EURUSD Scapling | Currency Futures

futures.io - futures trading strategies, market news, trading charts and platforms

Currency Futures

This subforum allows you to find traders that trade Currency Futures. You may post about anything to do with trading currency futures in this section

EURUSD Scapling

Seattle, WA. USA

mtaalamu View Post
Hello all,

Since I'm fairly new to forex, I'm still trying to figure out which methods to focus my attention.

I've heard that scalping in forex is a bad idea due to the (potentially) large spreads

I trade forex on MB trading because I pay NO commissions and can set my own spreads. Overhead (meaning win percentage, commissions, spreads and slippage) is what makes scalping a bad idea. If you can eliminate or at least minimize those variables, you will do better.

My question is this: what is your opinion of scalping on the EURUSD when using a 30m candle and 10-15 pip targets? The spreads are generally pretty low on that pair... Is this even a viable outlet?

I personally only use 20-60-and 180 "range no gap" bars (available on Big Mike's) because it quiets my charts down compared to time or tick based charts.

Most of the trading on forex IS EURUSD so the market is liquid. I trade on MBTrading (through Ninja Trader 7) and set my own spread, but in general, when I was on currenex, the spreads were fairly low as well...so yeah, I think this is a viable option. It's all I trade.

I've been trading using large targets (40-100 ticks) for almost a year now, and it amazes me how many times my entries will hit somewhere between 10-30 ticks before going against me. It seems logical to lower my targets then, right?