Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - futures io
futures io futures trading



Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!


Discussion in NinjaTrader

Updated by Tradarr
      Top Posters
    1. looks_one NinjaTrader with 93 posts (104 thanks)
    2. looks_two Big Mike with 81 posts (78 thanks)
    3. looks_3 OpalDragon with 35 posts (12 thanks)
    4. looks_4 NJAMC with 29 posts (19 thanks)
      Best Posters
    1. looks_one Fat Tails with 5.3 thanks per post
    2. looks_two NinjaTrader with 1.1 thanks per post
    3. looks_3 Big Mike with 1.0 thanks per post
    4. looks_4 AdvancedIndicators with 0.7 thanks per post
    1. trending_up 191,790 views
    2. thumb_up 669 thanks given
    3. group 200 followers
    1. forum 986 replies
    2. attach_file 56 attachments




Welcome to futures io: the largest futures trading community on the planet, with well over 100,000 members
  • Genuine reviews from real traders, not fake reviews from stealth vendors
  • Quality education from leading professional traders
  • We are a friendly, helpful, and positive community
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendors advertising in posts
  • We are here to help, just let us know what you need
You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community.  It's free and simple.

-- Big Mike, Site Administrator

(If you already have an account, login at the top of the page)

 
Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

(login for full post details)
  #21 (permalink)
La Jolla, CA
 
Experience: Master
Platform: Sierra Chart, X_Trader Pro, OptionsCity
Broker: Advantage, Trading Technologies, OptionsCity, IQ Feed
Trading: CL, NG
 
Private Banker's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,040 since Jul 2010
Thanks: 1,713 given, 3,836 received


Haverchuck View Post
Good one! FWIW, I submitted this suggestion to NT a couple months ago and they said they'd put it on their list of considerations. Fingers crossed.

That's great! I'm no programmer but it seems like it would be fairly simple. Could even be just coloring in the price area like the HOD and LOD option already available.

Cheers,
PB

Reply With Quote

Can you help answer these questions
from other members on futures io?
Need a near crosses scan help for TOS
ThinkOrSwim
Want to Go With Futures
Emini and Emicro Index
EQIX - Digital REITs - any experiences?
Stocks and ETFs
is there an easy way to obtain by code the price variation percentual
MultiCharts
OPEN_CLOSE_DOTS
ThinkOrSwim
 
 
(login for full post details)
  #22 (permalink)
zurich
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: Sierra ahRrrr CQG ...
Trading: Bund, ES, ...
 
puma's Avatar
 
Posts: 964 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 7,272 given, 1,498 received

make it stable !!!!
use quality supervision for your development arm !!!

make it stable !!!!
use quality supervision for your development arm !!!

make it stable !!!!
use quality supervision for your development arm !!!

Follow me on Twitter Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #23 (permalink)
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Trading: Futures
 
AdvancedIndicators's Avatar
 
Posts: 45 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 2 given, 24 received


1) Ability to clone any existing indicator or strategy under new name. Great for trying different variations without starting from scratch. So e.g. I should be able to select MACD to be cloned, enter MyMACD as clone's name and get an indicator with all the code from MACD copied and in place in a new code file (MyMACD.cs). The only difference in code would be the class name (MyMACD), and anything in auto-generated section that would be dependency or in conflict with the original.

2) Ability to clone a chart - I can already do this manually by following the steps outlined below, but the system should do that:
- save chart's layout as temp template
- open new chart
- apply temp template
- delete temp template
- all done

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to AdvancedIndicators for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #24 (permalink)
Site Sponsor

Web: NinjaTrader
AMA: Ask Me Anything
Webinars: NinjaTrader Webinars
Elite offer: Click here
 
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,525 since May 2010
Thanks: 177 given, 2,298 received


dobuye View Post
1) Ability to clone any existing indicator or strategy under new name. Great for trying different variations without starting from scratch. So e.g. I should be able to select MACD to be cloned, enter MyMACD as clone's name and get an indicator with all the code from MACD copied and in place in a new code file (MyMACD.cs). The only difference in code would be the class name (MyMACD), and anything in auto-generated section that would be dependency or in conflict with the original.

- Tools > Edit NinjaScript > Indicator > Open MACD
- In NinjaScript Editor > Right click > Select Save As
- Provide new name

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #25 (permalink)
NYC + NY / USA
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: "I trade, therefore, I AM!"; Theme Song: "Atomic Dog!"
Trading: EMD, 6J, ZB
 
kronie's Avatar
 
Posts: 798 since Oct 2009

tracking an order in total instead of on a contract by contract basis,

presently if you do a 20car trade, you'll see on the Executions tab of the Control Center, twenty line entries.

Good Grief Charlie Brown!

tracking per trade MAE

Good Grief Charlie Brown, catch up with the competition

work on those 2 things!

Reply With Quote
 
(login for full post details)
  #26 (permalink)
Site Administrator
Manta, Ecuador
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: My own custom solution
Trading: Emini Futures
 
Big Mike's Avatar
 
Posts: 49,053 since Jun 2009
Thanks: 31,658 given, 94,952 received


kronie View Post
tracking an order in total instead of on a contract by contract basis,

presently if you do a 20car trade, you'll see on the Executions tab of the Control Center, twenty line entries.

If I remember correctly, there is a checkbox on the bottom something like "Group Entries" to group a single order with multiple contracts together.

Mike

We're here to help -- just ask

For the best trading education, watch our webinars
Searching for trading reviews? Review this list

Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and Facebook

Support our community as an Elite Member:
https://futures.io/elite/
Follow me on Twitter Visit my Facebook Visit my futures io Trade Journal Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to Big Mike for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #27 (permalink)
Site Sponsor

Web: NinjaTrader
AMA: Ask Me Anything
Webinars: NinjaTrader Webinars
Elite offer: Click here
 
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,525 since May 2010
Thanks: 177 given, 2,298 received


kronie View Post
tracking an order in total instead of on a contract by contract basis,

presently if you do a 20car trade, you'll see on the Executions tab of the Control Center, twenty line entries.

Good Grief Charlie Brown!

tracking per trade MAE

Good Grief Charlie Brown, catch up with the competition

work on those 2 things!

For a 20 car order, you will see an entry for each individual execution (fills) that comprises that order with execution ID's from the exchange. If you want to see one line for the total fill amount, please see the orders tab, that will do what you want.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #28 (permalink)
Al,India
 
Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker: RKG
Trading: NiftyFuture
 
devdas's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,561 since Feb 2010
Thanks: 1,498 given, 1,693 received

1) Need to know which chart template is loaded.

2) If my NT is missing any indi that a particular template is using , there should be some way to know that.
or alternatively there should be an easy way to see template content of inid in user-friendly way.

Harvest The Moon
Nest The Market
Follow me on Twitter Visit my futures io Trade Journal Reply With Quote
The following 5 users say Thank You to devdas for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #29 (permalink)
United States
 
 
Posts: 8 since Aug 2010
Thanks: 5 given, 8 received

2) If my NT is missing any indi that a particular template is using , there should be some way to know that.


Check the log tab of the Control Center. It will say in yellow if your template/workspace tried to load an indicator that is not installed.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to lOQl for this post:
 
(login for full post details)
  #30 (permalink)
CT
 
Experience: None
Platform: NinjaTrader
 
Posts: 5 since Oct 2009
Thanks: 6 given, 4 received


1. Choice between cumulative (like X-trader) and last trade in a DOM.
2. New drawing tool - zone - something between rectangle and horizontal line.
3. Access to market position from indicator.

Reply With Quote


futures io Trading Community Platforms and Indicators NinjaTrader > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!


July 29, 2020


Upcoming Webinars and Events
 

Dealing with burnout w/Linda Bradford Raschke

Elite only
     



Copyright © 2020 by futures io, s.a., Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts