Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)! - NinjaTrader | futures.io
futures io futures trading


Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!
Started: by AdvancedIndicators Views / Replies:111,617 / 877
Last Reply: Attachments:48

Welcome to futures io.

Welcome, Guest!

This forum was established to help traders (especially futures traders) by openly sharing indicators, strategies, methods, trading journals and discussing the psychology of trading.

We are fundamentally different than most other trading forums:
  • We work extremely hard to keep things positive on our forums.
  • We do not tolerate rude behavior, trolling, or vendor advertising in posts.
  • We firmly believe in openness and encourage sharing. The holy grail is within you, it is not something tangible you can download.
  • We expect our members to participate and become a part of the community. Help yourself by helping others.


You'll need to register in order to view the content of the threads and start contributing to our community. It's free and simple, and we will never resell your private information.

-- Big Mike

Reply
 48  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 

Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

  #171 (permalink)
Elite Member
NY, USA
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: NT/IB TWS
Broker/Data: IB
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Posts: 944 since Sep 2009
Thanks: 811 given, 442 received

NT 8?

I don't know, that's like 10 years away

Reply With Quote
 
  #172 (permalink)
Elite Member
Des Moines, Iowa
 
Futures Experience: None
Platform: Ninja, TOS
Broker/Data: AMP/CQG, TOS
Favorite Futures: CL, TF, GC
 
madLyfe's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,638 since Feb 2011
Thanks: 9,214 given, 1,008 received

i would really like an auto saving of workspace files like word would do things.. if you crash out or NT crashes it would notify you that you have a saved workspace that you were working with before you crash and if you would like to bring that one back to life.. lets bring this puppy up-to-date..

dont believe anything you hear and only half of what you see

\_(ツ)_/

(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
Reply With Quote
 
  #173 (permalink)
Trading Apprentice
Washington, DC/United States
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: TradeStation
Favorite Futures: ES
 
Posts: 8 since Apr 2012
Thanks: 8 given, 2 received

Color selection method in drawing tools


NJ7 uses two different ways to populate its color choices in drop down menus when the user is color coding his
tools or indicators. One of these ways is much much easier and faster, imho, than the other. And I would suggest NT8 lose the one and recreate it using the method of the other. The easier one can be viewed when choosing to change the color of an existing indicator, for example, a Mov Avg line. For such a change as that, the color can be accessed through the Properties dialogue box under Plots, which shows the color currently chosen in a little box. When that drop down menu is expanded, the colors are listed and grouped by their similarities to each other, from top to bottom, darker to lighter for each main category of color. The names of the colors are listed and can be used in programming code, but for regular use, who remembers these obscure names anyway? So the vertical listing by color group is ideal. But the other method employed, when changing a color of a drawn line, for instance, does not group colors into common classed, but instead, lists the colors by their alphabetical names, ascending order. This makes the viewing of the color universe jump back and forth from red to green to yellow to black and all the nuanced shades inbetween mixed up like a ransacked box of crayons. ...all to serve the alphabetical hierarchy within the drop down menu. it's a pain. Group them all by color commonality and the slider allows quick scrolling to the desired area. Leave them in alpha name order and add annoying and wasted time trying to rediscover and replicate a color chosen previously for some specific class of user preference trend line.

Reply With Quote
 
  #174 (permalink)
Elite Member
Detroit, Michigan
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: Ninja Trader
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
Posts: 291 since Nov 2011
Thanks: 233 given, 280 received

OCO saved on server not PC (reduces risk of outage).

Reply With Quote
 
  #175 (permalink)
Just a boy
Auckland, New Zealand
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: Sierra Chart
Broker/Data: AMP/CQG
Favorite Futures: Whatever moves in my timezone
 
Posts: 1,799 since Sep 2009
Thanks: 3,157 given, 1,358 received

Chart Trader and also Passwords

Futures Edge on FIO
@NinjaTrader

I trade with Chart Trader minimised.

I trade about six instruments, but some of them Live and others SIM.

I would like someway to mark on the chart if that instrument is set to SIM or the Live account. At present you have to maximise Chart Trader to see this.

Even if it was done by colouring the Chart Trader Maximise arrow/button to be the same colour as the the Chart Trader window - my Chart Tradeer background colour is set to yellow for SIM and the default colour for Live account.

I understand we cannot access 'Get.Account' to create our own indi to do this now.

I would also like the option of NT requiring a password when it first boots up. At the moment if my computer was stolen from home, some one could easily start up NT and trade my Live account.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to steve2222 for this post:
 
  #176 (permalink)
Elite Member
UK
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja
Broker/Data: Mirus/Zen
Favorite Futures: Futures - bonds, currencies, index
 
Posts: 288 since Oct 2010
Thanks: 70 given, 265 received

Are the new features, and NT8, written down anywhere, or is the info only available in the two webinars?

thanks

Reply With Quote
 
  #177 (permalink)
Elite Member
Detroit, Michigan
 
Futures Experience: Beginner
Platform: Ninja Trader
Favorite Futures: Futures
 
Posts: 291 since Nov 2011
Thanks: 233 given, 280 received

Logins (user name and password) to successfully login to NT (for security purposes).

I find it a bit unbelievable that no logins are required for a live trading account. All my other brokerage accounts require logins.

Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to TrendTraderBH for this post:
 
  #178 (permalink)
Membership Revoked
Szczecin
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja, writing own now
 
Posts: 212 since Mar 2010
Thanks: 47 given, 102 received


TrendTraderBH View Post
Logins (user name and password) to successfully login to NT (for security purposes).

I find it a bit unbelievable that no logins are required for a live trading account. All my other brokerage accounts require logins.

Ninja does too - you set it in the configuration which is part of your user profile, and on the computer. This is QUITE accepted practice, especially in larger companies ("single sign on"). Every password they would set on their end is bullshit anyway - it has to be stored somehow in your local system, so it can be bypassed (if not cracked then reset). Having a Ninja password would with 99% chance be false security.

Alternatively they COULD allow configuring a ocnnection WITHOUT password, then asking for the password on connect - that would be safe as the password to your broker would not be stored on your computer.

Reply With Quote
The following 3 users say Thank You to NetTecture for this post:
 
  #179 (permalink)
Elite Member
Georgia
 
Futures Experience: Intermediate
Platform: Ninja
Broker/Data: Mirus/Zen Fire
Favorite Futures: ZN, ES, FGBM, ZC
 
fesx's Avatar
 
Posts: 112 since Jul 2009
Thanks: 601 given, 99 received

password protected....

I have often wondered why this hasn't been brought up more often as a concern... not a programmer, but don't think this would be that difficult to add...or not that it would be that big of a concern...but what about the ability to password protect your chart...ie not being able to open up a chart and change the settings or add an indicator from a chart unless password protected... could also password protect the ability to open a dom...just some thoughts...and no i am not being paranoid...I am sure some of this could be concerns for those that might not trade from their homes...


steve2222 View Post
@NinjaTrader

I trade with Chart Trader minimised.

I trade about six instruments, but some of them Live and others SIM.

I would like someway to mark on the chart if that instrument is set to SIM or the Live account. At present you have to maximise Chart Trader to see this.

Even if it was done by colouring the Chart Trader Maximise arrow/button to be the same colour as the the Chart Trader window - my Chart Tradeer background colour is set to yellow for SIM and the default colour for Live account.

I understand we cannot access 'Get.Account' to create our own indi to do this now.

I would also like the option of NT requiring a password when it first boots up. At the moment if my computer was stolen from home, some one could easily start up NT and trade my Live account.


Reply With Quote
The following user says Thank You to fesx for this post:
 
  #180 (permalink)
Elite Member
Australia
 
Futures Experience: Advanced
Platform: NinjaTrader, Multicharts
Favorite Futures: Spot Forex, Gold, Silver
 
Posts: 176 since Oct 2010
Thanks: 114 given, 113 received


Has any sort of timetable or roadmap been announced at all by @NinjaTrader ?

Reply With Quote

Reply



futures io > > > > Unofficial NinjaTrader 8 wish list thread (NT8)!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Upcoming Webinars and Events (4:30PM ET unless noted)

PTMC Protrader Platform First Look w/Sergey Sokolov

Elite only

Spring Grains Outlook w/Sean Lusk @ Walsh Trading

Elite only

FIO Video Journal Challenge featuring NinjaTrader ($2,000+ of prizes)

April

Process above all else w/Anthony Crudele @ Futures Radio Show

Elite only

Machine Learning - Quantitative Trading w/Martin Froehler @ Quantiacs

Elite only

Market Dynamics w/Peter Davies @ Jigsaw Trading

Elite only

Ask Me Anything w/Patrick Rooney @ Trading Technologies

Apr 18

Ask Me Anything w/FuturesTrader71

Apr 19

Machine Learning w/Kris Longmore

Elite only

Market Analysis w/Dave Forss

Apr 25

Introducing iSystems with Stage 5 Trading

Apr 27
     

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NinjaTrader 7 List of used BarsType base(PeriodType.?) zacharydw00 NinjaTrader Programming 13 December 16th, 2015 12:59 PM
List.RemoveAt SerCava NinjaTrader Programming 5 June 16th, 2012 05:24 AM
Most recent thread list-home page Hard 8 Feedback and Announcements 0 November 9th, 2010 07:42 PM
FF allows the THREAD STARTER to ignore posters so they can NOT post in their thread. TheRumpledOne Off-Topic 2 September 19th, 2009 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:51 PM.

no new posts
Page generated 2017-03-25 in 0.15 seconds with 21 queries on phoenix via your IP 54.205.210.125