other platforms allow the drag and drop but don't allow one to see the code. Seems like an unfilled need that maybe NT could fill.

Thanks for starting this thread!

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #46 (permalink)
Calcutta, India
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ArthaChitra
 
Posts: 278 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 161 given, 268 received


buzzsaw View Post
I would like the platform to be more interactive by keeping in mind that we are traders first and programmers second. The flexibility to do some simple things while creating a new trading concept and then dipping into the code would be great. For example, why can't I simply apply a simple moving average or other existing indicator to an existing indicator without dipping into the code, compiling, debugging etc. If I could right click, select the indicator to apply, see the result and then dip into the system created code to optimize would be great. Other platforms allow the drag and drop but don't allow one to see the code. Seems like an unfilled need that maybe NT could fill.

Thanks for starting this thread!

this can be easily done. for example if you want to put a 14 days moving avg on a say macd, then select the sma and in the parameter box, in the input series select MACD (from the list of indicators). thats set.

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #47 (permalink)
Belgium
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: SaxoTrader
Broker: SaxoBank
Trading: ESTX
 
Posts: 292 since Dec 2009
Thanks: 243 given, 110 received


Marc V View Post
Imagine if you could take any pattern you want as long as it is within a reasonable amount of bars and with either a copy or paste of the setup or writing it in without code such as. whenever price gaps down at the open then has 5 or more bars in a row that are engulfing bars (solid or almost wickless) that get larger with 1st 3 bars followed by a doji or any stalling pattern you wish....this would be an amazing tool in any market, but especially in stocks where gaps can often offer the most reward in the shortest amount of time, dollar for dollar.

Imagine having 3 present patterns that you would be alerted to and then you could have every day, the 3type bars that made up the previous longest run of the day, to have that automatically ring an alarm if it sets up like that again for that particular stock. And no coding necessary! Thats what I want and in fact will have one day as I slowly assemble my team I write about so often. But if I have to have someone on hand to code it, thats ok too. But for now, being I know no coding, want the 1st request. -)

It was already coded by a 3rd party developper and worked like a neural network (however, sorry, I don't remember which one. It was kind of well done though)

Personally, I don't like the idea to dive too much into decision tools/guiders built natively inside a trading platform. I like to keep an edge over my opponents so if I've teached myself price setups to be profitable, I would not want every Ninja user to detect the same trade oppotunities at the very same time as I do....really (for many reasons)
I'd rather have a trading platform trying to ease the life of its 3rd party programmers with a very neat program architecture and scripting facilities but afterwards I prefer to pay someone to work out my needs (if I can't do it myself or realise others have done it better) rather than give away my trading idea/concept free to anyone.
I see it as a batched environment where everyone do what they do best : trading company releasing full potential through a complex yet clean platform to their programmers, themselves servicing traders still required to work their ass off to rise above the competitors (if such clear boundaries are to be broken for a too user-friendly platform then it's a matter of time until potential of every field deteriorates). Now, I admit it's only my point of view.

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #48 (permalink)
Leesburg, VA
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
 
Posts: 80 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 77 given, 33 received


bukkan View Post
this can be easily done. for example if you want to put a 14 days moving avg on a say macd, then select the sma and in the parameter box, in the input series select MACD (from the list of indicators). thats set.

You missed the point completely. When I do what you propose then what is the SMA applied to in the MACD? The standard 12 SMA, 26 SMA the 9 SMA? I want to specifically select the item to attach to so that I can make hybrids to quickly test a hypothesis. Can I make the 12 an HMA and the 26 a DMA and the 9 a TMA via the same method without crawling through some code? Can I right click on a line an select what to apply? No. This would not be a one step deal for a change but a process that could start in NT8. It's likely a paradigm shift for the NT coders requiring a spiral approach to a solution. There is not a platform that I'm aware of that has the power of both approaches. Trade Navigator good graphical approach but not for coding. Metastock, Tradestation, Esignal etc. good for coding but graphical nature is poor. I can code (BASIC, FORTRAN, C, C++ & other platform scripts mentioned above), have coded, and enjoy coding but sometimes I am time limited. It's easy to say to just pay someone to do it but that should be reserved for more complex tasks. As I mentioned before it's a market niche. Does Multicharts want to fill that niche?

Does that help clarify?

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #49 (permalink)
Charlotte, NC
 
Experience: Beginner
Platform: Ninjatrader
Trading: Futures
 
Posts: 56 since Sep 2011
Thanks: 13 given, 32 received

Request for Ninjatrader8: When you put some strategies on the control/strategies tab a way to save them.

If you now move the slider or restart ninjatrader, even with saving everything your settings and those strategies are gone...

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #50 (permalink)
Calcutta, India
 
Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ArthaChitra
 
Posts: 278 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 161 given, 268 received



buzzsaw View Post
You missed the point completely. When I do what you propose then what is the SMA applied to in the MACD? The standard 12 SMA, 26 SMA the 9 SMA? I want to specifically select the item to attach to so that I can make hybrids to quickly test a hypothesis. Can I make the 12 an HMA and the 26 a DMA and the 9 a TMA via the same method without crawling through some code? Can I right click on a line an select what to apply? No. This would not be a one step deal for a change but a process that could start in NT8. It's likely a paradigm shift for the NT coders requiring a spiral approach to a solution. There is not a platform that I'm aware of that has the power of both approaches. Trade Navigator good graphical approach but not for coding. Metastock, Tradestation, Esignal etc. good for coding but graphical nature is poor. I can code (BASIC, FORTRAN, C, C++ & other platform scripts mentioned above), have coded, and enjoy coding but sometimes I am time limited. It's easy to say to just pay someone to do it but that should be reserved for more complex tasks. As I mentioned before it's a market niche. Does Multicharts want to fill that niche?

Does that help clarify?

the attached pic is what i meant. a 14 ema (orange line) and a 21 hma (blue) on an ATR (green line with default settings).

if you meant something else then i must have understood you wrong.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NIFTY_I (3 Min)  11-11-2011.png
Views:	110
Size:	70.3 KB
ID:	54772  
Reply With Quote


futures io Trading Community Platforms and Indicators NinjaTrader > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!


July 29, 2020


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

Dealing with burnout w/Linda Bradford Raschke

Elite only
     



Copyright © 2020 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts