Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures io social trading
futures io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Updated: Views / Replies:115,197 / 880
Created: by AdvancedIndicators Attachments:48

Welcome to futures io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.


You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #271 (permalink)
Banned: Piracy
Magadan Russia
 
Futures Experience: Master
Platform: NT
Favorite Futures: FDAX
 
Posts: 79 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 17 given, 14 received


NinjaTrader View Post
I suggest contacting our support team for further analysis. This is not typical and expected behavior. Switching from 60 to 5 min chart should take seconds.

Hi NT,

will we be able to have that no gap feature for NT,somewhere in the near future?

Reply With Quote
 
  #272 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,225 since May 2010
Thanks: 147 given, 1,838 received


tst1 View Post
Hi NT,

will we be able to have that no gap feature for NT,somewhere in the near future?

Hi,

I am not sure what you mean by "no gap" feature? Would you be so kind as to elaborate. Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
  #273 (permalink)
Banned: Piracy
Magadan Russia
 
Futures Experience: Master
Platform: NT
Favorite Futures: FDAX
 
Posts: 79 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 17 given, 14 received



NinjaTrader View Post
Hi,

I am not sure what you mean by "no gap" feature? Would you be so kind as to elaborate. Thanks in advance.

Hi NT,

Sure,by 'no gap' feature,i mean this:

if and when you apply a template to the chart,-US Equities RTH in this case,or any template,usually you have gaps before the opening(please,see the 'GAP' attahced).I have the custom script written by the 3-rd party,to help me to solve this issue,but the problem is: 1)it slows the loading process;
2)it 'messes' with the indicators,and doesn`t allow to display them correctly(please see the'NoGap' attached).

Having a clean data,with no gaps,is a mandatory part of a daily routine for some type of traders,so it would be a wise move for you(and relief for many of us) to have this little snippet for the platform.Many other vendors,have already had this feature for its customers.I like NT,so it`d be great to have it in place. I`ll include the code to get the idea faster.

Attached Thumbnails
Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!-gap.jpg   Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!-nogap.jpg  
Attached Files
Register to download File Type: zip NoGapChart .zip (3.8 KB, 9 views)
Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to tst1 for this post:
 
  #274 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,225 since May 2010
Thanks: 147 given, 1,838 received


tst1 View Post
Hi NT,

Sure,by 'no gap' feature,i mean this:

if and when you apply a template to the chart,-US Equities RTH in this case,or any template,usually you have gaps before the opening(please,see the 'GAP' attahced).I have the custom script written by the 3-rd party,to help me to solve this issue,but the problem is: 1)it slows the loading process;
2)it 'messes' with the indicators,and doesn`t allow to display them correctly(please see the'NoGap' attached).

Having a clean data,with no gaps,is a mandatory part of a daily routine for some type of traders,so it would be a wise move for you(and relief for many of us) to have this little snippet for the platform.Many other vendors,have already had this feature for its customers.I like NT,so it`d be great to have it in place. I`ll include the code to get the idea faster.

Thanks for the clarification. I see what you are after now... adjust of the price gap, not a time gap.

Reply With Quote
The following 2 users say Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
  #275 (permalink)
Elite Member
Lubbock TX
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Stage 5 Trading
Favorite Futures: CL
 
MWinfrey's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,878 since Jul 2009
Thanks: 1,448 given, 3,300 received


tst1 View Post
Hi NT,

Sure,by 'no gap' feature,i mean this:

if and when you apply a template to the chart,-US Equities RTH in this case,or any template,usually you have gaps before the opening(please,see the 'GAP' attahced).I have the custom script written by the 3-rd party,to help me to solve this issue,but the problem is: 1)it slows the loading process;
2)it 'messes' with the indicators,and doesn`t allow to display them correctly(please see the'NoGap' attached).

Having a clean data,with no gaps,is a mandatory part of a daily routine for some type of traders,so it would be a wise move for you(and relief for many of us) to have this little snippet for the platform.Many other vendors,have already had this feature for its customers.I like NT,so it`d be great to have it in place. I`ll include the code to get the idea faster.

I agree that would be nice to have so we can only display RTH but also have the indicators display correctly without being skewed. Always wanted to do this...Thanks for the suggestion.

Reply With Quote
 
  #276 (permalink)
Banned: Piracy
Magadan Russia
 
Futures Experience: Master
Platform: NT
Favorite Futures: FDAX
 
Posts: 79 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 17 given, 14 received


NinjaTrader View Post
Thanks for the clarification. I see what you are after now... adjust of the price gap, not a time gap.

So,is there a chance to see it in the NEAR future?I mean NEAR,as it currently holds up any further system development.

Reply With Quote
 
  #277 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,225 since May 2010
Thanks: 147 given, 1,838 received


tst1 View Post
So,is there a chance to see it in the NEAR future?I mean NEAR,as it currently holds up any further system development.

I have added this to our list of requests that is considered for NinjaTrader 8 of which I have not publicy put an ETA on yet. I don't think it would qualify as NEAR as likely you have defined it.

Curious, how are you back adjusting the data? Just applying the gap difference to historical data?

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:
 
  #278 (permalink)
Banned: Piracy
Magadan Russia
 
Futures Experience: Master
Platform: NT
Favorite Futures: FDAX
 
Posts: 79 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 17 given, 14 received


NinjaTrader View Post
I have added this to our list of requests that is considered for NinjaTrader 8 of which I have not publicy put an ETA on yet. I don't think it would qualify as NEAR as likely you have defined it.

Curious, how are you back adjusting the data? Just applying the gap difference to historical data?

Too bad, that slows the process down a bit...

I don`t need the past data to be adjusted,i just need the ''carryover'' from the previous sessions.And have this carrier seamless.

Reply With Quote
 
  #279 (permalink)
Elite Member
Bala, PA, USA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Mirus, IB
Favorite Futures: SPY, Oil, Euro
 
monpere's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,858 since Jul 2010
Thanks: 300 given, 3,252 received


tst1 View Post
Hi NT,

Sure,by 'no gap' feature,i mean this:

if and when you apply a template to the chart,-US Equities RTH in this case,or any template,usually you have gaps before the opening(please,see the 'GAP' attahced).I have the custom script written by the 3-rd party,to help me to solve this issue,but the problem is: 1)it slows the loading process;
2)it 'messes' with the indicators,and doesn`t allow to display them correctly(please see the'NoGap' attached).

Having a clean data,with no gaps,is a mandatory part of a daily routine for some type of traders,so it would be a wise move for you(and relief for many of us) to have this little snippet for the platform.Many other vendors,have already had this feature for its customers.I like NT,so it`d be great to have it in place. I`ll include the code to get the idea faster.


NinjaTrader View Post
I have added this to our list of requests that is considered for NinjaTrader 8 of which I have not publicy put an ETA on yet. I don't think it would qualify as NEAR as likely you have defined it.

Curious, how are you back adjusting the data? Just applying the gap difference to historical data?

As long as this is implemented as an option. For most traders, a price gap is a significant event, some traders make a living out of trading gaps. I don't trade gaps personally, but I do want them to screw up my indicators, so that I stay out of these market conditions. I would not want my indicators showing me patterns that were artificially created by adjusting price.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to monpere for this post:
 
  #280 (permalink)
Banned: Piracy
Magadan Russia
 
Futures Experience: Master
Platform: NT
Favorite Futures: FDAX
 
Posts: 79 since Nov 2010
Thanks: 17 given, 14 received



monpere View Post
As long as this is implemented as an option. For most traders, a price gap is a significant event, some traders make a living out of trading gaps. I don't trade gaps personally, but I do want them to screw up my indicators, so that I stay out of these market conditions. I would not want my indicators showing me patterns that were artificially created by adjusting price.

I don`t want to argue about this,but,we just think differently.For me,eliminating non RTH data has a basis for modeling the system.You and most traders are betting and hoping bedazzled with gaps,and i use the model which provides certainty in decision making.Some of the vendors could get it.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to tst1 for this post:

Reply



futures io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

FIO Journal Challenge featuring NinjaTrader ($2,000+ of prizes)

May
 

EasyLanguage ABC's: Mastering TradeStation Programming w/Chris Kaiser

Elite only
 

Prototyping Python Strategies (part 2: Backtesting) w/Ran Aroussi [special time: 1PM ET]

Elite only
 

Portfolio Diversification w/Brendon Delate @ Diversify Portfolio

Elite only

An Afternoon with FIO member Softsoap (being rescheduled)

Elite only
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 PM.

Copyright © 2017 by futures io, s.a. Av Ricardo J. Alfaro, Century Tower, Panama, +507 833-9432, info@futures.io
All information is for educational use only and is not investment advice.
There is a substantial risk of loss in trading commodity futures, stocks, options and foreign exchange products. Past performance is not indicative of future results.
no new posts
Page generated 2017-05-22 in 0.14 seconds with 21 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.196.91.84