Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! (Page 32) - NinjaTrader | futures trading

Go Back

> Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Platforms and Indicators > NinjaTrader

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Started:October 3rd, 2011 (06:26 PM) by AdvancedIndicators Views / Replies:104,596 / 874
Last Reply:October 8th, 2016 (01:51 AM) Attachments:48

Welcome to

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.

You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Thread Tools Search this Thread

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Old September 24th, 2012, 08:19 AM   #311 (permalink)
Elite Member
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja
Broker/Data: Mirus/Zen
Favorite Futures: Futures - bonds, currencies, index
Posts: 288 since Oct 2010
Thanks: 70 given, 248 received

Two buttons to cycle back and forwards through trades on a chart - i.e. press button for forward trade and the chart jumps to the next trade entry. This would be a huge time saving on large charts compared to going to the trades tab to see the time and going back to the chart to manually scroll to that time.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to Xeno for this post:

Old September 24th, 2012, 10:40 AM   #312 (permalink)
Elite Member
Berlin, Europe
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, MultiCharts
Broker/Data: Interactive Brokers
Favorite Futures: Keyboard
Fat Tails's Avatar
Posts: 9,525 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 4,213 given, 24,792 received

TickVolume, Upticks and Downticks

This is a request for a feature already offered by TradeStation.

I am talking about a feature which should be available for all bar types offered

(1) TickVolume

Ninjatrader 7: Tickvolume is only known for tick charts, as the tick volume of each bar is identical with the period. To determine tick volume for any other bar type, I would need to write an indicator that adds a 1-tick bar series to determine tick volume.

Wishlist for NinjaTrader 8: Have tick volume ready for each bar as an alternative to volume. Quite important for FOREX data!

(2) Upticks & Downticks

Uptick volume and downtick volume can be used in a similar fashion as bid and ask traded volume. My cumulative delta indicator calculated from uptick and downtick volume yields near-identical results to the real cumulative delta coded by GOMI, which relies on genuine bid and ask traded volume. Many other volume related indicators rely on uptick and downtick volume.

Uptick and downtick volume can be easily calculated from any data feed that supplies tickdata for price and volume data.

NinjaTrader 7 : Upticks & Downticks are not available. Again an indicator would need to be coded that loads a secondary 1-tick bar series.

Wishlist for NinjaTrader 8: Have upticks and downticks available for each bar.

For bars built from ticks that should be easy. To have that property available for minute bars and option is required to build minute bars from ticks.

(3) Option to Build Minute Bars from Ticks

This would be a new bar type built from ticks. Required for calculating tick volume, upticks, downticks, uptick volume and downtick volume.

(4) Uptick Volume & Downtick Volume

NinjaTrader 7: Uptick and downtick volume is not available.

WIshlist for NinjaTrader 8 : Volume associated with upticks & downticks should be available for each bar type.

Calculating tick volume, upticks, downticks, uptick volume & downtick volume would slightly increase the CPU load, when connected to a real-time feed, but I think that it would be worth the effort.

Reply With Quote
The following 8 users say Thank You to Fat Tails for this post:

Old September 26th, 2012, 02:52 AM   #313 (permalink)
Elite Member
Brno, Czech republic
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Vision Financial Markets
Favorite Futures: NQ, ZN
Posts: 7 since Sep 2012
Thanks: 28 given, 9 received

  • Improve performance of Historical Manager
  • Stable as possible
  • Optimized as possible
  • Portfolio backtest
  • Instrument manager with multiple capabilities
  • Multi-Instrument export

Reply With Quote

Old September 26th, 2012, 03:37 AM   #314 (permalink)
Elite Member
Portland Oregon, United States
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: NinjatraderŽ
Broker/Data: CQG, Kinetick
Favorite Futures: Gameplay KlownbineŽ Trading of Globex
Zondor's Avatar
Posts: 1,276 since Jul 2009
Thanks: 1,227 given, 2,442 received


Multi day and multi instrument replay initiated from one request.

Ability to enter the start and end dates of the replay period BEFORE opening the replay controller.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to Zondor for this post:

Old September 30th, 2012, 04:25 PM   #315 (permalink)
Elite Member
Futures Experience: None
Platform: T4, NinjaTrader
Favorite Futures: All!
patbateman's Avatar
Posts: 235 since Mar 2012
Thanks: 113 given, 191 received

Futures Edge on FIO
I think NT needs some venture capital so they can get going on NT8

I wonder if they will target some institutional buyers with NT8, and not just retail?

"A Jedi's strength flows from the force."
Reply With Quote

Old September 30th, 2012, 09:20 PM   #316 (permalink)
Elite Member
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninja
Favorite Futures: es
Posts: 5 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 3 given, 2 received

createorder improvement

createorder cann't set profit target and stop loss. shall add this for orders in indicator.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to asteriskstar for this post:

Old September 30th, 2012, 10:00 PM   #317 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Favorite Futures: E-mini ES S&P 500
Big Mike's Avatar
Posts: 45,446 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 28,847 given, 79,590 received

asteriskstar View Post
createorder cann't set profit target and stop loss. shall add this for orders in indicator.



Due to time constraints, please do not PM me if your question can be resolved or answered on the forum.

Need help?
1) Stop changing things. No new indicators, charts, or methods. Be consistent with what is in front of you first.
2) Start a journal and post to it daily with the trades you made to show your strengths and weaknesses.
3) Set goals for yourself to reach daily. Make them about how you trade, not how much money you make.
4) Accept responsibility for your actions. Stop looking elsewhere to explain away poor performance.
5) Where to start as a trader? Watch this webinar and read this thread for hundreds of questions and answers.
Help using the forum? Watch this video to learn general tips on using the site.

If you want
to support our community, become an Elite Member.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:

Old October 1st, 2012, 01:53 AM   #318 (permalink)
Elite Member
Northern Germany
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT
Favorite Futures: FDAX, CL
vvhg's Avatar
Posts: 1,583 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 1,016 given, 2,789 received

asteriskstar View Post
createorder cann't set profit target and stop loss. shall add this for orders in indicator.

Big Mike View Post


Add me in on that. Also applies to the other methods like Close() and CreateATMStrategy() and all the others. Possibilities would be endless...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Hic Rhodos, hic salta.
Reply With Quote

Old October 3rd, 2012, 08:52 AM   #319 (permalink)
Elite Member
Cedar Rapids, iowa
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader
Broker/Data: Ninjatrader - Continuum
Favorite Futures: 6E, TF, 6J
Tasker_182's Avatar
Posts: 626 since Aug 2009
Thanks: 424 given, 1,118 received



Would be great to be able to have a panel (showing 3- 4 text lines) in the chart to show Alerts of just that charts related alerts (instead of the one alerts panel for all charts).

Reply With Quote

Old October 4th, 2012, 11:40 AM   #320 (permalink)
Identify Evaluate Execute
Mercer Island WA
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: Ninjatrader/Strategy Desk
Broker/Data: Various
Favorite Futures: TF/NQ/ES/Stocks
djkiwi's Avatar
Posts: 561 since May 2010
Thanks: 980 given, 1,510 received

Multibroker License Issues

The inability to be able to select the broker in a strategy is becoming an increasing problem in the multi-broker license. I raised this point earlier in this thread but believe it is worth repeating with the hope of getting it addressed. One of the most important functions in multi-broker trading software should be to make it easy to facilitate trade across multiple brokers but this important feature is missing.

Currently I employ a number of ATM strategies specific for 7 instruments triggered with buy/sell buttons. Some of these instruments use Interactive brokers as the broker and some AMP and I'd like to add more brokers to further spread capital. As I employ a master swing trading portfolio strategy with equities an integral part of this strategy, I also need to place equities trades through TD Ameritrade.

The only way to do this now is to manually select the broker account on the chart in the general section. So this means that you have to do this each time on every chart once you setup. Plus the ATM strategy defaults to the first broker you connect to. Here is an example on oil which employs 2 distinctly separate ATM strategies using buttons to trigger the trade based on a plethora of delta/swing based probability tests designed specifically for oil.

Please register on to view futures trading content such as post attachment(s), image(s), and screenshot(s).

The trader should be able to direct this automatically, for example:

1. A stock or future:

if (Instrument.MasterInstrument.InstrumentType == InstrumentType.Stock); <Select TD AMERITRADE>
if (Instrument.MasterInstrument.Name == "AAPL"); <Select Interactive Brokers> (due to low variable commissions on high $ value stocks) OR say if (Instrument.MasterInstrument.Compare(newPrice, Close[1]) >$200 <Select Interactive Brokers>
if (Instrument.MasterInstrument.Name == "DELL"); <Select TD Ameritrade> (due to low fixed commissions on low $ value stocks).
if (Instrument.MasterInstrument.Name == "CL"); <Select Interactive Brokers>
if (Instrument.MasterInstrument.Name == "FDAX"); <Select AMP>

So as soon as the buttons are pushed then the trade should go through whichever broker is contained in the strategy for that instrument.

This is also important for risk management purposes as the PFG debacle highlights the need to spread funds around to different brokers.

2. Leverage test

The other point is an ability to perform a leverage test prior to trade. For example if you use 5 brokers and the one you select in the strategy does not hold sufficient capital to be able to support the maintenance margin plus a cushion on an overnight trade then you should be warned prior to trade or have the ability to change the broker. E.g if the account at Broker A does not have sufficient capital then it should default to the account at Broker B for example.


Last edited by djkiwi; October 4th, 2012 at 06:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to djkiwi for this post:

Reply > Futures Trading, News, Charts and Platforms > Platforms and Indicators > NinjaTrader > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

NinjaTrader 8: Programming Profitable Trading Edges w/Scott Hodson

Elite only

Anthony Drager: Executing on Intermarket Correlations & Order Flow, Part 2

Elite only

Adam Grimes: Five critically important keys to professional trading

Elite only

Machine Learning Concepts w/FIO member NJAMC

Elite only

MarketDelta Cloud Platform: Announcing new mobile features

Dec 1

NinjaTrader 8: Features and Enhancements

Dec 6

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Copyright © 2016 by All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts

Page generated 2016-10-25 in 0.14 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP