Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures.io
futures io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Started: by AdvancedIndicators Views / Replies:111,556 / 877
Last Reply: Attachments:48

Welcome to futures io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.


You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #261 (permalink)
Elite Member
Mesa, AZ/USA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader, ThinkorSwim
Broker/Data: AMP Futures/CQG, TDA
Favorite Futures: Currency Futures, my Harley Davidson
 
Posts: 91 since Jun 2012
Thanks: 41 given, 127 received


mrphr View Post
Hey, thank you! I will have look if it is works properly.

Just wondering if you ever installed the Tabmaster software and got it to work with NT7...10? I've attempted to try it but Norton keeps telling me the file "is not safe" right after the download completes and deletes the file. I've been reluctant to override Norton at this time and contacted the author.

Thanks.


Last edited by Cheech; August 11th, 2012 at 02:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
 
  #262 (permalink)
Elite Member
Los Angeles, CA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Rithmic
Favorite Futures: GC
 
plethora's Avatar
 
Posts: 639 since Dec 2010
Thanks: 1,174 given, 422 received


dobuye View Post
Hi, I'm opening unofficial NT8 wish list thread! Since Ray has been so good to us with his presentations etc, I thought we'd compile a list and pass it on to Ray through BM.

So here're my first suggestions.

Add-on equivalent of Tradestation's RINA for serious back testing.

Reply With Quote
 
  #263 (permalink)
Elite Member
Northern Germany
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT
Favorite Futures: FDAX, CL
 
vvhg's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,583 since Mar 2011
Thanks: 1,016 given, 2,798 received


Having plugins would be nice, so we could easily add stuff to menues for example and get code loaded on NT startup.
It would be really nice if we wouldn't have to stick everything into indicators or strategies, of course there are other ways to get code loadet into NT but that is more hacking than coding

Vvhg


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Hic Rhodos, hic salta.
Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to vvhg for this post:
 
  #264 (permalink)
Elite Member
Cincinnati Ohio
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: Futures Broker
Favorite Futures: AUD
 
Silver Dragon's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,597 since Feb 2011
Thanks: 3,845 given, 3,316 received

Export all from strategy performance

Please add the ability to right click and export "all tabs" from the strategy performance. Exporting one tab at a time is very time consuming.

SD

nosce te ipsum

You make your own opportunities in life.
Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to Silver Dragon for this post:
 
  #265 (permalink)
Elite Member
San Diego, Calif. USA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: ninja trader
Favorite Futures: EUR/USD
 
Posts: 33 since Oct 2011
Thanks: 8 given, 19 received

static super dom for Forex

Futures Edge on FIO

What value do you place on the webinars on FIO?

 
I would like to have a static super dom to trade forex with MB trading.

Reply With Quote
 
  #266 (permalink)
Elite Member
pittsburgh, pa
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader, ensign, wave59
Broker/Data: IB , AMP/ cqg
Favorite Futures: ES, CL
 
traderTX's Avatar
 
Posts: 145 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 50 given, 35 received

Compatible 7 indicators

The biggest thing for me is that the indicators from Ninja7 be compatible for Ninja 8,
What a bitch it is for those of us who dont program to have many of your indicators become useless
when the upgrade comes out. this is for me, a big downfall of Ninja.

Trade what you see, not what you think.

"The better the mechanic, the fewer the tools"

"Futures Trading is risky and can cause substantial financial gain"
Reply With Quote
The following 2 users say Thank You to traderTX for this post:
 
  #267 (permalink)
Elite Member
Cedar Rapids, iowa
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninjatrader
Broker/Data: Ninjatrader - Continuum
Favorite Futures: 6E, TF, 6J
 
Tasker_182's Avatar
 
Posts: 626 since Aug 2009
Thanks: 424 given, 1,121 received

Market replay

Ability to download multiple instruments at a time. Its a pain one at a time when you are looking at correlated instruments.

Reply With Quote
 
  #268 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
Chicago, IL
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT7, R/SQL, Matlab
Favorite Futures: Leveraged ETFs
 
Posts: 1 since Aug 2012
Thanks: 0 given, 0 received

Optimization??


jperales View Post
It would be nice if:

1) When coding in a new strategy or indicator, the lines of code that check to make sure there are enough bars present no longer need to be written every time. It seems like this should be something that is automatically done.

2) the "Go To..." option that is available in the Market Replay connection could become available with the other data connections.

3A) you could sync charts that are using different time bars together for instance a YM 3 min chart with a 60 min YM chart.

3B) you could place the cursor on one of the synced charts (for instance any bar on the 3 min chart) and have another cursor highlight which bar on the hourly synched chart contains the same data as the bar being pointed to in the 3 min chart.

3C) be able to sync 2 charts of different symbols together, and have them display the same time on the X axis so if you move the time in one chart it automatically matches it in the other chart.

4) you could the scroll through the instruments from your instrument list by pressing something on the keyboard like the space bar or the up or down arrows.


I'd love to see a more robust optimization set of parameters for the fitness functions. Like Average Monthly Return, Lowest Monthly, Skewness/Kurtosis...and real Combined results, not just averages of the individuals, which is not reflective...things that would help me optimize to a better generalization than having to go through the exhausting in/out sample testing of walk forward (because even when you find a good walk forward set every new day, you then need to update all of your parameters daily/monthly/weekly...hardly the apex of automated trading)

Reply With Quote
 
  #269 (permalink)
Elite Member
Toronto, Canada
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, MT4
Broker/Data: Amp/CQG, Citibank
Favorite Futures: CL, GC, 6E, ES, TF, EURUSD, GBPJPY, AUDUSD
 
Beljevina's Avatar
 
Posts: 345 since Sep 2010
Thanks: 373 given, 553 received

A cancel data/chart load and percentage data downloaded guage

Data download freeze-ups on low timeframe charts seem to be rather common in NT7, if I load "too many" days worth of data.

I had a 88 days of data 60 minute chart of GC running. I opted to switch it to a 5minute chart, and after a minute or three the chart appeared. I then switch to a 1 minute chart, and, I am waiting for more than 20 minutes, but too frequently, it does not appear. I presume if I do not have the minute data, it is downloading it from CQG, but, I have no way to cancel it and regain control of NT, nor do I have the luxury of a percentage downloaded indicator, nor even confirmation that I have a proper incoming stream sending me the data from CQG.

True, 88 days of a 1 minute chart is rarely called for, but the 88 days is a carry over of the chart settings when it was a 60 minute chart, and a user can't always keep track of these things. I suspect many a NT user gets caught in this during normal market hours, and, then that sinking stomach feeling ensues where a restart of NT is required, and, other data is potentially lost (GOM). It happens to me, and I hate to have to restart NT for what I ideally could have 'cancelled.'

I am certain I have a proper web connection, and, since I'm purposefully doing this during labour day and the futures markets are closed, I have to assume that CQG has plenty of capacity to send me the data.

Please register on futures.io to view futures trading content such as post attachment(s), image(s), and screenshot(s).

Reply With Quote
 
  #270 (permalink)
Elite Member
Denver, CO
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader
Broker/Data: NinjaTrader Brokerage
Favorite Futures: ES
 
NinjaTrader's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,211 since May 2010
Thanks: 144 given, 1,818 received



Beljevina View Post
Data download freeze-ups on low timeframe charts seem to be rather common in NT7, if I load "too many" days worth of data.

I had a 88 days of data 60 minute chart of GC running. I opted to switch it to a 5minute chart, and after a minute or three the chart appeared. I then switch to a 1 minute chart, and, I am waiting for more than 20 minutes, but too frequently, it does not appear. I presume if I do not have the minute data, it is downloading it from CQG, but, I have no way to cancel it and regain control of NT, nor do I have the luxury of a percentage downloaded indicator, nor even confirmation that I have a proper incoming stream sending me the data from CQG.

True, 88 days of a 1 minute chart is rarely called for, but the 88 days is a carry over of the chart settings when it was a 60 minute chart, and a user can't always keep track of these things. I suspect many a NT user gets caught in this during normal market hours, and, then that sinking stomach feeling ensues where a restart of NT is required, and, other data is potentially lost (GOM). It happens to me, and I hate to have to restart NT for what I ideally could have 'cancelled.'

I am certain I have a proper web connection, and, since I'm purposefully doing this during labour day and the futures markets are closed, I have to assume that CQG has plenty of capacity to send me the data.

Please register on futures.io to view futures trading content such as post attachment(s), image(s), and screenshot(s).

I suggest contacting our support team for further analysis. This is not typical and expected behavior. Switching from 60 to 5 min chart should take seconds.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to NinjaTrader for this post:

Reply



futures io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

PTMC Protrader Platform First Look w/Sergey Sokolov

Elite only

Spring Grains Outlook w/Sean Lusk @ Walsh Trading

Elite only

FIO Video Journal Challenge featuring NinjaTrader ($2,000+ of prizes)

April

Process above all else w/Anthony Crudele @ Futures Radio Show

Elite only

Machine Learning - Quantitative Trading w/Martin Froehler @ Quantiacs

Elite only

Market Dynamics w/Peter Davies @ Jigsaw Trading

Elite only

Ask Me Anything w/Patrick Rooney @ Trading Technologies

Apr 18

Ask Me Anything w/FuturesTrader71

Apr 19

Machine Learning w/Kris Longmore

Elite only

Market Analysis w/Dave Forss

Apr 25

Introducing iSystems with Stage 5 Trading

Apr 27
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.

no new posts
Page generated 2017-03-25 in 0.15 seconds with 20 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.166.123.247