Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures.io
futures io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Started: by AdvancedIndicators Views / Replies:111,682 / 877
Last Reply: Attachments:48

Welcome to futures io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.


You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #431 (permalink)
Elite Member
london, UK
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NT7
Favorite Futures: TR909
 
Posts: 57 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 41 given, 33 received

am sure NT8 dev closed new features many months ago but ..

I would love floating windows ie outside current workspace eg: i have 3 or 4 workspaces and always have an ES chart open, that means that i have to duplicate the same ES charts 3 or 4 times so i can view the same info.

If floating windows were available i could move this out the current workspace and not use up extra resource

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to gktk for this post:
 
  #432 (permalink)
Elite Member
annapolis USA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja, MC, Sierra, Amibroker
Broker/Data: PFG (too bad), IB, Fidelity, AMP
Favorite Futures: ES, NQ, Equities, Forex, Etc.
 
greenroomhoo's Avatar
 
Posts: 276 since Jun 2011
Thanks: 107 given, 222 received

use my entire processor....not just one core.

Reply With Quote
 
  #433 (permalink)
Elite Member
argentina
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninjatrader
 
kabott1's Avatar
 
Posts: 58 since Nov 2009
Thanks: 126 given, 12 received


Chart: Zoom IN & OUT using the mouse wheel (both scales at the same time) Pan: left click drag, so easy & fast to navigate a chart this way

A cynic is a man who knows the price of everything but the value of nothing.
- Oscar Wilde

Last edited by kabott1; February 9th, 2013 at 06:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
 
  #434 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 45,803 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,097 given, 81,377 received

Cache optimizer results in memory so that you can display things like the summary tab, equity curve and other graphs, trade listing, etc -- instantly. If you are worried about memory consumption then just give me the option to enable it. There are those of us like me who will build whatever hardware needed to make things fast.

Today alone I've wasted huge amounts of time because each time I switch between different optimizer result sets, and I check the graphs tab, it takes a good 5 minutes to load. This is on a 5ghz i7, 32GB memory, 2x256GB SSD in RAID 0. CPU usage about 10%.

It's just very aggravating to have to wait so long for results that it just finished completing... just keep it in memory, even if you have to create the blotter or tables as images and just cache the damn image in memory! Anything to make the main graphs load instantly as you switch result sets.

Yes I realize I am using a very large data set. Data is big, and getting bigger, this is only going to get worse in years ahead.

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

Reply With Quote
The following 4 users say Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
  #435 (permalink)
Elite Member
Toronto, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, MT4
Broker/Data: Amp/CQG, Citibank
Favorite Futures: CL, GC, 6E, ES, TF, EURUSD, GBPJPY, AUDUSD
 
Beljevina's Avatar
 
Posts: 345 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 373 given, 553 received

Futures Edge on FIO

What value do you place on the webinars on FIO?

 

gktk View Post
am sure NT8 dev closed new features many months ago but ..

I would love floating windows ie outside current workspace eg: i have 3 or 4 workspaces and always have an ES chart open, that means that i have to duplicate the same ES charts 3 or 4 times so i can view the same info.

If floating windows were available i could move this out the current workspace and not use up extra resource

Completely valid request IMHO @gktk , and a good one, in the sense that it would avoid unnecessary duplication of the same chart across many workspaces, plus the bigger draw on CPU cycles that might be occurring by having the same indicators across each of those same charts: depending on the indicators used, if a data/tick surge comes along, CPU cycles can sharply increase.

Am also posting here with a possible alternative, if it is a sort of 'status snapshot' that you are after. Although MT4 has little respect, there are brokers that have a robust set of world index instruments, futures, commodities and more available via demo/free MT4 feeds. The advantage of MT4 is that it has a very light memory and CPU cycle footprint, and chart timeframe changes are instantaneous. In your case, you could choose to display your various ES charts within MT4. Since those of us with multiple workspaces are usually sticklers for screen real estate, there are MT4 scripts/indicators that tap into the WinAPI that will undock the charts, allowing you to place or float whatever chart wherever you want, outside of the MT4 'main' screen: if your charts are to remain static and you are simply after a view of that ES or whatever other forex/future/commodity is doing, this might be a good option for you. (In my screenshots below, I am not making use of the undock or float feature in my link.)

There are other scripts that will allow one to remove the default title bar that would sit atop every MT4 chart, a la @vvhg's NT7 equivalents - if you're stacking lots of charts into a smallish space, this frees up vast real estate IMO; in my screenshots below, I have both the title bars and the chart's borders removed. Those tools are here. (BTW, make sure you're permitting DLL calls from within MT4's option settings, and, if you're going to rotate profiles, you must use the indicator [on each chart] to make the changes 'stick', as opposed to using the scripts)

If one really wants to take it further, it's possible to set up a sort of looping timed screen flipping between various workspaces of charts in MT4 (they're called profiles); in my screenshots, I have an Asia and a Europe collection of charts.

Oh, and the MT4 broker I'm using is GCI. They seem to offer unlimited length demos, reliability/uptime is almost perfect, plus in addition to most futures instruments, they have index/sector influencing stocks like AAPL, JPM, etc., etc. My color scheme here is plain-jane boring, and I am largely indicatorless, but, MT4 is quite configurable, with pretty much NT7-equivalent indicators available. Coupled with the minimal usage of X and Y chart region space + the above mods, this is a rather effective usage of precious screen real estate IMO, and could serve to diminish NT7 workload.

Attached Thumbnails
Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!-asia.png   Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!-europe.png  
Reply With Quote
 
  #436 (permalink)
Elite Member
Sydney, Australia
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Tradeguider/Ninjatrader, MT4
Favorite Futures: FX, ES
 
Posts: 17 since Aug 2012
Thanks: 0 given, 1 received

Id really like to see Ninjatrader 8 accept multiple data feeds at the one time.



Cheers

Reply With Quote
 
  #437 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 45,803 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,097 given, 81,377 received


Compositeman View Post
Id really like to see Ninjatrader 8 accept multiple data feeds at the one time.



Cheers

I think Ray confirmed that already in last futures.io (formerly BMT) webinar

Sent from my Nexus 4

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

Reply With Quote
 
  #438 (permalink)
Elite Member
Brno, Czech republic
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Vision Financial Markets
Favorite Futures: NQ, ZN
 
Posts: 7 since Sep 2012
Thanks: 28 given, 9 received

I know it is too late to add to this thread, but Cluster Analysis is one great feature introduced by TradeStation to test robustness of trading systems, also to find best re-optimalization period.

"While a single WFA may provide a preliminary indication of whether a strategy is robust, the Cluster Analysis feature of WFO is generally a better method for proving or disproving the validity of a trading strategy and optimization procedure. As a bonus, the Cluster Analysis matrix helps determine how frequently the strategy should be re-optimized for optimal performance on unseen data."

More to Cluster Analysis here.

Reply With Quote
The following 2 users say Thank You to delf for this post:
 
  #439 (permalink)
Elite Member
Wrocław, Poland
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader, Racket
Favorite Futures: Ockham's razor
 
gregid's Avatar
 
Posts: 651 since Aug 2009
Thanks: 321 given, 601 received

Alternative Overfill handling

I would guesstimate that 80-90% of the use of unmanaged orders is to:
1: Deal with overfill
2: Provide bracket order functionality

If NT8 would provide better way of dealing with overfills in managed mode that would be a huge improvement.
One simple suggestion would be to allow for choosing OverfillHandlingMethod in Initialize() eg:
 
Code
                            
OverfillHandlingMethod OverfillHandlingMethod.Default //Default, current way of dealing with overfills

OverfillHandlingMethod OverfillHandlingMethod.FlatAndContinue //Flatten All and Continue running strategy
OverfillHandlingMethod OverfillHandlingMethod.SomethingElse //whatever else 
Some options/possibility to decide what to do if the dreaded overfill happens would be welcome (in manged mode).

Another request would be to have a "Development Mode" set in Options to allow for editing Strategy parameters without a need to endless click on Enabled=false -> Apply -> Change Parameters -> Enabled=true -> Apply etc.
This mode could only be available for Sim accounts (just in case)

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to gregid for this post:
 
  #440 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 45,803 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 29,097 given, 81,377 received



gregid View Post
Another request would be to have a "Development Mode" set in Options to allow for editing Strategy parameters without a need to endless click on Enabled=false -> Apply -> Change Parameters -> Enabled=true -> Apply etc.
This mode could only be available for Sim accounts (just in case)

In #initialize, set Enabled = true;

Mike

Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
6)
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

Reply With Quote

Reply



futures io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)
 

Spring Grains Outlook w/Sean Lusk @ Walsh Trading

Elite only

FIO Video Journal Challenge featuring NinjaTrader ($2,000+ of prizes)

April

Process above all else w/Anthony Crudele @ Futures Radio Show

Elite only

Machine Learning - Quantitative Trading w/Martin Froehler @ Quantiacs

Elite only

Market Dynamics w/Peter Davies @ Jigsaw Trading

Elite only

Ask Me Anything w/Patrick Rooney @ Trading Technologies

Apr 18

Ask Me Anything w/FuturesTrader71

Apr 19

Machine Learning w/Kris Longmore

Elite only

Market Analysis w/Dave Forss

Apr 25

Introducing iSystems with Stage 5 Trading

Apr 27
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48 AM.

no new posts
Page generated 2017-03-27 in 0.14 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.159.145.68